We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TC rocks!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #109 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“TC rocks!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Drove to San Diego for a quick family trip. Hoped to visit Seaworld but it started to rain. Stopped at the hotel, no reservation, and met an angel....TC. She was more than helpful. She was a beacon of happiness on a cold afternoon. Kids hungry and hubby not wanting to break the bank, she took care of us! My 3year old was even given a Shamu animal while waiting to arrange the room. I have not experienced fabulous customer service like this in years. This kindness and professionalism is so pleasantly unexpected but exactly what is needed these days.
We had a great time in San Diego. Staying at this Hilton made it better, meeting TC made it the best yet! We visit a lot and will now make this our home away from home? Thank you TC!!!

Room Tip: Ask to see a map of the property. It's quite large. Several room types (in tower, bay view, some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate our resort. I am happy that you were met with such excellent customer service. TC is one of our seasoned veterans, and she genuinely enjoys meeting new people every day. I will be sure to pass along your wonderful comments.

Thank you,
Vera Johnson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    528
    351
    181
    91
See reviews for
674
432
55
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Rather a large place ,ask for a room facing the water.
Generous sized rooms- we did have an upgrade .. breakfast was good. loved the fire and the fire pit in the pool side .
they also had the boats to hire -though we did not use this facility

Only negatives being- parking fee for the car was less than acceptable and hotel is some distance to down town

Room Tip: ask for water facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for posting your review of your recent stay! I am glad that you enjoyed your visit to our resort. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the area, that you allow us another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
Vera Johnson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here for a night in December and found the hotel's services, amenities, bed, and large room size to be better than most Hiltons. The location is the best feature as it is right on the bay where there are miles of walking/biking trails just outside the door.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback as guest feedback is incredibly important to us. I'm happy to hear that you had a great experience while staying at our resort, and hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.

Sincerely,
Vera Johnson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed at hotel for a training class and my overall experience was a great one. From the front desk staff to the restaurant folks, and the two nice young women (Auriana Fernandez and Marissa Rivas) who worked in the store, made my stay one to remember. Everyone was nice and professional, which made me want to come back for more. Met Amanda Briggs (front office manager) on my check out day, and share my great experiences with her and she was also a great person to finish off my stay as I checked out. Thanks again Hilton! I will return with my family this next summer! Gil Garcia, Orange County

Room Tip: Bayfront room was the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thanks for posting a review of your recent visit. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us continue to improve. We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Vera Johnson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Centro, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel itself and the amenities were very nice. The customer service was excellent, however no one mentioned that there would be a $32.00 charge for parking! I couldn't believe it. Nothing was mentioned about this during check-in...we got a bill slid under our door the next morning. Unbelievable! AND, the parking was just a regular parking lot....not underground or covered....just a regular hotel lot!
I already knew that wifi would not be free....and there was no free breakfast....but parking???? Give me a break! I won't stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing West for a great ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for posting your feedback. Our guests' comments and suggestions are very important to us and will help us improve upon our services. While it sounds like you enjoyed our resort and amenities, I apologize for your frustration with our parking fee or that you felt you weren't properly informed. It is our goal to be transparent in everything we do, and I apologize if this was not your impression. Our parking fee is listed on our websites as well as on the email confirmation with your reservation information, but will instruct our front desk staff to make mention of it upon guest check-in. Again, thank you for your feedback. It is our hope that you allow us another opportunity to provide you with excellent guest service.

Sincerely,
Vera Johnson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park,KS
Top Contributor
492 reviews 492 reviews
267 hotel reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hotel sits right on the bay, close to Sea World. You can rent different types of boats, or a bike and cruise around toe bay. The check-in was flawless, every question I had the gal answered. Got a great room that looks out at the bay. Room is well appointed, clean, quiet, and does not smell.

Be careful to put any value in posts on Tripadvisor where the person only has a couple of entries.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and we thank you for your feedback as your opinion matters. Our guest's comments and suggestions are important to us and we hope that you choose to share them with your friends and loved ones. If you are ever in our area, we hope we get the opportunity to provide you with another excellent experience.

Thank you,
Vera Johnson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here for a conference, nice location on the beach, the pool area is lovely. The restaurant was good. If you do not have a car, it is a challenging place to stay at as they are not close to anything and eating in the restaurant three times a day can get very pricey. I heard that the parking was outrageous (32 dollars a day) and I still get so very angry with places charging for internet and that always sours my view of them. (I find it shocking that internet is free in places like Mc Donald's, the airports, and low end motels, but what are considered to be high end hotels charge out of this world prices, to me that is horrible service and it is something that needs to change.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your recent experience. While it sounds like you enjoyed our facilities, I apologize for some of your frustrations. We currently offer complimentary wireless internet in the public of our hotel such as our lobby and foyer area, and are currently looking to install them in all guest rooms. We thank you for bringing this to our attention and for your patience as we continue to improve in this area. In regards to our parking, while we feel we are competitive with other resorts around the bay, we understand that this additional cost can be frustrating. It is our hope that the complimentary vouchers presented to guests upon checkin will help offset the cost of parking.

Again, thank you for posting your review. Excellent guest service is the cornerstone of our brand promise and reviews like yours will ensure continued improvement.

Sincerely,
Vera Johnson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#22 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#64 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.