We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #109 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very relaxing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton San Diego Resort and Spa for the first time this past weekend. I thought this was an overall great hotel - clean room, friendly staff, beautiful grounds. My only complaint concerns getting to my room. Since it is a resort, I expected to 1. the grounds to be well lit (which they weren't) and 2. once I got to the building with my luggage, I was on the second floor of a building that didn't have an elevator. Sadly, I would think twice about staying here again if I'm not in the high rise building across from the Front desk area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
It's a pleasure to have hosted your recent visit, and we thank you for taking the time to extend such a considerate review. We're immensely proud of our team's attentive hospitality, and we're glad to hear that their services left such a favorable impression on you. With that, we'd love to help you explore alternative room choices in your travels ahead; with a variety available across our expansive property, there are several that are sure to impress. Many thanks again for being our guest; we hope to hear more from you soon.

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    651
    409
    209
    119
See reviews for
823
514
62
456
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Nice location but somewhat isolated
Bar food was expertly prepared
Clean comfortable and quiet rooms
Function rooms fully functional
Did not use pool or spa or exercise facilities
Best if you have your own car

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Whether you join us for work or leisure, we're always glad to provide our guests with a comfortable escape, and we're happy to have done this for your recent travels. With so many on-site amenities and area attractions, we hope that you'll think of us again and reach out to share in more of our site and city offerings. We'd love to host you again!

Kindly,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife was walking in the Susan G. Komen 3-day, so instead of staying in a tent, we chose the San Diego Hilton Resort & Spa. Was it worth it! The amenities were fabulous along with the staff. I didn't walk, but thoroughly enjoyed the property while my wife was walking. And when she returned for the day, we ate at the Acqua Restaurant. Laurent, the Maitre' D, was very friendly and helpful with the wine and champagne selections. The wait staff catered to our every need, and the food was excellent. The resort property is very clean and well maintained. I would definitely stay here again. I would like to try the spa services, which I was unable to do this visit. My only neutral comment is that there is a charge for parking. It was discounted for participants in the 3-day, but I was surprised nonetheless.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bay View...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our Hilton Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with us, David. We're glad to have been able to offer a peaceful visit for you and your wife, and it's a pleasure to host guests in town for such appreciable causes. We'd love to share even more of our site and services with you in travels ahead, and we hope that you'll think of us the next time you're in San Diego. Many thanks again for being our guest and offering such a thoughtful review of your stay.

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Room was a villa second floor room, very spacious. Mini fridge, safe - not always found in hilton brand properties so a nice surprise. Roomy bath with good lighting. Large open balcony with partial water view and full garden views. Overall property was very pleasant. Pools were nice and property is on a public waterfront path that is very nice. Spa/gym is nice and has well lit tennis courts in good shape. Absolutely need a car at this resort as any hotel shuttle ride is at least $15 even if its only a few miles.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
It's a pleasure to have been able to share our resort with you, and we're thrilled to hear that you were able to take in the many sites and offerings of our property. November is a great time to enjoy the still summer-like weather of San Diego, and we're glad to have offered you a memorable stay in the region. We'd love to host you again, and we encourage you to reach out as you plan upcoming travels. Many thanks again for being our guest and for taking the time to lend us your voice.

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

stay somewhere else. the $34/night parking fee is insulting when you consider how much the rooms are. the rooms were moldy and the staff could care less. the resort is disorganized with no dedicated walkways or signs. I was not impressed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
While it was a pleasure to host your recent visit, we're disheartened to hear of your misgivings with our site and services. We aim to provide the very best of both to our guests, and we apologize for any shortcomings during your stay. We'd love the opportunity to discuss this with you further, and we encourage you to reach out to a member of our management team at your next earliest convenience. Thanks again for your time and review; we hope to hear more from you soon.

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Hilton San Diego Resort and Spa is a very relaxing and peaceful place to stay. The hotel staff are great to work with and make great recommendations for places to go in town and they can offer a shuttle for a small fee to take you places.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our HIlton property and for taking the time to reach out with such lovely words for us. It's a pleasure to be able to share our site and services with you, and we encourage you to reach out again in travels to come. Many thanks for your stay and review.

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa is clean, family friendly with great helpful staff. My only complaint and reason I will think twice about staying here again is the $34.00 a day self parking charge, which is excessive.

Room Tip: The room was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to review your Hilton experience, Donna. We're so happy to have been able to host you, and we'll certainly share your accolades with the team. That said, we're sorry to hear that you found our parking fee disarming, and we will certainly share this information as we work to bring you the very best in services and charges. We hope that you'll reach out to us the next time you're in San Diego; it would be a pleasure to host you again.

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#73 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 3,283 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#3 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,545 reviews
La Jolla Cove Suites
#18 of 25 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#2 of 25 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#162 of 273 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,913 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#64 Business Hotel in San Diego
#67 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.