We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms but outdate property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Getaway Package!
Ranked #101 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great rooms but outdate property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Overall great hotel, a little pricy overall with resort fee and parking totaling up to 45 a night extra. Had dinner at the restaurant and room service and it was a little on the pricy side but that should be expected since there is nothing close by (walking distance). Room was clean and fairly decent size. The restaurant was a great experience with sea world firework close by. Our server took great care of us . (Chris) and room service was fast in and accurate in our order, our order taker was knowledgable and friendly (George). The pool was recently change and it look great with a kids pool next to the adults pool. Overall it was a good place stay taking away parking fee (had to park across the parking lot because it was full) and price of everything else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hi David, thank you for being our guest and for taking a moment to leave us such a kind review. We are glad you were able to enjoy many of our amenities and happy you were able to dine with us as well. We strive to provide our guests excellent customer care across the board, so we appreciate you recognizing members of our staff. We hope to see you as a guest again in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    599
    491
    318
    165
    82
See reviews for
624
390
52
318
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arcadia, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Resort is conveniently located off the 5 and short drives to La Jolla and downtown. It also has direct access to waters in Mission Bay and onsite bicycle and boat rentals. Overall services were good but not great. Overall we enjoyed the stay.

Only gripe would be parking. Paying $34/nt and not able to find any parking is not acceptable.
After circling around for 20 minutes looking parking with tired kids, I ended up calling hotel and was informed that they would send someone out to help me find parking. That's when I found out the parking lot has overflown due to a wedding. End it up parking 10 minutes away.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool and facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our Hilton Resort and for taking the opportunity to reach out to share your experience with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our overall services and amenities, and we apologize again for those frustrations caused by your parking difficulties. We hope that this instance was an isolated one during your visit, and we encourage you to reach out with any lingering concerns you might have. We aim to provide each of our guests with a first rate and memorable experience, and we hope to host you again in travels to come. Many thanks again for your time and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

So a few of my initial concerns were overcome by fact that this place is 50 years old and they kept it pretty well.

Pool was great bummer had a little more dust tree stuff than I'd like but hey it was outdoors. And ducks would come in and out of water.

Rooms have upgraded hilton feel building old.

Walls are super thin. So that's the bummer there. As had loud neighbors


Happy hour was great

And did I say views r great

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our Hilton property and for reaching out to share your experience with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our peaceful oasis, and it was a pleasure to be able to share it and our amenities with you. We hope that you'll reach out in the future to enjoy our continued renovations, and we encourage you to reach out as you plan return trips to our region. Many thanks again for your time and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have been staying at the Hilton for over 26 years and have been through every possible renovation undertaken by the hotel. THE PROPERTY FROM WHEN WE FIRST CAME TO OUR MOST RECENT VISIT IN AUGUST, 2013 IS ALWAYS CONSISTENTLY BEAUTIFUL. The staff takes amazing steps to ensure every guest feels welcome and their needs are met. The grounds make you feel like you are in an island paradise and the hotel amenities compliment the "island experience". Whether you want to rent bikes, go waterskiing, take out a waverunner, play tennis,have a gym workout, a great spa treatment, or just kickback at the magnificent pool with tableside service or lie on the sandy beach of Mission Bay you are gtd. a great time. The restaurants are over the top AMAZING. Nothing more to say except DON'T PASS UP A CHANCE TO STAY AT THE HILTON RESORT, MISSION BAY. David M.

Room Tip: Always try to request if available a upgrade to the garden area. The staff will always try to accom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for being a loyal guest of our HIlton Resort and for reaching out to share your experience with us, David. It's an absolute pleasure to be able to share our San Diego oasis with you, and we're thrilled to hear that you continue to enjoy the evolution of our property and its many amenities. We will certainly pass your kind words along to the team, and we look forward to your return and the opportunity of hosting you again. Thanks again for your time and loyal advocacy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I didn't see anyone else post about this in what i read and am appaled! What is it with hilton and absurd parking fees? The rooms aren't cheap so why so much for parking compared to other places?? Just nuts! I was all set to have a stayvacation here but I just can't go along with the parking fee:(

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our Hilton Resort and for reaching out to share your experience and frustrations with us. We're sorry to hear that our parking fee came as an unexpected surprise for you, and we apologize if it created a hinderance to your stay. We do aim to be as forthright as possible regarding this expense, and we hope that you'll find it to be a nominal one when the many amenities and features of our all-encompassing property are taken into consideration. We'd love the opportunity to share more of them with you, and we hope that you'll consider reaching out as you plan return visits to the region. Many thanks again for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I booked a room over the weekend at this Resort and we were blown away!
The property is very clean, beautiful and so relaxing.
When we arrived Saturday morning it was very busy but we were greeted by Aaron the bellman and he was so polite, friendly and very helpful.
He helped with our bags, taking our car, and also informing us of where everything was located (the pool, spa, store and restaurant).
After dealing with him, we knew it was going to be a fantastic stay.
The check in staff was friendly and very accommodating.
During our stay we enjoyed the amazing pool, happy hour and Sea World fireworks.
This was our first time staying here, and we will definitely be back and next time we plan on staying for a week!!! We will recommend this resort to all of our family and friends!!

Room Tip: Ask for the Bayside rooms, they are beautiful and right on the bay!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for reaching out to share your experience with us. It's a pleasure to be able to share our unparalleled services with you, and we're happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of the many special features of our properties. We look forward to your return and to introducing you to many more of our amenities, and we hope to see more of you in the near future. Thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The treatment we received from the female staff member 'Whitney' at Concierge was remarkable. She went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and provide us with helpful hints to make our stay the best it could possibly be. It was lovely to receive such friendly and helpful customer service !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to point out the exemplary services of our team. We will certainly pass your praises along to Whitney, and we hope that you'll reach out to us in the near future to experience even more of our world class hospitality. Thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#21 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#63 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.