We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden costs but a great bed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Westborough, MA
1 review
“Hidden costs but a great bed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

There are extra fees for parking, expensive drinks at the bar, resort fee, expensive breakfast.

Positives: Hot tubs, comfortable bed, quiet (off-season November 2013) and relaxing atmosphere.

Hilton is my go-to and was a much better night's sleep than previous trip when staying at the Hyatt in seaport/downtown area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
It's an extreme pleasure to have been able to afford you with a relaxing and enjoyable stay in the region, Elizabeth, and we thank you for taking the time to reach out with your feedback for us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our many offerings, and we apologize if some of our fees caught you off guard. We certainly aim to be as transparent as possible regarding both our resort and parking fee, and we'd love to hear more of your visit to learn where this transfer of information might have become lost. We encourage you to reach out to our team at your next convenience, and we hope very much for the chance to host your next San Diego visit. Many thanks again for being our guest and for lending us the insight of your stay.

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    509
    339
    173
    88
See reviews for
658
412
53
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Room 230, chemical smell through vent due to something someone was burning. Advised staff, they were great and had housekeeping spray the room with air freshner. Smell remained throughout night thru vent when air was blowing... Made for an uncomfortable night and headache In the morning.

Staff: Evening security were awesome. Front desk-Nick, awesome personality. Public Relations is for him.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Many thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to reach out with your HIlton experience. We apologize again for any inconvenience caused by a neighboring guest, and we thank you for your understanding. We're glad to hear of the expedient response of our team, and we will certainly share your appreciation with them. We'd love to host you again and to showcase the more streamlines experience for which we're renown, and we hope that you'll reach out to our team soon. Many thanks again for your time and review.

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Best Hilton we have stayed in thus far. Will return with the Grandkids and have a ball. The location was perfect. Located on the bay will all the possible water sports available right outside our door. We brought our bicycles and had a room facing the water on the ground level. It was so easy to go casual biking and enjoy the day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We're so happy to have hosted your visit and to have afforded you with a relaxing, getaway weekend. As you noted, our property is great for couples and fantastic for families, and we look forward to sharing our many amenities with you and your grandkids in travels to come. Please be sure to reach out again soon, and thanks for offering us such thoughtful words of your stay!

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton San Diego Resort and Spa for the first time this past weekend. I thought this was an overall great hotel - clean room, friendly staff, beautiful grounds. My only complaint concerns getting to my room. Since it is a resort, I expected to 1. the grounds to be well lit (which they weren't) and 2. once I got to the building with my luggage, I was on the second floor of a building that didn't have an elevator. Sadly, I would think twice about staying here again if I'm not in the high rise building across from the Front desk area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
It's a pleasure to have hosted your recent visit, and we thank you for taking the time to extend such a considerate review. We're immensely proud of our team's attentive hospitality, and we're glad to hear that their services left such a favorable impression on you. With that, we'd love to help you explore alternative room choices in your travels ahead; with a variety available across our expansive property, there are several that are sure to impress. Many thanks again for being our guest; we hope to hear more from you soon.

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Nice location but somewhat isolated
Bar food was expertly prepared
Clean comfortable and quiet rooms
Function rooms fully functional
Did not use pool or spa or exercise facilities
Best if you have your own car

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Whether you join us for work or leisure, we're always glad to provide our guests with a comfortable escape, and we're happy to have done this for your recent travels. With so many on-site amenities and area attractions, we hope that you'll think of us again and reach out to share in more of our site and city offerings. We'd love to host you again!

Kindly,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife was walking in the Susan G. Komen 3-day, so instead of staying in a tent, we chose the San Diego Hilton Resort & Spa. Was it worth it! The amenities were fabulous along with the staff. I didn't walk, but thoroughly enjoyed the property while my wife was walking. And when she returned for the day, we ate at the Acqua Restaurant. Laurent, the Maitre' D, was very friendly and helpful with the wine and champagne selections. The wait staff catered to our every need, and the food was excellent. The resort property is very clean and well maintained. I would definitely stay here again. I would like to try the spa services, which I was unable to do this visit. My only neutral comment is that there is a charge for parking. It was discounted for participants in the 3-day, but I was surprised nonetheless.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bay View...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our Hilton Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with us, David. We're glad to have been able to offer a peaceful visit for you and your wife, and it's a pleasure to host guests in town for such appreciable causes. We'd love to share even more of our site and services with you in travels ahead, and we hope that you'll think of us the next time you're in San Diego. Many thanks again for being our guest and offering such a thoughtful review of your stay.

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Room was a villa second floor room, very spacious. Mini fridge, safe - not always found in hilton brand properties so a nice surprise. Roomy bath with good lighting. Large open balcony with partial water view and full garden views. Overall property was very pleasant. Pools were nice and property is on a public waterfront path that is very nice. Spa/gym is nice and has well lit tennis courts in good shape. Absolutely need a car at this resort as any hotel shuttle ride is at least $15 even if its only a few miles.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
It's a pleasure to have been able to share our resort with you, and we're thrilled to hear that you were able to take in the many sites and offerings of our property. November is a great time to enjoy the still summer-like weather of San Diego, and we're glad to have offered you a memorable stay in the region. We'd love to host you again, and we encourage you to reach out as you plan upcoming travels. Many thanks again for being our guest and for taking the time to lend us your voice.

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#21 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#63 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.