We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome - stay for a drink or getaway and relax!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #113 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Rancho San Diego, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome - stay for a drink or getaway and relax!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a beautiful resort - the rooms are updated and beautiful. Located right on Mission Bay - with such beautiful sunsets, no need to go anywhere else. The pool area and grounds are lovely and relaxing. Aqua (the new restaurant) has a great wine selection and the food is awesome. Truly the service is excellent, I'll come back over and over again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the water! ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback. I am thrilled to read to read that you had such a wonderful experience. We hope you consider coming back to our resort on your next travels to San Diego.

Thank you,
Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    548
    362
    186
    97
See reviews for
693
446
57
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed at the Hilton for a Saturday-Sunday-Monday evening getaway. Our room was large and recently renovated with a very soft and cozy bedding. Was also super quiet. We also appreciated that there was a refrigerator in room to keep snacks and beverages cold and fresh.

The pool area and grounds are very nice and we enjoyed the ping pong table and giant checker board. Location is great for long walks however, the location is a little too far out of the way to depend on cabs for transportation. i.e. $50 roundtrip to downtown or $24 roundtrip to Old Town to catch public transportation. We did not rent a car, so we did save the $22/night on parking charges, however, we "packed" for the day so we did not spend $100 just to get places each day.

Room Tip: Ask for Bay View Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It sounds like you had a nice, relaxing vacation and that you enjoyed your room and the pool. We hope you consider us again for your next mini getaway.

Thank you,
Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hilton Resort and spa in San Diego is in a beautiful location and has a fabulous pool,our kids loved it. Hotel experience spoiled somewhat by the extortionate parking charges - $32 a day! and the fact there is no free Wi-Fi in the rooms. Come on, even the Holiday Inn does better than that! There is free wi-fi in the lobby but only for one day (not much good if you are staying longer!). Staff were friendly and helpful. We had room service once - the day we arrived after travelling for 24 hrs, but would not do it again as it was not great, and yes, you guessed it, it was expensive! Beds were very comfortable and we did sleep well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I will distribute your concerns to the appropriate department. We hope that you come back and visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our final place to stay on a trip down the California coast and it was a great end to a great trip. We loved the location right around the corner from Sea World. The hotel has a shuttle to take you over and bring you back which is so much more convienent than trying to find parking. The hotel’s own parking was a little pricey, but we did some comparison shopping before we booked and everyone else was charging about the same. We were surprised how expensive parking is in San Diego, but being from the Bay area we’re used to it.

We are Hilton Honors members and therefore received a free breakfast. I think you have to pay if you’re not a member. The items on the buffet were all very good and fresh. The restaurant was packed so we wound-up sitting in the bar which doesn’t have a view of the water. But when we returned for dinner we were treated to a table on the patio with a nice view and a fire pit for warmth. Dinner was very good and our waitress was very chipper. Her menu recommendations were all delicious. She also sent us to a jazz supper club downtown called Anthology that was great for our second night.

Nice rooms, nice pool, nice people. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to enjoy the views of Mission Bay for dinner. It hasnt gotten too chilly in San Diego yet but those firepits sure are wonderful! We hope that you come back and visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We booked this Hotel through Expedia after a very exhasting search. I did see some conflicting reviews but it looked like the best choice for us. We decided to go to San Diego for our 40 th Wedding anniversary. We booked a room in the tower and I sent an e-mail to the hotel about our upcoming event. I got a very nice reply from a wonderful lady named Kristanna, who offered to upgrade to a Villa Room(much nicer) and send us up some complemantary Champaigne and strawberries. When we arrived they enen upgraded us to Bay side view Villa!! I can't say enough nice things about the staff(esp Kristanna who turned out to be a Concierge) who did everything in the power to make our stay special. The grounds were great and the pool area spectacular. The only downer was the parking fee( which everyone has mentioned and which I don't understand) The waitress staff at the resturant were very friendly and everyone you saw greeted you with a smile. Thanks for making our visit memorable and if given a choice I would re-visit in a heartbeat. San Diego is sure a great place to visit.

Room Tip: Try and stay in a Villa Room if possible, the Bay side is the Best. Don't be afraid to inquire a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for providing us with your feedback and happy 40th Anniversary to you!
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to enjoy our waterfront room. We hope that you come back and visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, IN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a few days after a pretty rough month. I contacted the hotel to see if a few things could be arranged for us, and Kristana came through in the biggest of ways! She was great to deal with, and got everything we wanted done to perfection. I wish we would have had more time to stay at this hotel, but we would definitely stay here again when we are in San Diego!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that Kristana was able to help you will all your requests! We hope that you come back and visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I am staying here for a fitness convention and this morning as I was walking back to my room exhausted after a 2 hour workout I heard a women say, "Good morning mam" I looked over and out of a random room the cleaning lady made a point to say good morning with a HUGE SMILE. I then walked down the hall into my room to find THE CLEANEST HOTEL ROOM I have ever been in. All my clothes were folded, all my hair-tyes, make-up, sweaty clothes in the bathroom were cleaned and organized, my food was put away I could tell she really took the time to clean this room - it was unbelievable! I then walked backed down the hall to thank her and when I did I swear she was about to cry she was so grateful that I appreciated her work she said, "Im so happy I made you happy and you feel comfortable and can relax." This women is a GEM and really takes pride in her job, she should be a role model to everyone no matter what position they work.
THANK YOU YENY from the Hilton San Diego cleaning staff you made my day!!
Jenny Schatzle (from Santa Barbara)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that Yeny's small gesture made your day. In return, your gesture of thanking her for the cleanliness of your room most certianly did the same for her. Our housekeeping team works so hard and Yeny will now recieve a token of appreciation for your review! We hope that you come back and visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#23 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#63 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.