We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location needs to update map.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   660 G St, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #145 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location needs to update map.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great central hotel to the gas lamp district only 2 blocks/5 minute walk and a 20 minute walk to the beautiful harbor.
Our hotel room was satisfactory with all the essentials, great value for money.
The breakfast was typical american which was great.
The only let downs where: 1) The car park is too open, it would be very easy for someone to break in unnoticed which is a bit un-nerving but no harm came to our car during our stay.
2) The hotel is between 7th and G street our GPS struggled to find the location which made for a very unhappy start to our introduction to the motel i think the company would benefit in updating their map.
All up good location and cheap on the pocket i would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    119
    66
    30
    15
See reviews for
18
100
50
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

What attracted me to this hotel at first was the price. For the area, this hotel is very unexpensive. The breakfast was included and for a Budget Hotel it was complete and good. The location is nice too. You walk down or up and you will find a trolley or a bus station. I found San Diego transport system very good too. I had a car booked but I cancelled it since we didnt need it. The people at the desk are nice. The room wasnt too big but not to small either. It was ok. I booked a queen bedroom corner room. The closet space was perfect. Bathroom, could use a little improvement but it was ok.

Room Tip: Get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
I love receiving reviews from Senior reviewers. That means you travel quite a bit and for you to speak so highly of us is such a compliment. Our goal is to offer clean, well maintained facilities and a reasonable price compared to other hotels in the Gaslamp Quarter. Thank you very much for your business and I hope to see you again. Be sure to check out our specials for booking direct. There is a link to our website near the address of the hotel on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I agree with all the good reviews about the hotel itself. Everything I could want in the hotel was here. Cleanliness, microwave, fridge, air conditioner (cycles on and off a bit, but not too badly), ample full free breakfast, washer and dryer, free business center, free wifi, quiet (if you're on the courtyard sides), friendly staff, environmentally conscious policies, and great location within walking distance of the convention center where I was taking some workshops. And it's relatively inexpensive. There's also a great Ralph's supermarket only 4 blocks away. The only downside to the hotel was the area around it, which I found full of derelicts, especially during the daytime. As a single older woman without a car, I didn't feel comfortable exploring the area much on foot. Oddly enough, it seemed safer at night when a lot of hip young people and tourists were frequenting the nearby restaurants and bars. That said, I strongly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the courtyard sides. They're quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate the time you took to review us. You know its a lot easier to write a review when you are unhappy with something. It is purely out of kindness when you are doing it to share your great experience. We strive to offer a clean, well maintained facility at affordable prices. Cleanliness has always been are top priority. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The only thing even close to negative I could say about this hotel is that my room was a bit on the small side, but even that's not much of a negative as there was more than enough room to move around and feel comfortable. This is a Comfort Inn that definitely lives up to the title - I was very comfortable in my room which came with some nice little perks. On a hot, muggy day it was nice to check in and discover a bottle of water waiting for me up in the room. The standard toiletries were enhanced by a convenient grooming kit. The sheets and towels were all of good quality. These things might seem minor, but it has been my experience that a hotel that pays attention to these little details does a good job with the bigger ones, too.

My room, and indeed the entire hotel, was spotless - everything was clean and fresh. The staff were all helpful and friendly. While I didn't take advantage of all of the amenities available, I was impressed by the wide array of choices - everything from same day dry cleaning services to on site washing machines and dryers, a no charge business center, and more. The morning breakfast buffet was tasty and appealing.

I also appreciated the hotel's commitment to being environmentally conscious. The room refrigerator was turned off when I checked in, as was the air conditioning. Both worked quickly and well once turned on.

The location was excellent. You really can see the baseball stadium from the hotel and there are more restaurants and bars, both chains and local businesses, in the immediate area than I could count. Within a short walking distance there was also a movie theater, a very nice supermarket, and a large mall with a variety of shops, restaurants, and entertainment.

Street parking in the area is challenging and parking in lots quite pricey (although I did note that the Comfort Inn had the lowest local cost) but unless you're planning to leave the city limits, driving really isn't necessary. San Diego's public transit within the city is convenient and relatively inexpensive (I paid $15 for a four day transit pass which covers everything but the express commuter bus lines) and readily accessible from the hotel. It is a short trip to all of the major attractions in the city, including Balboa Park and the Zoo.

This hotel was an excellent value. I enjoyed my stay there very much, would definitely stay again, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for such a great review. I appreciate the details in your review just like you appreciate the details of our hotel. Please feel free to contact us directly the next time you plan to be in San Diego. Thank you for your business. All the best, Cris Vasquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

All most like an "eclectic boutique" hotel. Older, yet WELL KEPT!
Room was very small. However...with ALL of the amenities, LOCATION
AND PRICE, it can't be beat.
FYI: Beaucoup!!!!! resturaunts/bars, incl several sidewalk versions, 1 upscale.
Banking, 2 very nice grocery's. SD Zoo 1.5mi. Also, you can rent,localy, a (SMART) car by the minute.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for the very kind review. We strive hard to make your stay an enjoyable one and I am glad we came though for you. All the best, Cris Vasquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

A good bang for the buck that's for sure. Comes with a not too bad breakfast in the morning. Rooms are basic however, they are all you need for just sleeping. Great location to the Gaslamp Quarter of San Diego. Can walk to pretty much everything. Clean and very friendly staff. All in all we felt it was good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We strive to offer a clean and well maintained facility. We focus on cleanliness and go the extra mile. Every touchable surface is sprayed with lysol during cleaning of the room. Thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed here for 3 days in late July with my partner. It's a great location. Literally a block away from the the Main Street in the Gaslamp Quarter. Which if you like nightlife, bars, restaurants, clubs and lots of activity this is the best location to be.
Comfort Inn is cheap but you get your basics and the room we stayed in was small and cramped but it was fine for such a short stay. The bed I have to say was not the most comfortable.
The room came with free WIFI, breakfast (although very basic) and we had to pay for parking which was $18 per day.
Overall, it's good value for money for short stays - anything longer than 3 days you'll want a bit more comfort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I want to thank you for you business and the time you took to review us. Reviews are very important to the hotel. It helps guide us in the right direction. From your review, I can tell you feel positive about the way we run the hotel and that feels great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center

Address: 660 G St, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Items served for breakfast: Regular scrambled eggs, eggs with cheese, hard boiled eggs, sausages, regular waffles,strawberry waffles, fresh strawberries, three types of juices, coffee, tea, SIX types of cereal, oatmeal, fresh fruit, Yoplait yogurt, danishes, Thomas English Muffins, bagels and condiments galore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn San Diego
San Diego Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.