We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, but probably not for everyone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The Inn at Sunset Cliffs to your Saves list
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107 (Ocean Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #45 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Swifton, AR
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Charming, but probably not for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

If you are looking for all the frills and amenities of the Hilton, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a charming place to stay that is right on the water (no beach) consider it. We had a large group, so had the opportunity to see various room types. The poolside queen is a little on the small side. The 2 bedroom suite was nice, had a sitting area and fridge/microwave. The one bedroom suite with a kitchen is also nice. Keep in mind this is a very old motel that has been renovated. I felt it was clean and the renovations were nice, but it still has a rustic, old feel. My parent's room had an air conditioner problem and changing rooms was not a problem. Parking is somewhat limited. The windows open and have screens, so you can truly experience the ocean and breeze. There is also some outdoor seating where you can enjoy the ocean. Beach access is a few blocks away. I am not someone who feels they have to have all the luxury of the Ritz, so I would stay there again. My teenagers loved it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    51
    17
    14
    5
See reviews for
84
96
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The location is the best part of this hotel. On the cliffs in a quiet neighborhood. The hotel itself was passable.I'm told that it was recently remodeled, but I couldn't tell. It's basically a half step above a motel 6 on the water. My room was on the first floor (pool queen) closest to the water, so I had a peek-a-boo view which was nice. What wasn't so nice is the patio for the general public was right outside the door, so I could hear every conversation and had to keep the blinds closed for privacy, so I didn't enjoy what view I had. The bed was awful. So hard a squeaky, I'm not sure it was a real mattress. Whatever it was, it was THE most uncomfortable thing I have ever slept on.

The grounds need some work too. There are many many rose bushes and boxes with roses everywhere. I like roses but it's a strange choice for a beach location. Why not palm trees or bougainvilla or anything more tropical and less english garden? It had the feeling of walking into grandma's house.

The hotel is family friendly and many children loved playing in the pool for hours. Screaming and splashing and having a good time. So, if you want a quiet place to rest and relax I might chose another location.

The staff was very friendly, nice a accommodating. Everyone was a great.

The deck that leads to the ocean needs serious work, sorry I don't have a photo to show the disrepair. The laundry and storage are could also use some attention. I know rust is an issue near the water but it looks like awhile since anyone has been in that area.

It seems to me that most of the reviews here are from the presidential suite, which I didn't see. Perhaps it's worth the extra money? Its probably the only place to actually hear the waves crashing, I know I didn't hear anything. Maybe you have to take the room on the second floor to experience that??

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor in the front facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed here to visit with some friends that live at Sunset Cliffs. My sister and I stayed in a two bedroom with a little living area. The furniture was a little dated but everything was clean. Refrigerator and microwave was very convenient. Great area to sit and watch the ocean... Very peaceful with absolutely beautiful flowers.

The only thing I would have liked is a little more access to the air conditioning in the bedrooms. Depending on only the breeze from the windows made it a little warm in the bedrooms.

Be aware that the one bedroom room is very small. Two people would be really stuffed in a room that size. Parking is also very difficult to secure.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the right side of the hotel. The hotel immediately on the left can be noisy.
See more room tips
Green Features: Encourages guests to conserve water and recycle...
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here for a few nights with our family, including 2 kids (teen and tween), primarily because the views looked so beautiful online and also because the TV series, "Veronica Mars" was filmed here and we are big fans (was a nice surprise to the kids who realized it immediately upon our arrival). We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite which was certainly big enough for the 4 of us--one of the kids slept out on the sofa bed--and the beds were pretty comfortable. We could hear the ocean with the windows open (although we could also hear the street traffic early in the morning unfortunately but it wasn't a deal breaker). The views from the deck over the cliffs were truly gorgeous and we just couldn't get enough of sitting and watching the sunset, the birds diving for fish, and the crashing waves. My only complaint is that the floors of our room felt a little dirty--as if they hadn't been washed recently (maybe sand?)--and we wished we didn't feel the grittiness as we walked around barefoot. But as mentioned, the views and the beautiful gardens more than made up for it. The location is also great--drove 5 minutes to great breakfasts in OB and was a short drive to anywhere else that we wanted to go in San Diego (and was a nice respite at the end of the days that we spent in the city). Definitely recommend it if you're looking for a small and unique property with beautiful ocean views.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had a horrible experience at this motel last weekend. The rooms are very old and need updated, the furniture and beds are horrible. The biggest factor was our room was very dirty. the floors and bathroom disgusting. We had to wear flipflops and put down towels on the floor of the bathroom. The glasses left in the room to use were so bad , I would not even let my dog drink out of them. Could not sleep because of the loud noises next door and smell of smoke filled the room from a bon fire. A night manager ok a discount after I ask for it because of noise and smoke filled room. At Check out the morning manager Todd? argued with me over the discount instead of saying he was sorry about our experience . It was unbelievable. Needless to say I will not go back again and will let all my friends know in Point Loma. The view and gardens are beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

This is a hidden gem for sure. The hotel grounds are immaculate and adorned with beautiful flowers everywhere. Open the windows and you can hear the sounds of the waves crashing and feel the ocean breeze. The room I chose had a kitchen stocked with plates, silverware, pots, pans, glasses and anything else you might need to prepare any meal. There is a grill out on the deck which overlooks the ocean. The staff was very friendly and helpful with all our needs. There is beach access within easy walking distance. I will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time staying at this secret hideaway. The first thing when you walk up is the smell of all the flowers that are planted on the grounds. You are greeted by friendly hotel staff that are eager to answer any questions and to make sure you enjoy your stay. The hotel is small and quaint and has the most breath taking view off of the cliffs. They have plenty of seating on the terrace to enjoy some s'mores near the firepit while watching the sun set.

We stayed in the 2-bedroom on the second floor and we had plenty of room and storage for our bags. The few negatives I have are that the new floors in the rooms were a little squeaky and I felt bad for those staying under us. The second thing is that there are very few cable channels but I didn't come to watch TV.

We will stay here again and will share our new find with all of our family and friends!! Thank you to all of the staff for being so accommodating and friendly!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Sunset Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Address: 1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#36 Family Hotel in San Diego
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Sunset Cliffs located in historical Point Loma, California. We are one of only a few San Diego hotels truly located on the Pacific Ocean, just steps away from Ocean Beach. Originally built in the 1950′s, we have RECENTLY COMPLETED REMODELING the 24 room inn thus creating a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere to accommodate any San Diego visitor. Almost a brand new hotel! No other San Diego hotel offers a view as breathtaking as from our spacious terrace overlooking the Cliffs, Ocean Beach and as far as La Jolla. The Inn at Sunset Cliffs is truly one of the only San Diego beach hotels that is actually a waterfront hotel. Oceanfront suites with the sea breeze just outside your door. Sunset Cliffs creates scenic atmospheres all year long, with million-dollar views everyday. Being a quiet privately owned San Diego hotel, we support our locals and want to help our community. San Diego Beaches are near, being just a few blocks away from us. Experience the great San Diego surfing with an awesome location to scope where to ride for your session just a few steps away from your room. Wake up to the sounds of the waves crashing onto our property. Look out at the Pacific Ocean to see the beauty San Diego has to offer. When you feel like relaxing, our two ocean view terraces allow you to view out over the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. Kick your feet up and let the waves take you away… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Inn at Sunset Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Sunset Cliffs Hotel San Diego
Hotel At Sunset Cliffs
At Sunset Cliffs Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Sunset Cliffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.