We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Resort & Spa on Mission” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #114 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Omaha, United States
1 review
“Hilton Resort & Spa on Mission”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed here 5 days for a convention. The convention rooms were comfortable. Catered food was great. Our room was waterside, quiet and very comfortable especially the bed. The grounds and pool area was attractive. The bar food appetizers were great the with interesting cocktails and good selection.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thanks so much for being our guest and for taking the opportunity to share this great feedback with us, Donald. It's a pleasure to welcome you to our property, and whether you're joining us for business or leisure, we're proud to offer a level of hospitality that's incomparable. We'd love to host your next visit to San Diego, and we encourage you to reach out to the team the next time you're in the area. Thanks again for your time and review.

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    548
    362
    187
    97
See reviews for
693
447
57
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The grounds are beautiful, the pool and spa are fantastic, and i love that the hotel connects to the park located on either side of the hotel, not to mention how nice it is to watch the sunset from the side of the bay. The service was good, but the rooms could have been just a bit cleaner and the patio furniture was dirty, I had to request to have the coushions cleaned. The one thing I found unacceptable was the $35 self parking fee, why don't I just get the car a room, would have been cheaper. I could under stand the fee if they parked it or if there was a parking garage. I have to come back to San Diego three more times this year but will stay at another Hilton property which is more reasonable with the extra charges.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
We're glad to have been able to lend our site and services to your recent visit, and we thank you for reaching out and sharing this feedback with us. As you noted, our site truly offers an incomparable experience with its majestic views and convenient access to so much of San Diego, and it's a pleasure to have been able to share this you. We're sorry to hear that our parking fee came as an unexpected surprise to you, and while we strive to be as competitive and forthright about this as possible, we can appreciate your concerns. We'd love to hear from you again as you plan your return visits to the area, and we encourage you to reach out to our team with your future booking needs. Many thanks again, and we hope to speak more with you soon.

Kindly,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The service was uniformly magical. I left my make-up bag behind. When I called to ask where I could buy basics, the operator volunteered to send toothpaste, and other essentials to my room, which she did. When I went to the store to buy make-up, there were none of the kinds of make-up I needed. I went to my meeting at the Acqua. In a totally unexpected act of kindness, Annie Huynh brought me exactly what I needed. She had gone to a local store, because the makeup was not available at the property, and personally purchased each item for me. She found me in my meeting, and she knew I would not have been able to shop for myself, because of the conflicts at the conference I was participating in.

Your team, including Larena, Annie's supervisor, has mastered the art of customer service and elevated it to a new high!! I look forward to telling as many people as will listen to my praise.

Room Tip: 224 is a lovely location on the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
We're so glad to have been able to host your recent stay, and we thank you for such an exceptional review of the experience, Susan. We're immensely proud of team members like Annie, and it's a thrill to hear that her outgoing hospitality left such an indelible impact on your recent visit. We'll surely share these praises with her and the rest of the team, and thanks again for offering this feedback to us. We'd love to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I recently stayed in the Hilton Resort and Spa near Seaworld in San Diego. I felt the room was clean and I had a nice view and was actually able to lay out on my patio to have privacy while getting some well needed sun rays. The staff at the hotel was very professional. Service at the restaurant was a little slow but the smiles on the waitstaff made it barable. I felt like the property is getting a little old but they are taking good care of it. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thanks for sharing your birthday weekend with us, Vivian, and for taking the time to reach out with this feedback of your stay. We're always thrilled to hear the positive impressions our team leaves on guests like yourself, and we'll most certainly share your kind words with them. With that, we appreciate your attention to any service delays while dining on site; we will explore this further to ensure our high Hilton standards come shining through with the consistency we strive to maintain across all facets of the property. We'd love to host you again soon, and we hope that you'll reach out to the team the next time you're in San Diego. Thanks again for the review!

Kindly,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

As locals, tired of business travel but looking for a last minute staycation escape, thrilled with hotel on the beach with watercycles, tennis courts, poolside fun for kids and more. Could have rented sailboats/cats/kayaks...playgrounds in large park next to hotel. Easy staycation, easy to get to, good with kids. Surprised at how good the restaurant Acquaintance is. Great service at check-in and store.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
It's such a pleasure to be able to share our Hilton Resort with local guests like yourself, and we appreciate you taking the time to offer us such kind words of your visit. We're continually evolving our list of amenities and offerings, and we hope that you'll revisit us again in the months ahead to share in the many great things that come with the change of seasons. Until then, we wish you all our best, and we encourage you to reach out for dinner, for a day visit, or for another memorable, overnight escape. Thanks again for your thoughtful review!

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed over MLK weekend and had a wonderful time. The hotel being right next to the bay was a wonderful experience. It was evident that the management kept their part of the beach well maintained and clean because the sand in front of the hotel were the cleanest and whitest compared to the surrounding areas. The room, though a bit dated, was clean. Staff at the restaurant are friendly and attentive.

I would have given my review a higher rating if:
1. We had someone help us with our luggages upon check in.

2. The rooms/ facilities were updated.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
We're glad to have spent the recent holiday weekend with you, and we appreciate your review and attention to detail. We certainly aim to afford our guests with the very best in spaces and services, and we'll most certainly pass your thoughts along to the team, who would be more than happy to assist with luggage in returning travels. We hope that you'll reach out again soon to share in our hospitality and the continued upgrades being performed across the property; we think you'll really love the evolution of our offerings--a product of guest feedback like yours. It was a pleasure to have hosted you,and we encourage you to reach out again soon.

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We always stay at this hotel because it has such a great vacation feel. The bay location always has great views from the rooms. Always worth booking/upgrading to the view rooms. Great for taking a nice bike ride or going for a run. Great location if you are vising Sea World or Old Town San Diego. Its about a 10 minute drive down to the gas lamp district.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
We're so thankful to have you as a loyal guest and advocate, Angelica, and we thank you for taking the time to offer us such kind feedback of your visits. We're certainly proud of our site's natural beauty, and we're glad that the team and our regional accessibility keep you coming back! We look forward to seeing more of you the next time you're in San Diego, and we thank you again for your time and review.

All our best,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#23 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#63 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.