We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty...and privately pricey!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Getaway Package!
Ranked #101 of 268 hotels in San Diego
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pretty...and privately pricey!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The grounds themselves are very nice. The pool is surrounded by waterfalls and fire pits and if traveling during summer months, you have a great view of Sea World's fireworks. All rooms come with balconies and the rooms themselves are very nice and modern. The people who work there are helpful and nice.

Here is where the trickery comes in: you have hidden fees that pop up at the end of the trip. Upon checking in, behind room keys and coupons, you will see a little paper. Turn it over- you are charged $20 a day for things that are "complimentary" or events you may not participate in. For instance, the gym is complimentary and says so on the folder, but the $20 a day covers the fitness area. If it is to clean and maintain, that's fine. But a little warning upon booking and if not that, at least arrival would be nice. The wifi isn't great, but that, too, is included in you total. That's your warning.

Do not eat on site. No, you do not have restaurants that are in walking distance or on the bay. You will need to take a cab. The resort isn't dumb, and that's why a standard bag of almonds that are typically 1.99 in a grocery store are 5.00 there. 2 salads, 2 mimosas and a small cup of fruit =$80.00 at the restaurant. Don't believe me and feeling adventurous? Then go for it. Again, I warned you.

I, like others, am not a fan of getting ripped off. And that is exactly what I felt was being done at this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks for visiting our resort and for taking the time to share your stay with us. While I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and the incomparable views afforded by our waterfront setting, I'd like to apologize for any unexpected fees incurred during your stay. We aim to be entirely forthright with our resort fee, and it's our hope that guests are able to experience the many amenities it affords for across the span of our property. In addition to our fitness center and recently upgraded wifi, numerous other waterfront activities and daily happenings are sustained by this marginal charge. That said, I can appreciate your frustrations if you were unable to to take advantage of these many amenities, and we hope that you'll return again to experience more of the all-encompassing offerings of our one of a kind resort. Many thanks again for your time and review; your feedback certainly helps us to learn and grow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,656 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    600
    491
    318
    165
    82
See reviews for
624
390
53
318
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

we are from New York City and look forward to spending vacation time at this resort and spa.--this is our 4th trip to this Hilton hotel--we are drawn by the beautiful lush green grounds facing Mission Bay, beautiful accommodations, very friendly staff, excellent spa facilities, - we always have great weather---restaurant has great menu and is very accommodating should we want any food not shown on the menu--we are retired and travel extensively so have experienced many hotels--we put the Hilton San Diego Resort and Spa at the top of the list for a memorable experience--Irving Skydell and wife

Room Tip: suites facing the Mission Bay--beautiful to watch rising and setting of the sun-----
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Many thanks for being a loyal guest of our Hilton Resort, Irving. It's an extreme pleasure to host you and your wife, and it's an honor to share our special property with you. We look forward to your return and to the opportunity of creating many more memories alongside you, and we hope to hear more from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights this July with another family of relatives, it was really a great stay. the resort is very convenient and safe for the kids, and the the pool side is attractive.
the location is good especially the proximity of the beach among other activities like the Sea world where we enjoyed watching its fire works one night sitting next to the pool..
the rooms are spacious and clean. the staff is good and helpful.
a private Jacuzzi was located in a patio next to our room, just an amazing late relaxation before heading to the room.
Nice Job for the good care of the place.
Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for pointing out the many family-friendly elements of our property. Whether you're enjoying the local attractions or simply relaxing poolside to take in the evening fireworks, there's something for everyone at our special resort, and it's a pleasure to have been able to share it with you. We'd love to help you explore many more of our offerings, and we hope to see more of you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We checked out of hilton checkers in LA to move to a more relaxed place and found hilton in san diego - and it perfectly fit our requirements, very relaxed resort- has a longg beachfront with nice views and plenty of options for water sports. the food is also amazing. try to get a room facing the beachfront - no brainer - but the rooms in other towers are not that great. Just one downer, there is a lot of noise from other rooms (kids running around etc), so your sleep might be disturbed if you like to wake up late in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our Hilton Resort and for taking the time to point out the perks of our waterfront property. We pride ourselves on being the perfect oasis and escape for our guests, and while you may have experienced undue noise during this visit, we'd love to set you up with a quieter space in your returning ones. With many room styles and sites across our facility, we'd love to help you discover the perfect one for you! Thanks again for your time and review; we look forward to seeing more of you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Treated very well as Diamond, thanks for the upgrade! Your staff is the best, made my whole family just have a great time in our 4 nights there, the location is good but your staff is great! We had a blast attending the morning activities for families/kids as well as the large pool and even the ping pong tables.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Many thanks for being a loyal Hilton guest and for taking the time to share such great feedback with us. It's a pleasure to share our waterfront oasis with you and your family, and I'm glad to hear that you were able to enjoy so many of the activities we offer during the days. Hopefully you were able to participate in our s'mores and dive-in movie nights, too! We look forward to sharing these and many other offerings with you, and we hope that you'll reach out the next time you visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed last weekend for a little "date weekend" away from the kids and we loved it. The pool area and access to the beach were one of the best parts of the stay. The rooms are a little dated, but the staff was so accommodating and helpful, it didn't really matter. We especially liked the Olives bar and the bar menu. You can sit outside in these retro style 70's chairs and sip your martini by the firepit. We were also surprised by the food in the restaurant. The breakfast buffet was a little pricey, but the quality of the food at dinner on Saturday night was some of the best we have had. I don't expect good food at a hotel restaurant, but this was a nice surprise. We are looking forward to going back soon...

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the water and get the firewood for your own private firepit on the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to share your visit with us. Al fresco dining at the Olive Lounge is truly a one of a kind experience that can't be beat. What's not to love about waterfront views and fire pit martinis on a beautiful San Diego evening? With our revolving menus, we hope that you'll return time and time again to savor the flavors and views of this special oasis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband surprised me with a trip to San Diego for my birthday and we stayed at several properties but this is the first stop. The property was beautiful and clean. The food was fantastic..
The spa services were pricey but nice.. We stayed in the Water view Villa.. Gorgeous and spacious.. Loved it, loved it, loved it..

Room Tip: The Villas are spacious and beautifully decorated..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Happy belated birthday, Brenda! We're so glad to have been part of this special occasion, and we're hugely appreciative that you took the time to share your stay with us. Our waterfront property is truly unique, and I'm happy to hear that our services exceeded the mark and made for a memorable experience. We'd love to share future memories with you and your husband, and we hope that you'll reach out again, should you return to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#21 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#63 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.