We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mission bay hilton” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Getaway Package!
Ranked #101 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Chicago, United States
1 review
“mission bay hilton”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

stay somewhere else. the $34/night parking fee is insulting when you consider how much the rooms are. the rooms were moldy and the staff could care less. the resort is disorganized with no dedicated walkways or signs. I was not impressed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
While it was a pleasure to host your recent visit, we're disheartened to hear of your misgivings with our site and services. We aim to provide the very best of both to our guests, and we apologize for any shortcomings during your stay. We'd love the opportunity to discuss this with you further, and we encourage you to reach out to a member of our management team at your next earliest convenience. Thanks again for your time and review; we hope to hear more from you soon.

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    601
    492
    318
    165
    82
See reviews for
626
390
53
318
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Hilton San Diego Resort and Spa is a very relaxing and peaceful place to stay. The hotel staff are great to work with and make great recommendations for places to go in town and they can offer a shuttle for a small fee to take you places.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our HIlton property and for taking the time to reach out with such lovely words for us. It's a pleasure to be able to share our site and services with you, and we encourage you to reach out again in travels to come. Many thanks for your stay and review.

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa is clean, family friendly with great helpful staff. My only complaint and reason I will think twice about staying here again is the $34.00 a day self parking charge, which is excessive.

Room Tip: The room was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to review your Hilton experience, Donna. We're so happy to have been able to host you, and we'll certainly share your accolades with the team. That said, we're sorry to hear that you found our parking fee disarming, and we will certainly share this information as we work to bring you the very best in services and charges. We hope that you'll reach out to us the next time you're in San Diego; it would be a pleasure to host you again.

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Salem, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This was the third hotel I stayed in on my trip to San Diego. The grounds were beautiful and had a very relaxing feel but I was a bit disappointed by a few things at this resort. The bathroom in our room was outdated and small, like one found in a hotel off the highway. It was a step down from the less expensive hotels from the beginning of the trip. I was also a little disappointed by the location of the hotel and the view. I was under the impression that the hotel had a beach but really it was on the shore of a bay that resembled a lake (I had just come from the Hilton in Torrey Pines with spectacular views of the golf course and the Pacific). Walking on the shore I came across a sign that warned about swimming in the area after periods of rain because the water could cause sickness.

Otherwise, I enjoyed my stay here. The pool area was exactly what I expected from a resort, complete with a waterfall, palm trees, and plenty of lounge space. The pool and hot tubs were open late and there was a fire pit alongside the pool where people were roasting marshmallows at night. I loved my breakfast of crab benedict-I might go back just for that. Overall, it was relaxing and fun but not my favorite place in San Diego.

Room Tip: My room was waterfront with a sunken patio. I didn't like that it was right alongside the path...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for lending such a thoughtful review of your stay. It's a pleasure to have been able to share the inviting escape of our resort grounds with you, and we appreciate your feedback regarding updates to your bathroom. We will certainly explore this further as we continue upgrades across the property to bring you only the very best of spaces and services, and we hope that you'll reach out again to share in our continued evolution. We'd love to host you again, and we encourage you to reach out the next time you're in the San Diego area.

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bronx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

i just returned from two days at this hilton and i was pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness and ambience of it. my room was large with a beautiful large balcony and the room was also a very nice size. the fire pit by the pool was nice because it gets a little cool at times. that being said, the parking fee of $34/nt is insulting and do not want this to turn negative, but to charge that kind of fee is taking advantage of a situation. the grounds are meticulous, i stayed in one of the villa buildings and would recommend this(already have) to my friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We're so happy to have hosted your recent stay in San Diego, and we're thrilled to hear that our site afforded a peaceful relaxation to your visit. We certainly take great pride in the ambience created by our waterfront oasis, and it's a pleasure to have been able to share it with you. That said, we apologize if our fee was startling, but we'd like to assure you of our competitive area pricing and to offer our assurance of continued evaluation to offer our guests the very best of comfort and cost. We look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again, and we encourage you to reach out the next time you're in the area. Many thanks again for being our guest and for lending us your thoughtful review.

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here for a conference. Very nice facilities (bar, restaurant, workout, pool), great location, and nice rooms. My only complaint was the wireless internet. The signal was often weak and the response was slow. The receptionist said they were waiting for a fiber optic link from the city but I think a resort of this caliber should be able to provide something better in the interim.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our HIlton Resort and for reaching out with the experience of your visit. While we're happy to hear that much of your stay was enjoyable, we apologize for the setback caused by the glitch in our wireless system. We certainly appreciate the strain that this might have placed on your work, and we have given it our undivided attention. We hope that you'll reach out to us again soon to experience our continued growth and attention to detail. It was a pleasure to have hosted you, and we thank you for your time and feedback.

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

I was here for a Event and I planned to stay overnight. The room exceeded my my expectations. Its was a 2 story suite with a jacuzzi and patio with fire pit. Amazing view right in front of the beach and next to Sea World. Loved every minute of it!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We're so happy to have hosted your recent visit to San Diego and to hear your share the experience with such acclaim. As noted in your review, the amenities, views and services of our property can be quite unmatched, and we're so happy to have been able to share each of them with you. We look forward to your regional return, and we encourage you to reach out the next time you're in the area. Many thanks again for your time and thoughtful words.

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#21 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#63 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.