We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$54 for parking and resort fees?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #119 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“$54 for parking and resort fees?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This property is in a great location. The lobby is great, but after that, things don't go so well.

The villa rooms are old and have an odd smell to them. Seems like the hotel tried to update them, as the bathrooms are newish, but the rooms still are musty.

Service is iffy, and candidly, for the price of the rooms, and for Hilton Hhonors members, it's insulting this hotel charges $55 in fees PLUS the room.

The value just isn't there. I wouldn't rate this hotel as poor, but it's definitely below average, and represents a poor value when factoring in all of the expenses.

Room Tip: Pick a different Hilton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks for being a loyal Hilton guest and for taking the time to share the experience of your visit with us. While we're happy to offer you a comfortable visit in San Diego, we're sorry to hear of those shortcomings with your stay. We certainly aim to be as transparent as possible regarding our fees and pricing structures, and we'd welcome the opportunity to talk with you more and to address any lingering concerns you might have regarding these or your visit at large. Please feel free to contact our management team at your earliest convenience; your input is invaluable to our operations, and we value it immensely. Many thanks again for your stay and review.

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    603
    386
    201
    111
See reviews for
744
480
58
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Was gone for five weeks and then went back. Nothing changed, the entire staff is still just as great as they were when I checked out after a nine month stay. Only hotel I will stay at when I am in San Diego.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We're always so happy to hear from loyal guests like yourself, and thanks for taking the time to share your experiences with us, Rick. We're immensely proud of our team and their reliable hospitality, and it's our pleasure to be able to offer you a warm and reliable stay during your San Diego travels. We hope to see more of you soon, and we wish you all our best until then. Thanks again for your loyalty and review!

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Great Hotel. The service was excellent, and the staff friendly. The room was great, and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel was very close to everything we wanted to do and to the center of San Diego.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
It's such a pleasure to have been able to host your San Diego visit, Matthew, and thanks for taking the time to share such thoughtful words with us. We'd love to have you back and to share even more of our on-site offerings and regional attractions with you, and we hope that you'll reach out to our team with your future travel needs. Many thanks again for being a guest of our Hilton property!

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My husband and I shared some get away time. The resort is lovely. We were off site daily to visit Sea World, Old Town, Little Italy and the zoo. We really were only there to eat, shower and sleep. We chose to use cabs to avoid rental card fee and daily parking rate. Breakfast was excellant. Only negative for me is paying for "resort fee" when I did not use those services. Front desk was very friendly........

Room Tip: room 312, beautiful corner suite facing Mission Bay, king bed, spacious, outside patio with lounge c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
We're so happy to have been able to lend our services to your San Diego trip, and we're thrilled to hear that our site, services, and surrounding offerings made for a memorable experience. We'd love to host you again, and we encourage you to reach out and to share in the many offerings of our site. Thanks again for being our guest and for lending such thoughtful words of your visit!

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

My parents, aunt and uncle were visiting us in California, and we decided to spend a few days in San Diego. We used a "name your price" website and ended up with two rooms at the Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa. We were excited about the hotel, but disappointed that we would have to pay extra fees.

The rooms were very nice and clean with comfortable beds. None of us really sleep well away from home, but we all slept quite pleasantly. We were out and about in town during the day and did not use the resort facilities. One evening, though, we sat in one of the hot tubs (which were quite hot!) for a while. There was a children's movie playing on a projection screen, and there was freshly popped popcorn available for the guests.

There were towels in the pool area, though I wish there had been robes in the rooms. It was a bit cold walking back to our rooms wet, with no towels (since we had to return them in the pool area).

The parking fee of $34 is ridiculous considering the hotel is not located in the heart of the city where parking is at a premium. For us, we do not feel that we utilized the resort enough to warrant a $19/day resort fee. Others who spend more time at the hotel may have a different experience.

We all enjoyed our stay, and other than the extra fees, we were extremely satisfied.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
It's a pleasure to have been able to host you and your family, Nori, and we thank you for choosing our Hilton property. We certainly make every effort to make our guests feel at home in the inviting offerings and hospitality of our site, and we're happy to hear that your family enjoyed a memorable visit. We also appreciate your concerns regarding additional resort fees, and while we will pass these along, we hope that you'll return again soon to experience the multitude of offerings they afford to our guests. Thanks again for being a guest of our resort; we hope to see more of you soon!

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Watch out for the $20 resort fee and $34 parking charge. And always check your bill on checkout. They threw a couple waters on my bill and I have to assume they hoped I wouldn't notice. Nice location and amenities, breakfast was awesome, but I was not happy with all the extra fees and taxes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to reach out with the experience of your visit, James. We apologize for any misunderstandings with your respective bill, and we'd like to assure you that our team works with only the highest level of integrity, and we'll be sure to speak with them to prevent future errors like you've described here. We'd love to host you again, and we encourage you to reach out with your future destination needs; it would be a pleasure to see you again and to showcase the attention to detail for which we're more commonly regarded. Many thanks again for your time and review.

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed here last month as guest of a friend who booked and paid for the rooms in advance. On arrival the receptionist confirmed the rooms had been paid for. On departure I paid for dinner, breakfast and drinks. A week later I noticed that the cost of the pre paid rooms was also deducted from my credit card, a total of $577. Despite drawing this to their attention I have not heard from them nor had the problem resolved. This is an unauthorised payment on my card.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank for for being a guest of our property and for taking the time to reach out with your feedback. It always concerns us to hear of miscommunications like this, and we'd love the opportunity to speak with you further and to identify appropriate resolution. Please reach out to Elizabeth Peleckis, our Hotel Manager, at your next available opportunity: 619 275 8908 . Many thanks for your understanding and in advance for your time.

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#30 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#65 Business Hotel in San Diego
#67 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.