We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot on the middle of Little Italy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Pensione

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Pensione to your Saves list
La Pensione
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   606 W. Date St., San Diego, CA 92101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
chicago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great spot on the middle of Little Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Arrived in San Diego and checked in early in the morning the gentleman at the reception desk was very helpful. Impressed with the decor but size of the room was a bit on the small side. Lighting at mirror was a bit dim made it tough to shave. Beds were so comfortable. We had a room facing the south street on the highest floor so noise was not a problem.
The area of Little Italy is amazing, great bars and restaurants. Friday night is pretty happening up and down the strip I can see why many people at the hotel would complain about noise. Saturday morning's Farmers Market was great! Live music fresh produce lots to eat and drink. We were only there 3 nights and we enjoyed our stay. We rented a car at the receptionists suggestion and parked at the hotel. This hotel is an affordable hotel in a great area with friendly service and comfortable beds!
PERFECT FOR US

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for the review! Thanks for your feedback about the lighting. I'll look into brightening that up in the rooms. Sounds like you knew how to 'live it up' during your stay. Glad you had fun in Little Italy and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    148
    61
    24
    21
See reviews for
17
156
36
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I have reviewed this hotel before, it was better when I was alone and came back to the room late at night and just slept there. As I said before , the smallest rooms ($119) ) are small, very, very, small. This time around I had luggage and there were two of us, it was pretty hard to navigate, kinda like ok, you go that way, and I'll go this way. If you need to be near Little Italy ( which I did) this is smack dab in the heart of it, that's the only plus I can the ally see.
Trying to sleep late, or come back to nap? Forget it, the coffee shop makes sure that doesn't happen, about once every minute they bang the espresso grind holder Bam! Bam! Bam! And sometimes a fourth Bam! Just to be sure everyone in the hotel is awake. This is not a boutique hotel, this is a motel six. Location, smocation, it's not worth it.
The staff is ok, but just ok, nothing to write home ( or in Trip Advisor) about. The hotel dog (Penny) is friendlier then the staff. So go if you want cheap, go if you want Little Italy at your doorstep.

Room Tip: There is a large room with two beds for extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
First off - thanks so much for trying us out a second time and bringing a guest! We're aware of the intimate size of our standard rooms, and are actually pretty happy with them, as they are considered one of the best travel deals in downtown San Diego.

And, as you mentioned, we do have larger rooms available at a slightly higher cost, just as any other hotel would charge more for different room types. If you book with any online travel agency, such as Expedia or Priceline, you'll automatically be booked in these rooms. However, you can always call us and we're happy to upgrade you.

Sorry if the noise woke you up. Since we're right in the middle of Little Italy, one of the livelier of downtown neighborhoods, you'll wake up to city sounds for sure. Personally, I consider it part of the charm of staying in an urban setting, but I realize not everyone is okay with city noise. And, not to disrespect our colleagues at Motel Six, but we are far from their concept and I'm sure all of our other past guests will agree.

I'm sorry it didn't work out for you this time around. I hope you'll be able to make it back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I am giving this review three stars because I think it's just me. I stayed here on business - its NOT a good business hotel. The room is horribly tiny and you cannot connect wirelessly to the internet. I had to use an ethernet cable to get online. I havent used one of those in years. But that ties you to sitting at a too high desk, in a plastic, uncomfortable chair to work which is not adjustable to height - rediculous. The room has less than 3 feet from the desk to the bed thereby leaving not a single little area for me to do my morning excercise tape. My business partners room was a little better, but not much. Being female the lighting is HORRIBLE to put on make up. You will need to bring a good sized mirror and be by the window or keep going out your door in the daylight. My sink was in my room, not the bathroom. My partner's was actually in the bathroom but it was so tiny I could not have done my hair and make up. We booked the room because it was only one night and we were so close to our favorite restaurant in Little Italy. Next time we will book elsewhere and walk. The place is clean enough, the beds are comfortable, and the people are nice, but it's just not for me. One redeeming quality is that the windows open wide. Thank goodness or I would have felt very closed in. I am thankful I booked at an inexpensive rate with expedia and didnt pay the full rate - I would have been felt like I didnt get my money's worth.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hello - thank you so much for leaving us your feedback! Unfortunately, because you booked with Expedia is why you were given our standard room type (which is by far our smallest). If ever you do make it back to San Diego and Little Italy again, consider booking with us directly and we can offer you are larger rooms. I hate that feeling of being closed in, so I definitely understand where you are coming from.

Also - good news: We will begin offering COMPLIMENTARY Wifi in August 2014. We're excited for this, as we know that the ethernet cable doesn't allow you much room to move.

I appreciate your feedback on our lighting to do makeup. We will look into that.

Sorry it didn't work out this time around, but I do hope you're consider us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canggu, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

For some reason, probably due to it's name and the published photographs, I had very low expectations of this hotel. However, my expectations were exceeded greatly and I just loved it. Little Italy on your doorstep, convenient to the airport (although the proximity meant a little aircraft noise but not enough to disturb our sleeep), farmers' market each Saturday right downstairs, friendly front desk. San Diegans are outsoorsy and everyone's around walking their dogs, mixing it with the tourists on the way to the waterfront, etc. Great hotel and great city - we'll be back for both!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The hotel is in a convenient area, close to the airport (by car) and there are lots of restaurants around. The rooms are very nice and the decoration is chic. It was a bit odd that my room didn't have a closet but instead had an open area with some hangers, but I was only there for 1 day so that was ok. The major problem? NOISY NOISY NOISY! Maybe it was my room, which overlooked the interior courtyard, as opposed to the street, but even with a closed window, I had to use earplugs to take a nap during the day. It wasn't just noise from the courtyard, but also I could hear every movement in the hallway. With earplugs, which I happened to have, I was fine, but for someone who was in desperate need of a nap after a long flight, it was a bit miserable. Night was quieter. Otherwise, great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street if you think you will be resting in the afternoon (courtyard facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We ALWAYS stay here when we go to San Diego, which is often. The rooms are small, clean, cute, and comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful, and the location is right in the middle of Little Italy with its great espresso coffee shops, Italian grocers, and delicious restaurants. You can easily walk to the waterfront. The hotel price is good for a big city, there is no breakfast included but right next to the hotel is a great sidewalk café and coffeshop. They offer parking on a first come basis, but note that the slots are small and a large cars may have trouble maneuvering in the garage. On Saturdays there is often a Farmers Market that sets up on the street outside- a lot of fun !

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My friends and I stayed here from May 21-May 25. The hotel is close to great restaurants, the gaslamp district and the harbor. The hotel room was small but very clean. The staff were very friendly as well as the hotel's dog Penny. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Pensione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pensione

Address: 606 W. Date St., San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Pensione 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most affordable and best-kept secrets in San Diego, La Pensione Hotel is a historic property located in San Diego’s Little Italy neighborhood. La Pensione Hotel offers 68 guestrooms, a relaxing courtyard area, free high-speed internet, limited underground parking spots, conference room and a workout facility. After a property refresh in summer of 2011, La Pensione now offers air conditioning in every room and a new class of guest rooms called the Argento Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your La Pensione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pensione San Diego
La Pensione Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pensione, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.