We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the cost but don't expect luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #113 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for the cost but don't expect luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I got a great deal on this hotel by booking a no cancellation stay. This hotel is NOT on the ocean. It is on a bay so you will need to rent a car in order to get to the ocean. I recommend a bay view from the 6th floor of the tower - Very nice and we could see fire works from our balcony every night. It was clean but older so don't expect luxury. Pool is very nice and staff was very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend a kayak tour out of LaJolla with a company called OEX. It was a great experience. This hotel is centrally located to everything we wanted to do. Was a great 5 night stay.

Room Tip: Bay View from 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our Hilton Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with us, Janel. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our hospitable team and unparalleled views lent themselves to a memorable experience. We look forward to sharing more of our property with you, and we hope to hear from you again the next time you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    548
    362
    187
    97
See reviews for
693
447
57
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hilton on Mission Bay with my two kids. My kids and I got a cabana for the day and the service was great! Alex set up our cabanna and checked on my kids and I throughout the day to make sure we had what we needed. He even told us about a movie night where my kids could swim in the pool and watch a movie at the same time. We appreciated the tip and would defintely recommend it to anyone with kids staying at the Resort.

We also had a great experience with Patrick at the pool who told us about smores night where my kids could hang out by a bonfire on the beach and make smores! He made us feel very comfortable and welcome. Smores night was a perfect family experience. I would come back to this resort in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Many thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience with us, Marie. We're so glad to have been able to share our many family-friendly amenities with you and yours, and I'll be certain to pass your kind words along to our team for their support and attention to detail. S'mores night surely is a trademark favorite of so many of our guests, as are the nightly fireworks from nearby SeaWorld. We hope that you were able to enjoy these as well, and we look forward to your return and to sharing more of our special property with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The grounds themselves are very nice. The pool is surrounded by waterfalls and fire pits and if traveling during summer months, you have a great view of Sea World's fireworks. All rooms come with balconies and the rooms themselves are very nice and modern. The people who work there are helpful and nice.

Here is where the trickery comes in: you have hidden fees that pop up at the end of the trip. Upon checking in, behind room keys and coupons, you will see a little paper. Turn it over- you are charged $20 a day for things that are "complimentary" or events you may not participate in. For instance, the gym is complimentary and says so on the folder, but the $20 a day covers the fitness area. If it is to clean and maintain, that's fine. But a little warning upon booking and if not that, at least arrival would be nice. The wifi isn't great, but that, too, is included in you total. That's your warning.

Do not eat on site. No, you do not have restaurants that are in walking distance or on the bay. You will need to take a cab. The resort isn't dumb, and that's why a standard bag of almonds that are typically 1.99 in a grocery store are 5.00 there. 2 salads, 2 mimosas and a small cup of fruit =$80.00 at the restaurant. Don't believe me and feeling adventurous? Then go for it. Again, I warned you.

I, like others, am not a fan of getting ripped off. And that is exactly what I felt was being done at this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks for visiting our resort and for taking the time to share your stay with us. While I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and the incomparable views afforded by our waterfront setting, I'd like to apologize for any unexpected fees incurred during your stay. We aim to be entirely forthright with our resort fee, and it's our hope that guests are able to experience the many amenities it affords for across the span of our property. In addition to our fitness center and recently upgraded wifi, numerous other waterfront activities and daily happenings are sustained by this marginal charge. That said, I can appreciate your frustrations if you were unable to to take advantage of these many amenities, and we hope that you'll return again to experience more of the all-encompassing offerings of our one of a kind resort. Many thanks again for your time and review; your feedback certainly helps us to learn and grow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

we are from New York City and look forward to spending vacation time at this resort and spa.--this is our 4th trip to this Hilton hotel--we are drawn by the beautiful lush green grounds facing Mission Bay, beautiful accommodations, very friendly staff, excellent spa facilities, - we always have great weather---restaurant has great menu and is very accommodating should we want any food not shown on the menu--we are retired and travel extensively so have experienced many hotels--we put the Hilton San Diego Resort and Spa at the top of the list for a memorable experience--Irving Skydell and wife

Room Tip: suites facing the Mission Bay--beautiful to watch rising and setting of the sun-----
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Many thanks for being a loyal guest of our Hilton Resort, Irving. It's an extreme pleasure to host you and your wife, and it's an honor to share our special property with you. We look forward to your return and to the opportunity of creating many more memories alongside you, and we hope to hear more from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights this July with another family of relatives, it was really a great stay. the resort is very convenient and safe for the kids, and the the pool side is attractive.
the location is good especially the proximity of the beach among other activities like the Sea world where we enjoyed watching its fire works one night sitting next to the pool..
the rooms are spacious and clean. the staff is good and helpful.
a private Jacuzzi was located in a patio next to our room, just an amazing late relaxation before heading to the room.
Nice Job for the good care of the place.
Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for pointing out the many family-friendly elements of our property. Whether you're enjoying the local attractions or simply relaxing poolside to take in the evening fireworks, there's something for everyone at our special resort, and it's a pleasure to have been able to share it with you. We'd love to help you explore many more of our offerings, and we hope to see more of you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We checked out of hilton checkers in LA to move to a more relaxed place and found hilton in san diego - and it perfectly fit our requirements, very relaxed resort- has a longg beachfront with nice views and plenty of options for water sports. the food is also amazing. try to get a room facing the beachfront - no brainer - but the rooms in other towers are not that great. Just one downer, there is a lot of noise from other rooms (kids running around etc), so your sleep might be disturbed if you like to wake up late in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our Hilton Resort and for taking the time to point out the perks of our waterfront property. We pride ourselves on being the perfect oasis and escape for our guests, and while you may have experienced undue noise during this visit, we'd love to set you up with a quieter space in your returning ones. With many room styles and sites across our facility, we'd love to help you discover the perfect one for you! Thanks again for your time and review; we look forward to seeing more of you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Treated very well as Diamond, thanks for the upgrade! Your staff is the best, made my whole family just have a great time in our 4 nights there, the location is good but your staff is great! We had a blast attending the morning activities for families/kids as well as the large pool and even the ping pong tables.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Many thanks for being a loyal Hilton guest and for taking the time to share such great feedback with us. It's a pleasure to share our waterfront oasis with you and your family, and I'm glad to hear that you were able to enjoy so many of the activities we offer during the days. Hopefully you were able to participate in our s'mores and dive-in movie nights, too! We look forward to sharing these and many other offerings with you, and we hope that you'll reach out the next time you visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#23 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#63 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.