We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #113 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Balboa Island, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

I booked my stay on Hotwire. My stay was determined by price and ratings. I attended a workshop at another 4 star hotel nearby The posted rate for the other hotel was $130 avg per night. I paid $99 per night, plus $22 per night parking fee and $10.95 per night internet connection which I was told is not wireless because the hotel is too old and the cost to install wireless in every room is prohibitive. The other hotel didn't charge for parking or internet nor did a local 2 star hotel where one of the other attendees stayed. Also, you could hear people using the toilet in adjacent rooms. My 'bargain' room overlooked the freeway which could be heard at all hours of the day and night. I think it is time for some soundproofing. On a positive note, the staff is great, the grounds are beautiful, beds very comfortable and the food delicious.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    548
    362
    186
    97
See reviews for
693
446
57
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

I am a HHonors Diamond VIP, so I used some points to take my family to San Diego for the weekend. We had stayed at this property a couple of years ago and were not impressed. We had debated whether or not to re-visit this time.

We were very pleased with the remodel that has been completed since our last trip. The room was an upgraded lanai room on the 2nd floor. The extra floor space and vaulted ceiling made the room feel spacious. A large flat screen TV was nice, but the programming selection was pretty sparse. (Not that we watched much TV...). Bathroom fixtures were nice and new, not fancy. Beds and linens were comfortable. The staff was pleasant and efficient.

As this was a rewards stay, I can't comment on price to value, but we were happy and will stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham NH
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

This Hilton has beautiful grounds but the rooms are dated. I stayed in 543 in a roomy villa room. I am enjoying a nice view of the bay, but the room just feels dated. Also, you will need to dirve to any restaurants.

They also charge $20/day for the car and $11/day for internet. It's just OK and I won't rush back.

The good news is that it is very convenient to I5 and it is very close to both Sushi Ota and the original Rubios. There is also a nice walking path connected to the hotel and the pool is very nice.

It you get a very good deal, then this is OK. If not, then I would hesitate to pay full price.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for two nights on a recent business trip. I booked a tower room on the hotel's website, but when I checked in, I was given room 221 in one of the villas (a nice upgrade). The room was on the second floor, looking out on the water & had an amazing view of the sunset. The room was clean, updated & nicely decorated. The Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries at the Hilton hotels are always nice.

As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is not close to any restaurants or to downtown, so a car or a taxi are necessary if you want to leave the property. A taxi to/from the airport runs $20-25 each way, depending on the taxi company. I also found that airport shuttles vary in price significantly. It was $17 from the airport to the hotel & only $9 from the hotel to the airport with a different company.

The hotel staff were friendly & helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again in the future.

  • Liked — The view form my room at sunset & the service
  • Disliked — no convenient off-property restaurants nearby
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

Stayed at the Hilton Resort for a short conference in January, 2009. My room overlooked Mission Bay and Seaworld in a newly renovated guest room located in one of the villas. I was able to check into my room before noon. Accomodations and grounds (including pool) were beautiful. I didn't have time to use it, but the hotel also had a great workout facility with a steam room.

The only problem with this resort, if there is one, is it is not located close to any restaurants, so you are captive to the hotel's dining facilities unless you have a car. Also, parking will cost you $22/night if you do have a vehicle. However, to keep that in context, a short cab ride to Old Town or beyond will cost you about $15 plus tip for each way, more than offsetting the parking cost. A taxi to the airport is $25 plus tip one way.

The good news is the hotel's restaurant food and service is excellent if you choose to eat there. Breakfast and lunch are pricey ($15-$20/person) but dinner prices were very reasonable.

I really must compliment every employee I came in contact with at this property . . . from the front desk to the concierce, from the bellhop to the maintenance people, from the housekeeper to the restaurant staff. EVERYONE was professional, courteous and out-going in their hospitality.

It was a truly great hotel. Don't let the few negative reviews here convince you otherwise.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe NM
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

My husband and I booked a standard room in Nov. through Orbitz with a non refundable, what we thought was a good, rate.for a trip Dec. 30-Jan.2 We were told we could not request a room till ck. in at 4pm.Got there at 3:56pm and were told all the waterfront rms. were taken.We were told they had all been taken by earlier ck. ins. We were told we couldn't ck in early.I asked how this happened, and they simply shrugged and said "sorry." We got stuck in a rm. for 3 nights overlooking the frwy and next to the ice machine and elevator that made noise all night long.Our last night we were talking to a couple at the bar that got a rate $50 less than ours(looking over the Bay). The restaurant was pricey, but very good with excellent service. We will not be going back,especially since there are so many hotels to choose from.I will return to ACQUA though.

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Disliked — Room location
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

Nice, well-decorated rooms. Good pool area. Lots of on site activity options. If you don't know San Diego and will be at the hotel a lot this is an excellent spot. It is close to Sea World. It is not on the ocean but rather Mission Bay which has no surf. The sailing and jet skiing are great here. One down side is there aren't close restaurants within walking distance. You'll have to drive to eat or stay in the resort which charges a bundle for breakfast and lunch.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#23 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#63 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.