We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabrillo National Monument

Cabrillo National Monument
1800 Cabrillo Memorial Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
619-557-5450
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$23*
and up
San Diego Harbor Cruise
Ranked #12 of 193 Attractions in San Diego
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Landmarks
Activities: Hiking, Whale watching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Stately monument honoring Cabrillo, discoverer of San Diego Bay, is located in Point Loma that overlooks the city and the Bay.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Missoula, Montana
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Surprisingly interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The visitor's center is interesting, in spite of Mr. Cabrillo not being someone to be particularly proud of. The views are great, the terrain pleasant. The light house is interesting. The best surprise was the small World War II display in the Coast Defense Exhibit. It was fascinating to read about life in the area after Pearl Harbor. We wished we had more time to explore the trails and tidal pools.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    999
    506
    70
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke,uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Awesome views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very good tourist attraction with awesome views of San Diego bay.
The whole area which includes Point Loma lighthouse has an excellent information centre. Good day out.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Both stunning and somber...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My nephew recommended this sight to do before we met for dinner. He was right. Very lovely hikes and very somber driving through the military burial grounds.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lookout point is pretty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stopped by in San Diego for a few hours, and were recommended to visit Cabrillo National Monument right away. It wasn't too busy when we went, which was midway through the week. Along the way, you can learn about the history of the SD area, and you'll get some nice snaps at the top.

Just a forewarning, wear a sweater cause it can get chilly up there!

The fee is $5.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Quintessential San Diego”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Scrub vegetation. Tons of birds. Historical landmarks. Rocky shoreline. It's exactly what I think of when I think of San Diego. I went on a Saturday morning, and unlike other reviews, I did not find it crowded at all.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabrillo National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Cabrillo National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabrillo National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.