We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun hike for all ages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Loma

Point Loma
San Diego, CA
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #10 of 220 attractions in San Diego
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Geologic Formations
Activities: Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A lookout point above San Diego Bay and home of the Cabrillo monument.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun hike for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Amazing views of SanDiego and Mexico at the visitor center. The hiking path along the coast had the most amazing views of the ocean and seasonal wildflowers. Fun tide pools to see whats moving about and a lighthouse museum to go into. Definitely Well worth our time

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    147
    27
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, VA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful quick stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We just stopped by Point Loma to see the area and it was gorgeous. Being from the East Coast, we're not used to seeing cliffs on the side of the ocean. We drove down to lower parking area and and walked out to the water - the tide pools. It was somewhat easy to walk around - could just walk around for as short or long as you wanted. It was a very short walk from the parking lot to the water. The views from above at the lighthouse were beautiful but I would definitely recommend driving down to the Tide Pools to see it up close. The views from there are very different and just as beautiful. This is a place you can just drop by for a quick stop to enjoy.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tide Pools”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We sort of stumbled upon this one afternoon when we didn't have anything planned. So glad that we did! The little walking tour of the lighthouse and living quarters was your typical attraction from the old days, but the tide pools were a real highlight of the trip. We got some fantastic photos and had fun looking in the various pools for sea creatures. We ended up spending most of the afternoon out here; great value for the 3 bucks it cost us to get in!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

A lovely village feel. From the views at the top of the hill, carrying on down the hill to Ocean Beach, or South side to the heart of Point Loma. See Liberty Station. Cabrillo Monument. Shelter Island. Many great restaurants. Really nice.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best views in San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

There are at least three distinct areas of interest. If you can, spend time in each. The tide pools on the Pacific side offer ocean views and surfer watching. The restored lighthouse up top offers a view of life in the 19th century. The visitors center has breathtaking views of San Diego, Tijuana, the mountains, Coronado Island, the Submarine base, the San Diego Bay. Various signs offer information on planes, ships, mountains, wildlife. A "Must See" for a San Diego visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Point Loma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Loma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Point Loma to your Saves list