We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biggest and Best Desserts We've Ever Seen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Extraordinary Desserts

Extraordinary Desserts
1430 Union St., San Diego, CA (Downtown)
619-294-7001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 136 Dessert in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Coffee & Tea, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Clinton, NY
Level Contributor
115 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Biggest and Best Desserts We've Ever Seen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We initially intended to come here for dessert after dinner in Little Italy, but we were so full (see my review of Filippi's) that we just window-shopped on our first visit. The next morning we went by to get some desserts to go, as we were leaving the city that day. My husband wound up having a giant banana cream confection at 9:30 AM! It was to die for. There were many many choices, but I opted for the carrot cake because it looked like it would hold up as a to-go item on our trip. I was not disappointed - it was easily the best carrot cake I've ever had. We splurged on giant $10 items, but there were less expensive choices there as well. They also serve meals with reasonable looking prices, but we did not eat there other than the dessert. We would definitely go back

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    61
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“EVERYTHING is consistently delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've been going to Extraordinary Desserts since our first date. The one on 5th Avenue was the first, and is a romantic place for a first date (or anytime!). The desserts are so delicious! I love the Pavlova (made with fresh fruit), the passion fruit ricotta torte (Karen Krasne's specialty), and the slice of chocolate truffle loaf is like heaven on a dish for chocolate lovers! There is another branch in Little Italy, very hip and lively--they each have a different vibe. If you come to San Diego, this is a MUST to visit! Now our teenagers are hooked ;-)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Average dessert”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here because we wanted to see the Dessert selection. They do serve other food as well but we stuck with the desserts. A fair selection and visually appealing. Two have us had the pecan pie (chocolate). It was very average in taste but looked delicious in the case. I was expecting some pecan pie taste but the chocolate was all you could taste, which was ok but not what you think you are getting. The coconut creme pie was very good according to the ladies but again was not a knock your socks off dessert. The service here left a little to be desired. Our waitress spent more time visiting coworkers than doing her job. Still, if you are in the area it is worth a try, plus we cannot speak for the food quality since we only had dessert.



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GPS found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

we lef tthe work christmas party and wanted desert and some drinks. i typed into my gps deserts and found this great treasure in the most unsuspecting warehouse area of San DIego. Really great and enticing menu, service was great even though they were really busy. The appetizers did not dissapoint and the deserts were heavenly, definitely will return

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Be prepared for a long line”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The desserts are impossibly huge and the youre sure to collapse into a sugar coma afterwards but eh..what are you gonna do. Its all substance as the space is spartan with rustic benches and tables..but the line round the block speaks volumes...grab friends and chat in the line before you eat up. Its a rare, expenisve treat.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Extraordinary Desserts also viewed

 

Been to Extraordinary Desserts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extraordinary Desserts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.