We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding family resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Beverly Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding family resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We took our entire family of 16 adults and children to the Hilton San Diego Spa and Resort for a family reunion early this month. The Front Desk staff worked tirelessly ahead of time to make sure that we had excellent rooms (some connecting) that were close to each other and had the facilities we needed, and then brought us pack-n-plays and anything else we needed once we arrived. Thank you especially to Alyssa and Amanda who did a fantastic job for us! All of the staff had a wonderful attitude throughout our stay.
The facilities at the Hilton are great for families with kids--a fun shallow kids' pool, sand volleyball courts, ping pong tables (as well as tennis courts for the rest of us!), bean bag games, a giant checker board by the pool, etc. The hotel is right on the bay, and the kids dug in the sand, although the bay is not healthy to swim in. We were 1 mile from Sea World, and even watched the 10 pm nightly fireworks from our balconies!

Room Tip: We chose rooms in the low-rise villas so the kids could have easier access to the grassy areas and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our Hilton Resort and for taking the time to share such kind words regarding your stay. It's our extreme pleasure to host families like yours, and we're especially glad to be able to offer you a top-rate selection of offerings on our property. Whether you're taking in our scenic, nightly firework displays or making s'mores with the sunset, it's an honor to be able to share such memorable experiences with you. Please be sure to reach out as you plan return trips to the region. With an ever-evolving selection of amenities, we'd love to share our continued evolution with you and your family. Thanks again for your time and review; we hope to hear more from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    507
    339
    172
    87
See reviews for
658
408
53
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stay at this hotel each time we visit San Diego - it's beautiful, clean and the service is stellar! The swimming pool is big, and there's also a smaller pool for the children, and a hot tub. They have excellent food and drink service at the pool area, and they offer cabanas as well. It's located right on the beach, so you can rent jet-skis too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for being a loyal guest of our Hilton property and for taking the time to share such praises of our offerings. It's an extreme pleasure to host returning guests like yourself, and we're happy to hear that you and your family have enjoyed the increasing offerings of our resort. We'd love to share them and many more with you in future visits, and we hope that you'll reach out as you plan return trips to our region. Many thanks again for your time and review; we look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa is located in a wonderful area on Mission Bay. There is a large pool as well as many beach activities available. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The hotel staff are very friendly and the service they provide is outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to share such exceptional praises with us, Charles. It's a pleasure to be able to share our many world class amenities with you, and we'll be sure to spread your kind words along to the team. We'd love to host you again soon, and we hope that you'll reach out the next time you return to the area. We're always growing and improving, and we'd love the opportunity to share this continued evolution with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I booked the resort because I found it hard to figure our where to stay from UK. As a stand alone resort the facilities are OK - a lot of people were complaining about prices - Americans included. Mission Bay is very limited - you need a car to get around - I used taxis and you are looking at $25 to get most places.

I am now in Coronado beach which is miles better!!! This is the place to stay or look at the Best Western in The Old Town which looked like a good location as well for getting around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the opportunity to share your visit with us. While we would have liked to have you longer, we appreciate the time we had with you, and we hope that you'll consider reaching out to us the next time you return to our area. With numerous transit options at our disposal, we'd love the opportunity to help you explore them and our region further. Thanks again for your time and review; we hope for the chance to see more of you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnersville, NJ, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Overall, the hotel was beautiful and the stay was comfortable and very nice. The location is great. However, the $34 per night parking fee is ridiculous after spending $330 per night for a room. Also, there are no washers/dryers on site which turned out to be a big inconvenience when traveling with small children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our HIlton Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with us. While we're happy to hear that you enjoyed our facility, and hopefully the many family-friendly amenities we offer, we're sorry to hear of your frustrations. The guest experience is at the forefront of our operations, and we will certainly take your feedback into consideration as we move forward with continual renovations and upgrades across our property. We hope that you'll reach out down the road to share in our continued evolution; we'd love to host you and your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have just come back from a 4 centre holiday to the States with the Hilton being our last hotel and worst that we stayed in. Upon arrival you get hit with a $34 per day parking fee plus a $19 MANDATORY resort fee for items that we didn't want, so a bill of over $200 before you start. Our room for 3 was small over looking a back car park and the otherside of the car park is the main road. Also the lift was next to our room, so if you wanted peace and quiet at night time, you wouldn't get it in this room. Also what we thought as complimentary water in our room, like all the other hotels we stayed in, turned out to be $3.50 for a small bottle and $5.50 for a litre bottle .. Thankfully I didn't drink it. We felt this hotel was a total rip off and they were out to get as much money off you as they could. We plan to revisit San Diego in the future, but will be sure to give this hotel a miss!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our Hilton Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with us. While we strive to provide an all-inclusive experience for each of our guests, supported by our resort fee, we can understand how this can be frustrating if you do not utilize the many amenities at our disposal. We apologize for this, and we would love the opportunity to showcase the many great features of our property that it affords for. We'd love to hear more from you the next time you return to the area, and we hope that you'll reach out and allow us the opportunity to create a more memorable return visit. Thanks again for your time and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great Location !! You can't be more centrally located. Great access to beach activities ( bikes, boats, jet ski, etc...). Public parks on each side of resort are a big plus, plenty of beach and sand. Great areas for SUP boards
Rooms are large and spacious. Thanks Elizabeth for the upgrade. Villas are great place to be. Patios are well furnished with either lounge chairs and or tables with chairs. Some even have fire pits which are Great !!

Pros. LOCATION, Room size, access to water & water activities, great space around resort, boardwalk & park space, friendly staff, FIREWORKS EVERY NIGHT,

Cons. Parking fees, maintenance request went unfulfilled (bed reading light). Food a little pricey

Room Tip: Villas are great. Look at the 600's. even numbers for good pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Many thanks for being a guest of our HIlton Resort and for taking the opportunity to share such kind and thoughtful words with us. It's our pleasure to share our one of a kind facilities and its scenic views with guests like yourself, and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed the experience. We will be sure to pass the praises along to Elizabeth on your behalf, and we look forward to sharing more of our world class hospitality with you down the road. Please be sure to reach out as you plan your return to the area; we'd love to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#21 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#63 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.