We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the property & staff. Extra $ add up.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #114 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Madison, WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved the property & staff. Extra $ add up.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I chose to stay here on a business/personal trip rather than a competing resort hotel nearby where the conference was held. Having visited the two properties, I'm glad we chose the Hilton. Walking around the grounds, utilizing the pool, athletic center, etc. we really felt like we were stepping out of the busyness of the trip and was surrounded by a peaceful scene. We had a ground floor Garden Room was had a nice patio and was a close walk to the pool area.
The staff at the restaurant each morning were fabulous - super polite and helpful about San Diego areas to check out.
There were two drawbacks I experienced: one was the high additional fees. Parking per day was $33 and there was a $19 resort fee per day and of course there are city and state taxes on these fees which really add up. The other downside was both of the hot tubs in the pool area were not working the last two nights of our stay. One was cool (as in not warm) and the jets weren't working in the other. On sixty degree nights, it would have been great to have those available.

Room Tip: The Garden Rooms are roomy and great location on the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
It's a pleasure to have had you as our guests, and we're so happy to have provided you with a tranquil escape from your businesslike days. We take immense pride in the hospitality of our team, and we're happy to hear that they and our natural environment were able to lend comfort and serenity to your San Diego stay. That said, we certainly appreciate your attention to the fees associated with our property, and we hope that you were able to utilize the many amenities that they afford valued guests like yourself. From our water-based recreation to our therapeutic spa treatments, we trust that your visit was an inviting and relaxing one, and we'd love to welcome you back soon to experience even more of the pampered luxury of our resort.

Thanks again for your time and feedback; we hope to hear more from you in your travels to come.

All our best,

Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    548
    362
    187
    97
See reviews for
693
447
57
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Hotel excellent, buffet breaky great, garden rooms lovely, large rooms, steam room is the best, great location near the water, food great, good service, public transport non-existent need to catch shuttle bus or taxi or hire a car

Room Tip: Do not get a room near an entrance door to the block people stand at the door and talk in the middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for choosing our HIlton Resort for you San Diego stay, Kate. We're so happy to have been able to host your visit, and we're glad to hear that so many of our offerings and amenities exceeded your expectations. While our property might seem like an oasis apart from the bustle of the city, we'd love to help you navigate those transit options you listed, and more, during your next trip to the area. There's so much to explore and enjoy on our property and beyond, and we'd welcome the opportunity to support your next stay in the region. Many thanks again for your time and review; we hope to hear more from you in travels to come!

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very nice hotel, great room! The restaurant is really good for a reasonable price and the persons working in it are great. I did not have possibility to test the swimming pool or spa but they both look great!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the opportunity to share your Hilton experience with us. Whether for business or leisure, we're proud to be able to afford you with our comforting facilities and hospitality, and we're happy to hear that your visit was a comforting one. We'd love to have you back soon, and we encourage you to reach out to our team and to explore the vast amenities that out waterfront property affords its guests. There's much to see and explore, and we'd welcome the opportunity to share the many facets of our resort with you. Thanks again for your time and review; we hope to hear more from you soon.


King Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The shuttle service and the fact that Enterprise has a hotel drop off deal with you were top - notch!! Kudos and more kudos on the shuttle service!! This is the biggest reason you get a good rating.

We were in Room 174. The entry door to that building makes a lot of noise every time someone opens it (actually one noise on opening that door,and another noise when it closes). Something should be done to dampen it.

I do not understand why you charge for the fitness center and for internet. The internet charge was particularly annoying since the service was very slow.

We liked the restaurant but would have liked better "healthy" options. All meals were too many calories for my wife and I. I am accustomed to big salad and vegetable options (normal day is at least 7 vegetable servings for me). The food was very good and very tasty. but the options were definitely geared to "gourmet" rather than "healthy".

This was a relaxation stopping point for us after a very packed 5 days at Disneyland. It was a bit annoying that Housekeeping called us at around noon every day to tell us that we can call later and request service. Every good hotel offers that, but most offer it without making a point of calling....

My wife found the bed a bit too firm.

A basic continental breakfast or oatmeal and fruit at a decent price would have been helpful. Even the California Grand at Disnelyland found a way to do that (oatmeal with berries plus pint of milk for $12 there).

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor of the building we were in (four / five story building).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
It's a pleasure to have hosted your San Diego visit, Ed. We appreciate you choosing our Hilton property and for taking the time to share your experience with us. As noted in your review, our shuttle service, along with our Enterprise partnership, allows ease of regional access for our travelers, and we're happy to hear that these lent convenience to your visit. That said, we're sorry for the many other frustrations associated with your stay, and we invite you to reach out and to discuss these more with our management team. We aim to provide an exemplary and consistent experience for each of our guests, and feedback like yours is invaluable to our continued evolution. We thank you again for sharing this with us, and we hope to hear more from and to see more of you soon. Thanks again for your review.

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Room had a wonderful view of the bay. Friendly front desk staff. The Olive was WAY understaffed for a holiday Sunday night. One server for all of outside and inside. We had to move over to Acqua for dinner, since we couldn't get any food ordered at Olive. Party of 5, $80 for a round of drinks would've paid for an extra server.

Room Tip: ask for Bayview. I was envious of the rooms on the ocean with a firepit, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
It's a pleasure to share our waterfront property with you, and we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and its scenic views. We're also glad that our front desk team was able to welcome you so warmly, and we apologize for the juxtaposition of services you received while attempting to dine at The Olive Lounge. This is rare and unfortunate to hear, and we apologize for any service delays. We will certainly explore this on your behalf to prevent reoccurrence, and we encourage you to reach out to us again the next time you're in the area. We'd love the opportunity to provide you with the streamlined and consistent attentiveness for which we're regarded. Many thanks again for reaching out; we hope to hear more from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Property is beautiful, the landscaping is kept very nicely, rooms were nice and beds are comfortable, service was quick and friendly. I ordered breakfast in the room and mentioned it was my daughter's first birthday and they put a candle on top of the pancakes! Mike in room service was awesome and really made that moment special for my daughter!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Happy birthday to your daughter, and thanks for reaching out to share this experience with us! It's a huge honor to be able to celebrate such special occasions alongside our families, and we're happy to hear that our team was able to make your stay just a little bit brighter. We hope that you'll think of us for milestones down the road; we'd love to share many more memories and services with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of a road trip and it was a welcome relaxing break at the half way point.
The reception, pool and restaurant areas of the hotel are lovely, particularly the outside bar area which has comfy seating and nice views. The staff in the bar and restaurant are also great, really friendly and took the time to chat. Take advantage of the happy hour for snacks and drinks!
We took advantage of the watersports on offer and hired a jet ski which was great!
The rooms were really nicely decorated and spacious. Ours had a large balcony but it was a little too loud from the traffic at the front to sit out on.
Although we knew there was a parking charge I still feel that $34 dollars A NIGHT is excessive and it would put me off staying again. Especially as I feel the rooms are on the expensive side as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We hope that you enjoyed your road trip through San Diego, and we're thankful to have been a part of the experience. It's a pleasure to be able to share our outgoing hospitality with you, and we're so happy to hear that you enjoyed it as much as your jet skiing experience in the bay! Few properties offer such amenities, and we're glad you were able to enjoy some playful relaxation on ours. We'd love to host you again, should you return to the area, and we hope that you'll reach out to us down the road. Many thanks again for your stay and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#23 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#63 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.