We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food - Super Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amigo Spot

Amigo Spot
1333 Hotel Circle South, Kings Inn Hotel, San Diego, CA (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)
619 297 2231
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #253 of 4,041 restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great Food - Super Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great authentic Mexican food, eclectic atmosphere and very friendly staff. The lounge is part of the restaurant and a perfect spot for sports viewing with multiple TV's. Overall good vib. This review wants me to write more but there is nothing more. It is a great place to get good food and drinks while watching a game or just dining with the family.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    37
    17
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montréal
2 reviews
“Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Ribs and the salmon were very good
Will the waiter was very friendly, courteous and smiling. Impeccable service!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Happy Hour, Food, Service, Entertainment !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We took our friends to the Amigo Spot Restaurant in the Kings Inn Hotel on Hotel circle in Mission Valley CA, in San Diego. We started at Happy Hour where they have the best made, and Largest Margarita's I've ever seen or tasted. The entire night we were taken care of by one of the nicest and most professional Food and Beverage managers at the restaurant, Enrico Lopez. He bent over backwards to help us and would do anything to help us in anyway. He stayed with us the entire night brining us our drinks, chips, and Salsa, taking our orders, and bringing us our food, and dessert. His bubbly attitude towards us was the best I've seen in all the many years my wife and I have traveled all over the world. I would hire Enrico If I owned a restaurant in a heart beat, he was Awesome, and I could tell by watching him, that he trains his other waiters and waitress to do the exact same techniques he was doing to give us outstanding service. The Food at the Amigo Spot is Awesome. We were there on a Saturday Night when they have $14.95 Prime Rib special which was perfectly cooked and huge ! We also had Burrito's , Enchilada's, and Quesadilla's. They were all Fantastic tasting and cook perfect. They have live Mariachi's playing on Friday's, and a great Jazz Band playing on Saturday's. This hidden Treasure is tucked in the Kings Inn Hotel, make sure you visit this place on your visit to San Diego. One of those whole in the wall places that locals visit because it is sooooo good ! Along with the Waffle Spot Breakfast restaurant on the other side of the Kings Inn Hotel these two Hidden gems will please you very much !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Consistently good Mexican food at a great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My family of 4 (boys 12 and 9) frequent Amigo Spot every few weeks. Their food is consistently good and seating comfortable. The atmosphere is festive, but when you enter from the parking lot the front desk/reception area is dated - so is the very tacky bar that you see when you first walk in.

I would get over this, and just enjoy the food. Their prices are reasonable to begin with, but if you go to restaurant.com they typically have a deal that you can purchase a $25 gift card (for $10 or less). With the gift card, you have to purchase at least $37.50 in food there. With a family of 4 that is about where you'll be (a bit over) without alcoholic drinks. We buy restaurant.com $25 gift cards when the go on sale for $4 (a few times a year). We then spend about $40 here - and our total out of pocket is then $19, about $25 with tip. Great deal for a family of 4 when compared to other places in town with similar food (Tio Leo's, Casa Guadalajara, On the Border, etc.)

The wait staff is wonderful and they dont mind the gift certificates at all (no attitude when you use them). To redeem - follow directions as you dont bring the gift card but a print out redemption voucher with you.

Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a very relaxed place so do not eat here if you are in a hurry. The atmosphere is really nice and the food excellent, even if the wait seems overly long. We would definately go back if we are ever in San Diego again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amigo Spot also viewed

 

Been to Amigo Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amigo Spot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.