We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome August Getaway!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 11 more sites!
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off Summer Getaways
Ranked #105 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Awesome August Getaway!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Were in town for a wedding at the resort. After reading all the reviews, I was dreading the lanai guestroom that we all got deals on. Getting there was easy on a Thursday. Found the front desk and checked in with no lines! The front desk guy was awesome! I told him I did not want to pay for parking ($20-$30 a day). He looked and typed around and told me I could upgrade for the same price as parking for a bungalow. Sold!

As we drove up to almost the end unit, we noticed our room overlooked the cove! You know that booking.com commercial where the family gets excited about the deal they got for a great room? Yeah - that was us! 2 room bungalow with fridge, Large TV, living room, Kind bed, 2 sinks to get ready and a dining table. The view was of the cove looking west with some palm trees! Hell yes! The room was clean. I know everyone kept commenting on getting black feet. The sand is the biggest culprit! take the shoes off outside and it helps.

So I can imagine this place in the summer - holy geez! No way this could be fun with a million kids and families. Well I guess if you had a cooler with snacks and food and went shopping. It was busy while we were there, but very peaceful. There was a conference and all kinds of events happening, but was still quiet.

We only ate at the Barefoot cafe for breakfast and lunch the whole time and the service was good. Food was decent too. Again, way different that the peak summer reviews. We had a cooler with snacks and beverages. It was nice to put things in the fridge and have cold drinks when needed.

The beach had fire pits. you have to buy your own wood (we brought some), but I imagine that is when they get ya! But well worth it, looking over water with a fire. beach awesome!

Hours before the wedding, some nut job called in a bomb threat and we all had to go to the front of the resort off the main road. it was funny, but stressful. The hotel staff made sure that we all had towels in case we got cold, water and poweraid and even some energy bars. They even gave us rides in carts back to our places. Needless to say, it was was not expected, but they accommodated.

I will def stay here again before and after peak season. Maybe I can get that great upgrade to bungalow! Which, by the way was very comfortable, clean and quiet. Sitting on the patio with the cool breeze says it all.

Room Tip: They have to charge you the daily resort fee, but they will work with you on the parking fee. Does n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Shon, thanks for taking the time write a review about Paradise Point. We’re thrilled to hear the hotel exceeded your expectations despite the unforeseeable situation that occurred during your stay. We certainly appreciate your understanding and are glad you were still able to enjoy the wedding. Please visit us again the next time you make a trip out from Phoenix.

Best,
David Hall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    900
    572
    324
    229
    213
See reviews for
885
528
37
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, PA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I found out about Paradise Point via Jetsetter. I was to be in San Diego anyway for a meeting. There was a reasonable discount available through Jetsetter for the time of my visit there, so I brought my spouse along and came a few days early to stay here and explore the Mission Bay area of San Diego for a few days before the meeting started.

It is a great location. In fact, one thing about San Diego is that everything is close together. The airport is close to downtown and close to Mission Bay. Sea World is right there at Mission Bay (5 minutes perhaps from Paradise Point at most), and the famous San Diego Zoo is not far away. All of these things were less than 20 minutes away. La Jolla is only about 15 to 20 minutes north.

Paradise Point Resort is on what is basically an island in Mission Bay. The island is bisected by a major road, Ingraham Road. Half of the island, the west half, is occupied by Paradise Point Resort. The east half and southern part is a park. The whole area is surrounded by water. You can see why an outdoor lifestyle is so natural here. Everyone is out walking, biking, or running on the trails along the bay. It is really beautiful.

Our room was a Bayside Bungalo, right on the water. It was nice, fairly basic, not fancy, but clean and functional. It had a living room area as you walked in, with a small kitchen and bar area. It had a refrigerator. There was a separate bedroom, and a bathroom that had entry doors from two separate ends (one from within the bathroom and one from the living room area). The outside entry door opened onto a small patio. This was about 50 feet from the water’s edge. There was a sandy beach and a swath of grass separating you from the water. We did not swim in the water, but many others did. We saw people on Paddle Boards. We did rent bikes at the resort. There is a nice paved trail that goes around much of Mission Bay. We rode from Paradise Point out to Mission Boulevard. It took only about 15 to 20 minutes to ride there. That is a fun place to walk around. The ocean beach is right there with surfers, beach volleyball, and all of the other typical beach activities. We also played the putt putt golf course at Paradise Point. It honestly is not one of the better putting courses I have played with narrow “fairways” and deep grass. Good luck making par on that one. But, it still was fun. They also have tennis courts. We did not swim in the pools, but there are a number of pools on the property which look inviting. It would be a great place to stay with children.

We ate one dinner at Barefoot Grill, one of the restaurants on the property. The food was fairly good. It is a nice location, right on the water’s edge. We did not go to their more high-end restaurant, Baleen, which is right next to Barefoot Grill. It reportedly is good, but we cannot say firsthand.

As a place to stay, Paradise Point is definitely a good central location to anything in the Mission Bay area. It is right next to a busy road, Ingraham Rd., which transects the island north to south. So, you get some road noise. You also occasionally see and hear jets taking off from San Diego airport. You are still near enough to hear and see them, although it is not loud or deafening. It seemed a little odd to have these big city noises in the background, as the grounds of Paradise Point give the visual impression of being out there and away from civilization. That noise issue was perhaps the only downside to the place, but a only minor issue. The noise was never a problem for sleeping. Overall, it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The best surprise I've had in a long time. Usually a hotel is where you sleep and change your clothes on a vacation. This resort could BE the vacation, it is so beautiful with so much to do. It was still close to the zoo, old town, short drive to Coronado, La Jolla, etc. I felt like we were on our own little island in Hawaii when we came home each day. I highly recommend it as a vacation destination if you don't feel like flying the extra thousands of miles to Hawaii.

