We booked a one night stay after leaving a conference week at a lovely Hilton in downtown San Diego in the Gaslamp District. We were thinking a day near the beach and pool would be lovely. We were wrong. This place stinks!! Literally, the rooms and hallways smelled of trash and mold. The doors to our building were propped open with old face cloths and trash and old food littered the stairs and halls. The ventilation is antiquated and the rooms could not be adequately air conditioned to remove the humidity. Worst of all was the strong musty smell on our second story room. We set the A/C
to cool and hopefully remove the dampness and set out for dinner Upon our return the room was not improved and the smell was worse than before. My husband went to the front desk for help but he was told they did not have a room for us. The clerks were rather rude to him and not at all skilled in customer service. When he insisted we needed to move or be refunded, they found a room. The bell hop came to help us move and he was all excited, saying that we should be "stoked" because we scored a choice room near the beach. This room was only slightly better, the odor was diminished but still musty. I went a bought a candle in the gift shop to help us make it through the night with the bad smell, but lay awake thinking the room would catch on fire. As far as this being a prime room, it was far from it. We went to unpack and found that a key lighting fixture did not work. Another call to the desk, a visit from maintenence. The poor fellow could not identify the problem but indicated that there was an electrical problem in the breaker and he couldn't find the problem. He offerrred to bring us a floor lamp and an extension cord. OK we just did without that corner of the room being lit.
In addition to the room problems the dining room waas very poor. The food was hyped to be a gourmet experience but it was far from it. All around us people were complaining about the sow service and lack of attention. Several people left, others complained to the wait staff. We were seated for long periods of time when our waiter went missing. Our food was average but extremely small portions and quite overpriced. We are used to Hilton quality and service and don't mind paying higher prices for a great setting and a fabulous meal. This was not great, it was barely fair.
The next day at the pool, we were chatting with some other folkds. It turned out they were "friends"tender and were quite intoxicated while enjoying the hot tub. They admitted they were not guests but lived in the area and were there to enjoy the amenities.
If you are looking for a relaxing pleasant environment, this is not the place.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review. We’re very sorry you experienced an undesirable stay and level of customer service with us. The problems you mentioned with our amenities staff and cleanliness of common areas have been addressed. We appreciate you alerting us to these issues and we hope you will give us a second chance if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.