We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family friendly resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Paradise Point Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 20% Off
Ranked #118 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great family friendly resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a great family friendly resort close enough to all San Diego attractions but far enough away to make it easy to relax. We recommend spending the extra money on a bay front bungalow, at over 650 sq. feet and 3 steps to the sand. This can't be beat! The spa is very accommodating and is one of few that will cater to teenagers as well. The spa is pricey but no difference than any other hotel spa in the area. The restaurant's served quality food and service was always prompt, but even with slow service, just sit back and enjoy the wonderful view. We recommend taking advantage of the great all day room service menu. With a large dining table and 4 chairs in the room placed in front of a large window facing the bay, this is where we enjoyed most of our meals.
In closing, we made no specific plans on this trip but had an assortment of activities at our fingertips thanks to the wonderful staff at paradise point resort. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the bay front bungalow. We booked a month in advance directly with the hotel website and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    995
    648
    379
    247
    242
See reviews for
998
586
40
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We found ourselves cutting back on activities around San Diego just to return to Paradise Point to enjoy the relaxing atmosphere, good food, and friendly staff. I suggest getting a room in the garden, close to the beach for an ultimate experience. My highest recommendation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on your stay at Paradise Point. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the tropical setting, waterfront dining, and helpful customer service that set our resort apart from others in San Diego. We look forward to your family’s return to paradise for more island fun and relaxation in the near future.

Best,
David Hall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

If this place had a huge makeover, it could really be in a whole different class. I love the setting and all, but the place really needs some updating and paint.

The Good:
Minutes from the airport, on the water, pretty "ok" restaurants, adequate services (bike rentals, boat rentals...), cheaper than Hotel del Coronado...

The Bad:
They checked us in 2.5 hours late because we were told room service wasn't done cleaning our unit yet. They told another guy the same thing and we waited in the lobby together. They did gave us a $75 coupon for a resort meal but we would have much preferred to have checked in on time. When we finally checked in, there was toothpaste on the sink and the dining table needed a good wipe. Not worth waiting an extra 2.5 hours for...

We paid a bunch of dough to stay in one of the bungalows on the beach and there was one bar of soap for two bathrooms, no dishes, silverware or glassware, not a single roll of paper towels and the room smelled musty....better pack for camping and bring your own supplies. Good thing our tiny kids (3 and 1 years old) were sleeping on the hide-a-bed, the mattress was trashed and if I weighed more than 40 pounds I'd be in a world of hurt.

Service was ok, at least it seemed like the staff tried to help. All signs of good management, but poor ownership.

Housekeeping: They did an only SLIGHTLY better than mediocre job.

We're going to fork over the money for an "OK" room at the del Coronado for our next trip.

Would an "A" class resort operator PLEASE buy this place? It could be SO much better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive review. Feedback likes yours is essential in helping us deliver each guest with an amazing experience at our hotel by capitalizing on our strengths and improving our weaknesses. We sincerely apologize for the prolonged wait for your room and housekeeping issues you experienced. During peak times like spring break, it can take our team longer to service all rooms but this does not excuse the lapse in cleanliness. We’re also sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your room. While our bungalows do have more of a residential feel, they are still sold as standard hotel accommodations, not vacation rentals equipped with household supplies. We hope you were still able to enjoy the bungalow’s premier beachfront location and the hotel’s tropical grounds, and that these unique features bring you back to our island resort.

Best,
David Hall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Great swimming pool and grounds for the little ones. Very close to Sea World and easy access to points of interest in San Diego. Barefoot Grill was great for lunch and dinner especially with little ones.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights and it was a great base to visit various attractions round San Diego.

We had good service at the resort both from check in staff and at the various restaurants. Are room was comfy and clean and did not feel dark.

We are at the poolside restaurant - good value for money, Barefoot bar - had a great waitress for all our visits and the food was good, we also ate in the Baleen restaurant once - the food was great but the service wasn't half as good as the barefoot bar.

I had a couple of treatments at the Spa - a massage and pedicure - and was pleased with both. The gym was well equipped but could get rather busy at times.

I did feel the parking fee and passport (covered internet, tennis, table tennis and gym) costs were high given that they were obligatory. Luckily our package with our travel operator meant we didn't have to pay the parking cost and on enquiry once home they also refunded the passport costs too.

Overall we were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Paradise Point is anything but Paradise! The rooms smell like mildew since they do not have adequate HVAC system. The shower was moldy, The grounds do not look anything like the tropical gardens pictured. I will say the staff are excellent and try to overcome all theshortfalls of the resort. I checked out early and will never stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

amazing grounds and location. two very good restaurants. on a great private beach. numerous wonderful heated pools with plenty of towels. plenty of other outdoor family friendly activities such as miniature golf, climbing the central tower, feeding the fish and ducks, jacuzzi, rentals of all varieties of bikes and shanties including elliptical bike and lots of sharing options, tennis, etc. plus indoor gym and spa facilities for the grown ups. rooms are nice with comfy beds and bathtubs. only let down is the service which is very irregular - great at times and generally very enthusiastic and well intentioned but slightly understaffed for the size of resort and thus major let down at other times such as offered but unreliable pickup service for those guests unable or unwilling to walk across the large grounds (in this case to get sleeping child back to room from restaurant), wait for breakfast table and service, etc. great location right next to seaworld and not far from other attractions, so makes a great base for a vacation with kids. and generally good value despite all the really annoying extras added to the quoted prices. also worth getting the multi-entry seaworld ticket at the hotel - same price as single entry purchased at seaworld and worth having.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Address: 1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#23 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#33 Green Hotel in San Diego
#47 Business Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
#61 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Point Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gentle Mission Bay, this luxurious 44-acre island resort features comfortable, California bungalow-style rooms amidst lush, tropical gardens and lagoons. Here at this AAA Four-Diamond San Diego hotel, you can explore one mile of beach, five swimming pools, and enjoy various amenities including tennis courts, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits, and a private marina equipped with sailboats, jet skis, and kayaks. Dine at one of two waterfront venues, then relax and refresh at the plush spa with a treatment from Hawaii, Fiji, Thailand, or Bali. Secluded yet centrally located, the hotel is minutes from top attractions including SeaWorld, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and Gaslamp District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Paradise Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Point Resort And Spa
Paradise Point Hotel San Diego
Paradise Point San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Point Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.