Room Tip: Ask for a lanai near the lagoon and hopefully they will upgrade to a premium lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Kaneira, thank you for all the praise you’ve given our San Diego resort. Paradise Point truly is a unique vacation destination - a secluded paradise that is only a short drive from top attractions. We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed your time here and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Best,
David Hall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The resort is a great get away from all the city stress. The resort is the perfect spot for relaxing and forget everything else. Many difference activities including bike riding, miniature golf, sitting at the patio looking at Mission Bay, go to gift shop, swimming at the pool or at the beach nearby, tennis, or enjoying fine dinning from the many restaurant they have. Since this is located at San Diego, California it will certainly get blue sky almost everyday. Most importantly, do not forget your camera!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was our first vacation stay at Paradise Point and we absolutely loved the hotel and the service. When we checked-in, we received an automatic upgrade with no charge. We stayed in a garden view room which was clean, private from others, and we had our own parking space right next to the room. We had such a good time that we wanted to extend our stay, but were told that all the rooms were sold out. However, the manager Juan Bonner and the front desk clerk, Summer, went above and beyond to get us into a room which was even better than our garden view room. Juan put us in a bayside room which was less expensive than the garden view room we stayed in. We love you guys!

This hotel is truly paradise with beautiful pools, jacuzzi's, water activities in the marina, and plenty of restaurant choices.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for the five-star review of Paradise Point! We’re delighted to hear that our friendly team members like Juan and Summer went above and beyond to make your stay extra special. We hope your recent vacation is the first of many spent at our island resort, as it would be our pleasure to have you as our guest again.

Best,
David Hall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed for five nights for a combo vacation/conference trip. The front desk step was very friendly and helpful throughout the trip--they checked us in early and took care of our few problems with grace. The property itself has so much to recommend it - tropical like Hawaii with several heated pools and numerous activities for the kids like basketball, mini golf, bocci ball, paddle boats and bike rentals. The boys, ages 11 and 13, had a wonderful time and can't wait to go back. Do be prepared to walk several miles a day--this place is huge and it's a good half a mile from most rooms to the front office or pools/restaurants.

As for the rooms, they leave so much to be desired for the price. Our first room was right on the bay, but next to a public parking/camp/restroom area (loud!) The box springs on the bed was literally rusty and creaked every time we moved. The bathroom was something like your grandma's from the 1950's with patched, peeling walls and a towel rack that was laughably slanted at a 30 degree angle. After the first night, we asked to be moved, which the front desk graciously accommodated. The second room was a much better location (center of the Bay) and the bed was acceptable. We had a king bayside with separate bedroom and little kitchen area and dining table with a little living room. It was nice to have a table to bring in food. The refrigerator froze everything solid and a can of soda exploded. The bathroom was a little better, but the shower didn't work properly and we had to call maintenance. We enjoyed being right on the beach and had a bonfire and smores--lovely.

Restaurants - Baleen is okay. Barefoot bar decent food, horrible service (the outdoor deck makes up for it), and stay away from the pizza joint! You'd be better off with Dominoes.

All in all, I could recommend it for a family trip if you aren't very picky about the room and plan to be out on the beach or at SeaWorld.

Room Tip: I recommend splurging on a bayfront room. The rooms are literally beach front with firepits and dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of a 5 week trip to the west coast and had a lanai garden room. We booked through Virgin Holidays so there was no additional resort fee or parking charges to pay. We parked right outside our room.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the rooms are a little tired and could do with an update but ours was really comfortable and we liked the bathroom/dressing area arrangement. It was also good to have a fridge that we could use. The only gripe about the room is that the air conditioning unit was very noisy especially at night and we did find our feet were black after walking barefoot on the floor.

We used the water taxi to Seaworld which was a nice touch as it takes you to the entrance at the back of the park so no queuing before entry. We enjoyed the Barefoot Bar & Grill for lunch and dinner and we had pizza from the Cave Man Pizza Company twice which was delivered right to our room and was very tasty. The only bad dining experience we had was at Baleen where the duck dish was way too salty to eat. They did however take this of the bill without being asked to do so and were very apologetic.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Paradise Point and would return if we were staying in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paradise Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Paradise Point Hotel San Diego
Paradise Point Resort And Spa
Paradise Point San Diego
Paradise Point Hotel
Address: 1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#48 Business Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#105 Top resorts Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Point Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gentle Mission Bay, this luxurious 44-acre island resort features comfortable, California bungalow-style rooms amidst lush, tropical gardens and lagoons. Here at this AAA Four-Diamond San Diego hotel, you can explore one mile of beach, five swimming pools, and enjoy various amenities including tennis courts, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits, and a private marina equipped with sailboats, jet skis, and kayaks. Dine at one of two waterfront venues, then relax and refresh at the plush spa with a treatment from Hawaii, Fiji, Thailand, or Bali. Secluded yet centrally located, the hotel is minutes from top attractions including SeaWorld, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and Gaslamp District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Splendia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Paradise Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Point Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Paradise Point Resort & Spa to your Saves list