We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff went the extra mile when I left clothes behind.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #113 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The staff went the extra mile when I left clothes behind.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Thanks to Billy in Security! I stayed at the hotel for a conference and accidentally left a jacket behind when I checked out. I didn't notice till I was on my plane somewhere over Kansas. I called the hotel, they put me in touch with Billy and he shipped my jacket overnight. Just like that. Great service!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for posting your feedback. I'm happy to hear that Billy was able to retrieve and overnight your jacket back to you. It sounds like everything turned out well. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Thank you,
Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    549
    362
    187
    97
See reviews for
693
448
57
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

staying in san diego on the last leg of our honeymoon, we stayed in th hilton, the setting was beautiful, lovely room looking onto the bay, no wifi in rrom so had to goto the lobby to use it, food was lovely happy hour between 4 and 6 was great as the prices were really expensive, only complaint i have is one night when me and my husband were sitting in the jacuzzi with about 5 other people the security staff came over and asked me and my husband if we were staying in the hotel and made us provide our room key for proof, we were the only people asked which i thought was very ignorant, we were isolated as we were the yungest inthe pool being 24 and 26 , no one else was asked to proove they were staying at the hotel, i was very angry and embaressed, and spoiled this night of my honeymoon, on a whole lovely hotel, but did not know why we were picked on this night,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for posting your review. Your review will assist us in improving our quality of service for all guests. While I am happy to hear that you enjoyed many parts about your stay, I apologize for your experience in our whirlpool. Being located right on the bay and public boardwalk, we sometimes have non-guest attempt to utilize our pool area, which is reserved for hotel guest only. This results in us performing random checks for hotel keys in our pool area. I apologize if this was an inconvenience for you and your husband, and hope that you come back again soon and allow us to give you a better experience.

Thank you,
Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We LOVE the SD HiltonResort and Spa! We found it by accident last summer and have visited there six times since. It's our favorite local getaway. They are extremely child friendly, especially in the summer with the dive in movies, s'mores nights, kids club, and more. Our kids love going there. The staff there is always super friendly and helpful. A special thank you to NIKKA who checked us in on one of visits and went above and beyond to help us out and make sure our stay was great. Our only serious complaint is the price of parking, especially since it recently went up. The pools are awesome, the food is good, and having the beach right there adds more fun. We are going back in a couple of weeks. And we will continue to stay there for a long time to come!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for posting your review! I am happy to read that you enjoyed your vacation at our resort. We know that you have many hotels to choose from, and we thank you for your loyalty and continued business. We are happy to provide complimentary resort activities such hosted s'mores bond fires on the bay, family friendly dive-in movies and a host of pool activities to our valued guests. Again, thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to serving you again.

Thank you,
Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel has so much to offer for family vacations. We stayed there this past August and it was great. There are daily activities at the pool, movies at night by the pool and awesome s'mores making on the beach!
There are also tennis courts to rent, and our kids really enjoyed it.
It is located right on the boardwalk where we were able to rent bikes for our whole family (kids ranged from 10-5 years old). As well as paddle boats. There are also playgrounds a short walk on the boardwalk.
The location of the hotel was great for all San Diego area attractions.
The rooms were nice sizes, and clean.
The pool was on the small side for such a great resort, but it was perfect for our 5 day trip.
The only con is that the rooms don't have wifi. There is only wifi in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. Your review of our hotel will assist us in making improvements for future guests. Thanks to reviews like yours, our hotel is diligently working on a project to provide wireless internet in all of our guestrooms. A project we anticipate on completing in the next few months. Please come back and visit us again soon to experience all of the improvements we're making to the resort.

Thank you,
Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, WA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We arrived late Friday night after a very long, tiring day! Nicky, the Bellman, was welcoming and so energetic. He has a "can do" attitude, answered all of our questions and went above and beyond to help us. Throughout our days on the property, he was friendly and helpful - as were every employee we encountered at the pool, our room and everywhere in between. Thank you Nicky for setting the tone for a great trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am glad that we were able to provide you with exceptional service and that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Thanks!
Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We stay for 4 nights and it was perfect.
The team is very nice, we loved the swimming pool and the ability to go to the beach, the main problem that you have to eat in the hotel restaurant or driving for 10 min. To find restaurant
I will be back for sure....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for posting your feedback. While I'm glad that you had an overall good stay, I apologize if you were inconvenienced by our restaurant options. We're fortunately centrally located to all of San Diego's popular dining options and I'm happy you were able to take advantage of our local cuisine. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Thank you,
Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

First off, I should say that I am from San Diego and moved away a few years ago. When I was offered the chance to go back for a week to attend a conference, I jumped at the chance. Upon arrival, I had problems. The paperwork I had faxed over to secure my room was lost and dispite having a fax confirmation, since the form was nowhere to be found, I was told I could not check in unless I paid for it on my own. After some back and forth with the manager, we figured out a way to work it out so I could stay at the hotel. So I got to stay and could have parked my car there for $32 per night but have family close to the hotel so that cost was avoided.

I was given an ADA room which was not really that bad. I really liked the oversized shower and it was not a big deal to have my clothes hangers really low to the ground.

Night 1, sleep was interrupted by the smoke alarm in my room going off at 2am. Loud noice and flashing lights, freaked me out a little but turns out it was just a faulty alarm in my room. In fact, it was so old that a replacement was not able to be found so I stayed the remaining 5 nights in my room with no smoke alarm. Really glad there was no fire. I would have expected that I be moved to a different room but that was not addressed, just inconvenient workers in my room trying to fix the alarm unsuccessfully.

The rest of my stay was uneventful - I really liked the pool area and even made s'mores over a fire pit by the pool - that was cool. All staff was extremely friendly and although it was a rough start, all ended well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel. It is great to hear that you had an overall nice stay with us but I apologize for the issues that you experienced initially. Exceptional guest service is the cornerstone of our brand promise, and I apologize if your check-in was anything but smooth. I'd also like to apologize for the issues in your room. We will work with our maintenance team to ensure this does not happen again. Your comfort and safety is my number one concern so I appreciate you bringing this to my attention. I do hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our location again. Thank you.

Vera Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#23 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#63 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.