We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable room at a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Pensione

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Pensione to your Saves list
La Pensione
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   606 W. Date St., San Diego, CA 92101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Dallas, TX USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable room at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2006

Having spent many vacations in San Diego, my husband and I chose La Pensione Hotel for this year's trip to the San Diego Pride Weekend. We had never stayed in this part of the city and chose this hotel because of its popular reviews combined with the reasonable price. Its not the Ritz or Westin, but offers a clean comfotable room and a friendly staff in a cozy setting. The hotel is located in Little Italy, where you will find a number of restaurants, pizzerias, bars, coffee houses and popular nightlife. It is within easy walking distance to all other popular downtown attractions...the waterfront, Gaslamp Quarter and Horton Plaza. Located just a few blocks from the I-5 freeway, it is also easily accessible by car to all other areas of San Diego.
The rooms are small with only one queen bed and feature a contemporary decor with granite vanity and updated furnishings.
The only negative is the lack of air conditioning. The room features a ceiling fan, a desktop fan and two windows for ventilation. On most days this would be sufficient given San Diego's normally perfect year-round weather. Unfortunately, on the first day of our stay, the city was experiencing abnormally high temps and high humidity. In spite of this, we slept comfortably warm on the first night. The second night, the temps had cooled down to being more comfortable. Our room was on the top floor (4th) and I would suggest requesting a room on the 3rd or 4th floors for the best ventilation.
The hotel's website offers a discount by phoning the hotel directly....in doing so, we saved $10 off the published web rate.
Overall this was an above average experience for us and we plan to stay at La Pensione on our next trip to San Diego.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — No air conditioning
  • Tips/Secrets — Check the hotel website for internet rate.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    151
    61
    24
    21
See reviews for
18
159
36
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2006

This is a great little hotel, with prices that beat nearly everything in the area. Unfortunately, staying in San Diego in the summer in a hotel with no air conditioning is not a good idea. We had stayed here once before, in March, and loved the decor, location, and price. But in July the heat in the small rooms proved to be nearly unbearable, even with fans at full blast. I would recommend staying there any other time of the year though - it is within walking distance to the great places to eat in the Gas Lamp, and we even walked all the way to the ball park with no problem. It is also near a trolley station which easily takes you to anywhere you want to go in San Diego.(The Princess Pub across the street from La Pensione has some of the best fish tacos in all of San Diego - and it is a British Pub!) Overall, a great deal, just not in the heat of summer.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2006

This hotel was awesome!! My boyfriend and I stayed here for our anniversary trip to SD and we were very pleased with the service and room we got! The DOWNSIDE of the hotel is the PARKING.. when I read the reviews of the hotel and saw parking was an issue, I thought people were overexaggerating..but it's TRUE! It's so tiny my civic could barely fit in one of the stalls. If you're not a good parker and/or if you have a mid-size or larger car don't park in the structure.. instead park in the spaces in front of the hotel. The ROOMS- are quite small, if you are used to sleeping in a big spacious room-don't stay here... but it was perfect for us~

Other than that the place was PERFECT. The location was perfect too! Right near everything.. gaslamp, coronado, downtown, seaworld, etc. The restaurant below was a little pricey but it was sooo delicious! The pub across the street was great, (however they close early-like 12:30-1:00am) met some friendly people there. One good tip is to call before you reserve a room say online. They give you good discounts on the phone, probably better than the rate you were given online.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2006

My friend and I stayed here for July 4th. I found this hotel based on the reviews of others on tripadvisor. I booked at last minute and was surprised that they had rooms available. The location of this hotel is just perfect! We were a block from the trolleys, a few miles from the zoo and and a short walk from the piers. The neighborhood is great! There is a Engish pub across the street that was a ton of fun, especially during the world cup games. I reserved a corner room based on reviews I had read, and had plenty of room for 2 people. We had a corner room facing the street, and the noise was not to bad, granted we didnt go to sleep till after 2am each night, so the bars and restaurants were closed by then. Having no AC was not to bad, staying there in July it was a little warm, but still very comfortable. The parking was interesting, just like other reviews, unless you have a small car, stay out of the parking garage. I loved the small cafe downstairs, I had breakfest there every morning. It is fair priced and the pastries are tasty. Also, they have a really cute dog named Penny that lives in the lobby. The management was very nice and helpful. I can't wait to come back to San Diego to stay here. This is one of the best boutique hotels I have ever stayed at. Great Job La Pensione!!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

My husband and I stayed here only on the recommendation of Trip Advisor reviews. It was well worth the $79.00 per night. The rooms were a little small, but CLEAN and comfortable. Request a corner room away from India street. It is a bit noisey. No air, we closed the windows and turned on both fans and we were fine. I guess in July and August it can get a bit warm in there. The garage is a hoot. If you need to rent a car, make sure it is the smallest that the rental car agent has, better yet would be a motorcycle. This is a very laid back,artsy, friendly atmosphere. Anyone can feel very comfortable here. Located in Little Italy means lots of yummie restaurants, and they sure were. A nice little wine stop with light fare is just down the block too. Easy walk to Gaslamp and Seaport Village. Close enough to drive to Coronado and LaJolla. LaJolla is well worth a day trip if you love the ocean and shopping. Sort of reminded me of Rodeo Drive with the ocean a few feet away. Although not the same stores the atmosphere is surely there. I would stay here again in a heart beat!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2006

What this place gives: Clean cozy room, mini-fridge, great location in little italy close to the gaslamp section, good price

What you need to take: Pillows (the ones provided are unusable), Shampoo

Tips for staying at La Pensione: Don't expect the night clerk to be helpful, don't try and find parking in the garage or on the street in front, take cash to visit the coffee shop as they do not accept anything else (but they do make great lattes), taxi's are a flat rate of $6 but the ride on a taxi bike is much more fun

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2006

The room was neat and perfectly clean. The bed was very comfortable. We requested & got a corner room which had a balcony facing the main street. There is no A/C but the room stayed nice & cool. We had very little noise from the street, not enough to bother us while we slept. There's a great pub across the street with good food, lots of italian restaurants (though pretty pricey) and a bakery a few doors down from the pub that served a great made to order & inexpensive breakfast. The staff was very nice & helpful. The trolley that can take you anywhere is 2 blocks away and there's a 7/11 half way there, perfect for stocking your mini-fridge. Gaslamp district is an easy trolley ride away & about a $6 taxi ride. Ask at the desk how to get to the Zoo on public transport, it's super easy. Same for Tijuana.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Pensione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pensione

Address: 606 W. Date St., San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Pensione 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most affordable and best-kept secrets in San Diego, La Pensione Hotel is a historic property located in San Diego’s Little Italy neighborhood. La Pensione Hotel offers 68 guestrooms, a relaxing courtyard area, free high-speed internet, limited underground parking spots, conference room and a workout facility. After a property refresh in summer of 2011, La Pensione now offers air conditioning in every room and a new class of guest rooms called the Argento Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Pensione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pensione San Diego
La Pensione Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pensione, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.