We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“felt like a king...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 269 hotels in San Diego
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“felt like a king...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Ramzi was great. He offered information and was very friendly in pointing out where amenities were located. overall great, relaxing expereince.

The hotel was s great relief after a day of presentations. The food was also great in the Acqua restaurant. The staff there was welcoming and professional.

Fr. Bryan Silva

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
I appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel. It is great to hear that you had an overall nice stay with us and that we provided you with exceptional customer service. I will make sure to pass along your kind words to Ramzi, one of our seasoned Hilton veterans. We hope your travels bring you back to our area and that consider us for your next stay in San Diego.

Sincerely,
Vera Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,637 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    594
    484
    315
    162
    82
See reviews for
616
389
52
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We booked a one night stay after leaving a conference week at a lovely Hilton in downtown San Diego in the Gaslamp District. We were thinking a day near the beach and pool would be lovely. We were wrong. This place stinks!! Literally, the rooms and hallways smelled of trash and mold. The doors to our building were propped open with old face cloths and trash and old food littered the stairs and halls. The ventilation is antiquated and the rooms could not be adequately air conditioned to remove the humidity. Worst of all was the strong musty smell on our second story room. We set the A/C
to cool and hopefully remove the dampness and set out for dinner Upon our return the room was not improved and the smell was worse than before. My husband went to the front desk for help but he was told they did not have a room for us. The clerks were rather rude to him and not at all skilled in customer service. When he insisted we needed to move or be refunded, they found a room. The bell hop came to help us move and he was all excited, saying that we should be "stoked" because we scored a choice room near the beach. This room was only slightly better, the odor was diminished but still musty. I went a bought a candle in the gift shop to help us make it through the night with the bad smell, but lay awake thinking the room would catch on fire. As far as this being a prime room, it was far from it. We went to unpack and found that a key lighting fixture did not work. Another call to the desk, a visit from maintenence. The poor fellow could not identify the problem but indicated that there was an electrical problem in the breaker and he couldn't find the problem. He offerrred to bring us a floor lamp and an extension cord. OK we just did without that corner of the room being lit.
In addition to the room problems the dining room waas very poor. The food was hyped to be a gourmet experience but it was far from it. All around us people were complaining about the sow service and lack of attention. Several people left, others complained to the wait staff. We were seated for long periods of time when our waiter went missing. Our food was average but extremely small portions and quite overpriced. We are used to Hilton quality and service and don't mind paying higher prices for a great setting and a fabulous meal. This was not great, it was barely fair.
The next day at the pool, we were chatting with some other folkds. It turned out they were "friends"tender and were quite intoxicated while enjoying the hot tub. They admitted they were not guests but lived in the area and were there to enjoy the amenities.
If you are looking for a relaxing pleasant environment, this is not the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review. We’re very sorry you experienced an undesirable stay and level of customer service with us. The problems you mentioned with our amenities staff and cleanliness of common areas have been addressed. We appreciate you alerting us to these issues and we hope you will give us a second chance if you return to the area.

Sincerely,
Vera Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Firstly, for such a beautiful place you think the staff would be happy to be there. So far on my trip this is the worst regarding service. The front desk were bordering on rude, they made ever effort not be be helpful, asking them a question was a bother met with a puff and even a roll of the eyes on one occasion. Basically, disappointed sums this up. Oh and the wifi is only available in "common areas" ie limited and not in your room.
The only good thing was the restaurant.... Amazing food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We appreciate your review of your recent stay with us and sincerely apologize we did not meet your expectations. I have addressed these issues you've outlined with our staff to ensure this does not happen again. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. Thank you once again for your comments. My hope is that you allow us the opportunity to provide you a different experience the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Vera Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calafor
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I'm 3 days into a 4 day stay here and I'm very disappointed with this hotel. Tried to get help several times the desk girls were very rude. The concierge starts at 10 and finished before 5. Haven't seen her yet and it's been 3 days. No wifi in rooms unless you want to sit out in the cold foyer at the front. Car parking was more expensive than the car rental! Hotel isn't close yo anything except sea world! Two words: don't bother!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review of your stay with us. We are very sorry we were not able to provide a satisfactory experience while you were here. I have addressed the issues you had with our front desk team to ensure that providing a great experience for our valued guests remain our number one priority. We greatly appreciate your feedback and will be able to use it to improve our guest experience. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Vera Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

After staying in a 3-star hotel for a 3-day vacation, we checked in to Hilton for the work event. I was excited to get here, since this hotel is rated as 4-star, and is located right on the beach. Long story short, we were quite disappointed.

