We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family trip!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #113 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great family trip!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hannah and April were great at the front desk. They helped us out with everything and we got great service and a great room. Close to the water, great pool area, great assistance for local eateries and helped us get the to football game. Small issue with our room rate being bumped up without telling us.... other than that a great trip.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear David,
Thank you for choosing the Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa for your family trip! We’re so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your guestroom, the views of Mission Bay and our family friendly resort amenities! We strive to exceed guest expectations and it is wonderful to see we were so successful during your stay. We work hard to ensure the team gets recognized for all their hard work, but there is something a little more fulfilling about a compliment directly from the source. We will be certain to share your kind comments with Hannah and April.

Thank you again for your visit and recommendation and we hope to host your family again soon.

The happiest of holiday wishes,

DON DENNIS
Managing director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    548
    362
    186
    97
See reviews for
693
446
57
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

If you are looking for a relaxation fun resort this is not it. First of all you have to pay for the shuttle to go downtown. The Bell guys where really helpful especially Forrest. This hotel needs a Upgrade.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a good room, my room was on ground floor very out dated, garden view for real.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 days ago
We appreciate your feedback and we’re glad to hear Forrest and the rest of the Bellman team showed you the hospitable and caring manner in which the Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa is renowned for. We will certainly share your praise with them!

We’re sad to hear our resorts bay front location with a wide array of amenities and a lengthy list of offerings to capture the true resort experience did not meet your expectations this trip. We hope you will consider reaching out to us should your travels lead you back to the San Diego area.

The happiest of holiday wishes to you.

Kindly,
DON DENNIS
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Beware, this Hotel adds additional charges for every little thing. It adds up to hundreds of dollars on top of your daily room rate. Even if you're a top tier HHonors member, you'll get charged a $22 daily resort fee and a $35 parking fee. These fees are not presented upfront. Also, if even if you're an HHonors member, expect to pay a lot extra for your "complimentary" breakfast. If you use the phone for a short, local call, expect to pay an exorbitant fee. In addition, some waitstaff are dishonest and will overcharge you in an attempt to receive greater tips on the total bill. There were huge discrepancies in our daily breakfast bills, depending upon the server, and for the exact same breakfast. When you apprise the front desk of the upcharges and incorrect bill discrepancies, expect a lot of snootiness and hassle. They'll end up promising to resolve the issue, send you on your way, and you'll later find that the issue wasn't resolved. The same front desk person will no longer be present when you return, and you'll need to present your case over and over again to seek resolution. It is such a hassle. I'm not cheap, but I like to be aware of my itemized bill summary and I expect justified and truthful billing. That is not what I've received at this hotel. Looking over the reviews, others complain of the same experiences. The hotel is simply not worth the exorbitant prices nor the exorbitant Hilton Honors points. Expect sticker shock by the hidden fees at the end of your stay. It is such a shame, as our family really enjoyed our stay here 4 years ago, when the rates were reasonable and there weren't all of these nonsense upcharges as well as incorrect billing. The rooms and offerings are exactly the same as 4 years ago, but the hotel is under new management and the hotel fees are now sky-high. I will take my Hhonors points and hard-earned money elsewhere. This hotel isn't within walking distance to anything except Mission Bay (which pales next to an oceanfront hotel). There are many other better hotels that charge far less.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Nicki,

While we're glad to have welcomed you back, we're disheartened to hear that elements of our pricing structure took you by surprise and you felt our team was less than helpful and caring to your concerns. Though atypical of our renowned high standard of service, we will be sure to address your concerns with the respective departments on your behalf and look to this feedback to improve our valued guests experience.

We certainly work hard to be competitive and transparent regarding our costs, and we do also offer a variety of packages to include these fees. We encourage you to reach out to our management team to further explore your concerns, and we thank you for your time in sharing these with us.

The happiest of holiday wishes to you and your family.

Kind Regards,

Don Dennis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I can’t thank the Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa enough for making my husband and I’s stay AMAZING this past weekend.

From the complimentary wood for the fire pit, s’mores goodies brought to our room, sparkling water with a cute hand written note, and the teddy bear they brought to our room… it was all incredible!

We hadn't taken time for “us” with our hectic work schedules and planning for the baby… so it was SO nice and relaxing to have some time away from our house and our normal every day busy lives... and be pampered!

After my company holiday party in the Terraza ballroom on Friday evening – we came back and made a fire and chowed down on s’mores. We were like two little kids! Haha! In the morning we woke up and took a walk around Mission bay... what a perfect ending to our stay.

I appreciate everything Rylan, Carleigh, and the entire Hilton Staff did for us… our mini “babymoon” was a HUGE success!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Holly,

Thank you for being our guest at the Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa for your recent company holiday party and choosing to stay with us for your much needed romantic time. Congrats on the baby too! We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so fully and found the personal touches and attention from our caring team to be memorable. Rylan and Carliegh are two of our finest, and we will be sure to pass along your appreciation to them.
Our waterfront location on Mission Bay truly is one of the best places to enjoy a leisurely morning walk alone or with loved ones. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we want to be your #1 home away from home destination. We hope you will come back soon to enjoy not only our romantic location but perhaps our terrific family friendly resort activities too!

The happiest of holiday wishes to you and yours.

Kindly,

DON DENNIS
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My stay at the Hilton Resort and Spa was phenomenal! I received top-notch service from start to finish. They have large beautiful rooms with great views of the bay, and wonderful places to eat right on the property. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, and the grounds have a light tropical feel and are quite lovely to walk. Overall, it was a wonderful stay and I highly recommend booking here for your next vacation or stay-cation! Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Toni,

We are delighted to have welcomed you to the HILTON SAN DIEGO RESORT & SPA and to hear you fully enjoyed your guest accommodations, our resorts beautiful bay front location, and our delicious cuisine in ACQUA. Our team genuinely cares about our guests and thank you for your thoughtfulness in sharing your kind words and experience with fellow travelers! We will be sure to pass along your praise with our team as well.

We hope to welcome you back soon and the happiest of holiday wishes to you.

All the best,

DON DENNIS
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

They have a self park fee of $34 that they don't tell you about until you get there. Apparently I need more characters to submit a review. Guess I still need more. And even more. they should have a counter or something.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Brad,

While we're glad to have welcomed you to our resort, we're sorry to hear that these elements of your experience fell short of the mark. We aim to be entirely forthright regarding our competitive fees, and these serve to offer our guests an incomparable array of amenities on the San Diego waterfront. We apologize if this was insufficiently communicated, but we do hope that you were able to take advantage of some of our many playful and relaxing offerings. We hope that you'll consider reaching out to our management team with your thoughts and that you'll afford us the opportunity to welcome you back

The happiest of holiday wishes to you.

Kindly,

DON DENNIS
Managing director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There is nothing within walking distance of this hotel. To go see anything or go to a resturant it will be about $50 round trip in a cab. While in meetings my wife could not leave the ground to see the sight without spending at least $50

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Michael,

We apologize for the inconvenience your wife experienced during your business stay with us. We know that many travelers find our location to be very convenient and centrally located to the most popular attractions such as Sea World and Old Town which we do offer complimentary shuttle service to and from for all of our resort guests. Unfortunately it sounds like we may not have been the best fit for this particular trip. If your travels lead you back to San Diego for different needs we hope you will give us another opportunity to show you all our resort has to offer such as our full service dining experience at ACQUA and our relaxing OLIVE BAR for cocktails.

The very happiest of holiday wishes,

DON DENNIS
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#23 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#63 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.