We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple & Efficient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Pensione

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Pensione to your Saves list
La Pensione
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   606 W. Date St., San Diego, CA 92101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Simple & Efficient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My small family of 3 stayed overnite after a trip to the San Diego Zoo -about 10 min drive. The hotel is one of the smallest we have ever stayed in however, do not judge by this. The place is clean & very well thought out. Everything you need you get along w a fun mod design. The bed is comfy & the shower awesome. The location is central to little Italy & a plethora of restaurants to choose from. Everyone is friendly incl the hotel dog Penny. Did I mention we're paying $135/nt? Unreal! NOTE: if you have sensitive ears - you might think twice. It's a bit noisy due to location & walls are a bit thin. Otherwise no complaints. This is definitely a great value!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay with us as part of your Zoo adventure! We know our standard rooms are comfy, and are glad that our rates reflect such a great value. We're glad you liked our design and our layout. We're all about maximizing space and light! Being right in the middle of Little Italy, street noise is inevitable. Next time, if you'd like, you can request an interior room facing our courtyard. We hope to see you soon. Penny says hi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    151
    61
    24
    21
See reviews for
18
159
36
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at the La Pensione hotel in Little Italy for five nights and used it as our base to explore the San Diego area. We had a recently refurbished corner room which was ideal for what we needed. The room was a little small, but nothing we are not use to in Europe. Our only real complaint was the lack of working wifi in the room, however wifi was available in reception or the cafe downstairs.

The location is obviously ideal for Little Italy, but we also found all of the other main downtown attractions within walking distance (Gaslamp, harbor, Balboa Park etc.) and it was very easy to head to Old Town and locations a little further afield on the Trolley that stops just a few minutes away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
I appreciate your taking the time to leave us a review! Glad you were able to explore and see so much of San Diego during your stay. We know wi-fi is important to all of our guests, so we're currently working on solutions to make it speedy and readily available. Thanks for your patience and we hope you'll have a chance to visit us again in San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed here in July and thinking about going back around Xmas time and realized I didn't write a review for that July 2013 stay. I go to SD to visit my son and have always stayed here because of the location, the good price and the service I have received. Yes some of the rooms can be small.....but I like the price... additionally I go to my room to sleep......do not need a huge room.....for what ?.....last time I was there I paid a little more and got this wonderful room overlooking the shops and restaurants on Date St and it was a lot fun.....the Hotel was remodeled and it has a family atmosphere. You can always find somebody to talk to and having 2 restaurants in the property is wonderful. Go down for coffee, sit outside and watch all the activities of Little Italy, not to mention the myriad of nearby restaurants and shops....and all the attractions within walking distance or short drive. The bed and pillows were super comfortable and very clean. the air conditioner very efficient. There is a mini fridge in the room. I showed up a day early and although very busy they were able to accommodate me. There is no swimming pool or room service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hello, thank you for remembering to review your July stay! We really appreciate it. Glad you had the chance to have the full Little Italy experience! And yes, you are right. We always have the option of our larger rooms with two beds. Many of our guests are adventurous explorers just like yourself, so you were spot on when you said " additionally I go to my room to sleep......do not need a huge room.....for what ?...."

Let us know if we'll see you in December!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I stayed here with a group of friends to celebrate a birthday. We bounced around greater San Diego and this was my favorite place we stayed. Great location, great service, great room and my room had a great view of Little Italy.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Sounds like a fun birthday trip, especially with exploring all of San Diego! Glad you had fun and thanks for picking us as your fave hotel out of the rest. Put a smile on my face! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here instead of the Hyatt because the price was so much lower. I read prior reviews which were mostly positive. I concur. If you want a huge spotless room with tons of storage space this is not the place for you. The room was very small and storage space for clothes to last a week was limited. HOWEVER, the neighborhood is charming. There are lots of restaurants (mostly Italian since is in Little Italy) within two blocks. Prior reviewers have complained about the parking garage. Maybe we got lucky, but I found a spot for each of the five nights we were there. The AC worked fine. There was plenty of hot water. There was some street noise, but it really didn't keep us up. The mattress was comfortable. There is a courtyard off the first floor and a lovely restaurant where we had coffee and croissants each morning. The neighborhood felt safe The staff was terrific. I met Marc the manager who wondered how I already knew his name (from his response to prior tripadvisor reviews;) Xavier, Andre and the other front desk people were very attentive as were the housekeeping staff. I would not hesitate to stay here again and I fully recommend it.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and I liked this. I enjoyed the view of the street life below. The other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi Alan,

It was great meeting you the other day! My team and I are so glad that you didn't experience any of the qualms that previous reviewers had. We're vigilant about these reviews and use each of them to make the hotel better and better. Sounds like you two had a wonderful vacation. We hope to see you both again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

La Pensione is a great gem. Many people complain about the size of the rooms - I guess people are not aware that rooms in boutique hotels are almost always smaller. With that said, the rooms do not lack anything and even have en suite refrigerators. The rooms are just lovely - modern and quite chic. The baths are complete w/ marble and the rooms are very clean. I felt completely comfortable walking barefoot(which is not common for me). The location is also perfect. It's dead smack in the heart of Little Italy and 2 short blocks to the trolley which takes you almost everywhere in the downtown area, including the Gaslamp Quarter, Ole Town and the Convention Ctr. This hotel will be my first choice on my next visit to SD. Javier and Stephanie are very friendly and helpful and the resident pooch - Penny is darling.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
First off, happy belated birthday! Thank you for picking us for the base of your celebratory vacation. We're happy that you had such a great time and that you were able to walk barefront throughout your room :)

We're ecstatic to be your first choice for your next venture out to San Diego. Javier, Stephanie AND Penny say "hi" and they're looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

You get what you pay for with this hotel. It's very affordable, especially for the great neighborhood it's in, but in return you have to expect small rooms and limited service. The parking in the garage is limited, and we weren't able to get in there until the second night of our stay, but because we stayed 5 nights, they waived the parking fee! We also had an issue with housekeeping not coming around until about 4 pm, by which time we were back in our room for an afternoon rest. Other than that, all the staff was nice. The front desk printed our boarding passes for us (as they do not have computers or a printer in their business center). Our room was small but clean and even had a tiny fridge. Lots of great restaurants nearby in Little Italy!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello - we appreciate your staying with us and taking the time afterwards to write us a review! We're happy that we can offer such great rates, especially compared with other hotels in downtown San Diego. We also have rooms with two beds, which are considerably larger than our standard rooms with one bed. We're happy to reserve one of those for you for your next stay. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Pensione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pensione

Address: 606 W. Date St., San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Pensione 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most affordable and best-kept secrets in San Diego, La Pensione Hotel is a historic property located in San Diego’s Little Italy neighborhood. La Pensione Hotel offers 68 guestrooms, a relaxing courtyard area, free high-speed internet, limited underground parking spots, conference room and a workout facility. After a property refresh in summer of 2011, La Pensione now offers air conditioning in every room and a new class of guest rooms called the Argento Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your La Pensione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pensione San Diego
La Pensione Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pensione, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.