Sure, the rooms themselves were nice, the beds comfortable, the TV with digital cable has a good assortment of channels, in addition to the pay per view ones. The AC is quiet The towels are nice and thick, the bed linens are luxurious, and the furniture looks nice. The decorations in the rooms are tasteful. Our room had a balcony, from which we could see the beach. But... the bed uses flat, not fitted sheets, which get untucked with the blanket (remember that Seinfeld episode?). The armchair was uncomfortable, with the seat completely horizontal and the back reclined backwards, and no foot stool to rest your feet on, so when you sit on it, you slide forward.The hallways are plain and old, and look outdated. Our low-rise building had no elevator. I believe there is also a tower, which will likely have the elevators.

The part of Mission Bay that the hotel fronts is completely still, and carries little of the allure of the ocean front, While there are nice walking paths along the shore, this is not the place to enjoy the surf.

Now to the things that really get me - the room has no wireless internet, and while there is a wired connection in the room (not good for my tablet, cell phone, or computer without an RJ45 port), it costs $15 per day to use. Breakfast, should you choose to accept it, is nearly $20 per person. A non-optional expense, if you come with a car, as I did, is parking, which is a whopping $32 per night. Unlike hotels in busy urban areas, which have to share public parking, this hotel has abundant parking on property, so it is just a way to separate guests from their money. I feel they have to disclose this during the booking time.

The staff were mostly helpful. But this does not take away from the feeling of being taken advantage of by the hotel. If the price is right, I might stay here again, but for over $200 a night, I think I can find a better beachfront hotel.

I would not really recommend it.

Room Tip: 2-storey buildings have no elevators, so avoid 2nd floor if have a lot of luggage (or prepare to han...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review. While it seems that you liked our guest rooms, we’re very sorry you experienced an undesirable stay with us. The problems you mentioned with our amenities are being addressed. We are currently in the process of installing wireless internet in all the guest rooms. In regards to our parking fee, while we feel we are in line with the parking fees of other resorts around the bay, we understand how the additional cost can be frustrating for some. It is our hope that the complimentary vouchers we provide every guest upon check-in will help alleviate some of the cost associated with parking. We appreciate you alerting us to these issues and we hope you will give us a second chance if you return to the area.

Sincerely,
Vera Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

DO NOT HESITATE to stay here. This place and the folks working there were perfect. We arrived very late on Thursday evening and from the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty.
the room view with a view was spacious, well appointed and very comfortable. The Acqua Cafe served us three great breakfasts that started each day we stayed there.

The Hilton San Diego Resort is celebrating their 50th anniversary, yet you wouldn't know that. It is well appointed and up-to-date.


All in all, we will stay there again, hopefully real soon.

Room Tip: Mission Bay View room, breakfast at Acqua, enjoy the spa/pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful three day getaway with us. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.

Sincerely,
Vera Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel last week for a quick "in and out" meeting. I always try to find a nice item to take back for the kids....I must say I was soooo incredibly impressed with the staff of the hotel gift shop. The staff was working very hard to complete an inventory once the shop had closed......but Lorena welcomed me in to the shop, helped me find items to take back, all with the greatest smile! Awesome. As a frequent traveler, service means everything to me. Thank you Lorena and the store staff!!!
Al........Philadelphia

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for posting your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I am happy that our Market Place team was able to provide you with quality service. I hope we were able to find you something special to take back to your little ones! Please come back and visit us again soon.

Thank you,
Vera Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#21 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#63 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.