We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view.. loved our visit here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Inn at Sunset Cliffs to your Saves list
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107 (Ocean Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Hazlet, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing view.. loved our visit here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I traveled here with my boyfriend and 2 younger siblings (18 and 16). You cannot beat the price! There were 2 bedrooms and a pullout sofa, which was plenty of room for the 4 of us. There is a living room space, and lots of windows to open to feel the wonderful weather! The grounds are beautiful, and the scenery is breathtaking! The cliffs is a short drive, or walk, and is worth the trip to see the shoreline. It is a few miles to the beach and many of the downtown areas. We did rent a car, but parking was very limited; so we didn't want to lose our spot. We all love walking, so it was easier and more enjoyable. Overall, we had an amazing experience here and would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikki126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Chandler
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The inn at sunset cliffs was the perfect hotel for my girlfriend and I over her birthday weekend. As soon as you step foot in the courtyard you can hear the sound of the waves crashing against the cliffs where the hotel is located. We planned on getting out of the hotel to check out ocean beach as much as we could but we found ourselves wanting to make food in the kitchen in our room (which was stocked with new, clean utensils for all different kinds of cooking) and eat down on the lower terrace and enjoy the beautiful scenery right there at the hotel. The staff were all very friendly and for the price we were blown away with the quality of our stay. I'll definitely be returning to this spot.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremyb1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We love staying at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs! There is nothing close to hearing those waves hitting the rocks at night! The staff is friendly and the garden is beautiful. We have stayed in many of the rooms. The kitchen is great for a longer stay! But the room at the end of the hotel is perfect for watching the waves and seeing the sunset! It is a very cozy inn and we look forward to another trip in March!!!

Room Tip: A room at the end to see the cliffs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed for two nights in a room on the end of the hotel, right over the beach. We slept with the windows open to hear the waves crashing on the shore. Very nice room, comfy bed and great shower. The sunsets were spectacular, and the hotel is right next to a great park that runs along the shore. If we return to San Diego, we will definitely try to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We were in town for a family visit and needed a nearby place to stay for 3 adults. The suite fit the bill; two comfortable rooms and a shared living area. I was a little disappointed that there was no breakfast, but we were usually off first thing, and in the end we had satisfying breakfasts in our room. Staff is very nice, and there is a pleasant lounge with coffee and tea. To me it was perhaps a bit expensive for what it is, but this is after all San Diego, and we could watch the lovely view (and rainbow over the ocean) easily. I would stay here again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Very cozy and cute place..loved the decor and the location. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Nice view of the Ocean. Will definitely come back and will also spread the word to others and recommend it. Loved it!

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have great views of the Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I got a fantastic deal on a 2 bedroom suite from Groupon. The room was nice and the view out the bedroom windows was great. It was nice to open the bedroom window at night and hear the sound of waves breaking on the rocks. I wish the lower patio deck had been opened but it was closed for repairs. The view is incredible and the Sunset Cliffs Trails is right on the other side of the hotel.

There were some minor issues with the room as in rust on the bathroom light fixture and what I think was black mold growing on the ceiling in the second guest room.

If you can get a good deal to stay here, I would stay. A bit more touch up repair is needed, but overall the room and property were clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#46 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#122 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 685 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#152 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#4 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Sunset Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Address: 1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#35 Family Hotel in San Diego
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Sunset Cliffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Sunset Cliffs located in historical Point Loma, California. We are one of only a few San Diego hotels truly located on the Pacific Ocean, just steps away from Ocean Beach. Originally built in the 1950′s, we have RECENTLY COMPLETED REMODELING the 24 room inn thus creating a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere to accommodate any San Diego visitor. Almost a brand new hotel! No other San Diego hotel offers a view as breathtaking as from our spacious terrace overlooking the Cliffs, Ocean Beach and as far as La Jolla. The Inn at Sunset Cliffs is truly one of the only San Diego beach hotels that is actually a waterfront hotel. Oceanfront suites with the sea breeze just outside your door. Sunset Cliffs creates scenic atmospheres all year long, with million-dollar views everyday. Being a quiet privately owned San Diego hotel, we support our locals and want to help our community. San Diego Beaches are near, being just a few blocks away from us. Experience the great San Diego surfing with an awesome location to scope where to ride for your session just a few steps away from your room. Wake up to the sounds of the waves crashing onto our property. Look out at the Pacific Ocean to see the beauty San Diego has to offer. When you feel like relaxing, our two ocean view terraces allow you to view out over the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. Kick your feet up and let the waves take you away… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Sunset Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Sunset Cliffs Hotel San Diego
Hotel At Sunset Cliffs
At Sunset Cliffs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing