We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific sevice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #119 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Oracle, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrific sevice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The service people were very friendly and attentive. The beds were wonderful. Good location near many San Diego attractions. Family friendly place with alot of activities for children and adults. The only disappointment was not being able to use the steam room in the spa area in the evening. The gym was open but not the locker rooms (where the steam room was located). The restaurants were a little pricey but good food. Try the bar at happy hour for food that isn't too pricey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the opportunity to share your experience with us. I'm glad to hear that our location and services lent themselves to an exceptional stay in the area. That said, I apologize for any inconvenience caused by our steam room being temporarily closed, and we look forward to sharing it with you when you return to the area. Thanks again for your time and review; we hope to see more of you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    558
    369
    190
    102
See reviews for
705
455
58
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Parking for $33 per night was ridiculous on top of the "resort fee" of $25 per night that included nothing.
The location was okay. We didn't use the pool or eat at the resort.

I would upgrade to a room that has a fire pit. We didn't have one, but would have used it and enjoyed having one.

Beds were comfortable. The rooms are a bit dated. I felt like I was at the resort in Dirty Dancing. Nostalgia...:) It was a cool place but the parking fee was out of control.

This is the first "resort" I have ever stayed at inside the USA. I guess it doesn't compare to other international resorts.
I would not stay here again. We really didn't spend much time here at all. Showered and slept here, that's about it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the opportunity to share your experience with us. I apologize for the unexpected fees incurred during your visit; it's our hope that all guests are able to take advantage of the many amenities that are afforded by our resort fee, and I can appreciate your frustrations if you spent little time on our property. We hope that you'll consider reaching out to us again in your return visits to the region. Guest feedback like your enables us to improve and grow, and we'd love to share our continued evolution with you. Thanks again for your time and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Beautiful hotel, however, received poor customer service from the front desk. We were not given any requests, and told because they were requests, we would not be guaranteed the accommodations. Unfortunately, we had a handicapped guest, and the front desk missed this, and we were given an upstairs room which resulted in us having to depart early, due to the inconvenience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the opportunity to share your experience with us, Christene. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and that their beauty was a highlight of your stay. That said, I apologize for any frustrations you might have experienced as a result of your specific accommodations. I'd like to assure you that we have many room types available, including our beautiful garden view styles that promote ease of access for all guests. I'd love the opportunity to be able to showcase these spaces for you, and I hope that you'll reach out again in your returning visits to experience the true beauty of our renown resort. Many thanks again, and we hope to see more of you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton San Diego Resort for three nights as part of a touring holiday and had a fantastic time - the hotel is well located for access to the city or to Sea World and the coast, is directly on a lagoon offering watersports and swimming areas and has a relaxed feel to it that was perfect.

The food, service and staff attitude was superb (probably the smiliest staff I have ever come across) and they have an interesting and welcome influence on wines and food from their Austrian head chef. The restaurant menu was extensive and the food excellent, with a good bar menu also available and pool-side service from a further facility - in every respect a pleasure.

We thought the bathroom slightly dated, but the room was well appointed and cleaned. The spa and gym were very good, although the temptation of the main outdoor pool was too great to warrant much use. The ability to walk out onto the lagoon promenade was also a welcome addition, providing a variety to the activities.

We were there as a family, although both children are over 20, and all loved it - the staff attitude and food being the clincher. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the opportunity to share such great feedback with us. I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our resort and the many amenities afforded by our beachside location. We're hugely proud of our facilities, as well as our friendly and knowledgeable team, and it was a pleasure to host you. Thanks again for your time; we hope to see more of you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Third stay at Hilton resort. I will return. Great location for 4th of July fireworks viewing. Clean, well decorated rooms. Great for families. Plenty of swimming opportunities at pool or bay. I would have given them a five star rating except for room readiness delay. It took three hours and two phone calls to main desk to get the family's second room.
Still had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Water view from most rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the impressive, nightly firework displays. I apologize for the atypical delay in getting your room prepared during this busy holiday weekend, and we look forward to the chance of hosting you again. Please reach out the next time you're in the area; we'd love to share more of our resort with you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Every time we came , we got the nicest room on the property . We watched the sea world fireworks all cuddled together on our patio day bed. Unforgettable precious moment with my family. Staff is extremely friendly. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: Bay front room ground level are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thanks for being a loyal guest and for taking the opportunity to share your experience with us, Paul. I'm thrilled to hear that you continue to enjoy your stays, and we look forward to sharing more of our oasis with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer Glen, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed for three days at this beautiful resort. Everything was just perfect for our stay. The room was very nice we had a great view. We got to enjoy the Seaworld fireworks every night from our balcony. Service at the pool, restaurant, bar and front desk was excellent. I hope to come back for another visit. I would recommend this wonderful resort to all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the opportunity to share your experience with us, Jennifer. I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our unparalleled views and nightly firework displays, and I will certainly pass your praises along to all our staff. We hope that you'll reach out the next time you visit the area; there's much more of our region and resort to share with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#23 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#64 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.