We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely coming back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Sunset Cliffs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107 (Ocean Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 268 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chandler
1 review
“Definitely coming back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

The inn at sunset cliffs was the perfect hotel for my girlfriend and I over her birthday weekend. As soon as you step foot in the courtyard you can hear the sound of the waves crashing against the cliffs where the hotel is located. We planned on getting out of the hotel to check out ocean beach as much as we could but we found ourselves wanting to make food in the kitchen in our room (which was stocked with new, clean utensils for all different kinds of cooking) and eat down on the lower terrace and enjoy the beautiful scenery right there at the hotel. The staff were all very friendly and for the price we were blown away with the quality of our stay. I'll definitely be returning to this spot.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    48
    14
    13
    5
See reviews for
79
92
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We love staying at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs! There is nothing close to hearing those waves hitting the rocks at night! The staff is friendly and the garden is beautiful. We have stayed in many of the rooms. The kitchen is great for a longer stay! But the room at the end of the hotel is perfect for watching the waves and seeing the sunset! It is a very cozy inn and we look forward to another trip in March!!!

Room Tip: A room at the end to see the cliffs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed for two nights in a room on the end of the hotel, right over the beach. We slept with the windows open to hear the waves crashing on the shore. Very nice room, comfy bed and great shower. The sunsets were spectacular, and the hotel is right next to a great park that runs along the shore. If we return to San Diego, we will definitely try to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We were in town for a family visit and needed a nearby place to stay for 3 adults. The suite fit the bill; two comfortable rooms and a shared living area. I was a little disappointed that there was no breakfast, but we were usually off first thing, and in the end we had satisfying breakfasts in our room. Staff is very nice, and there is a pleasant lounge with coffee and tea. To me it was perhaps a bit expensive for what it is, but this is after all San Diego, and we could watch the lovely view (and rainbow over the ocean) easily. I would stay here again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Very cozy and cute place..loved the decor and the location. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Nice view of the Ocean. Will definitely come back and will also spread the word to others and recommend it. Loved it!

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have great views of the Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I got a fantastic deal on a 2 bedroom suite from Groupon. The room was nice and the view out the bedroom windows was great. It was nice to open the bedroom window at night and hear the sound of waves breaking on the rocks. I wish the lower patio deck had been opened but it was closed for repairs. The view is incredible and the Sunset Cliffs Trails is right on the other side of the hotel.

There were some minor issues with the room as in rust on the bathroom light fixture and what I think was black mold growing on the ceiling in the second guest room.

If you can get a good deal to stay here, I would stay. A bit more touch up repair is needed, but overall the room and property were clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had booked a room at this hotel last weekend for two nights based on the reviews on trip advisor. I am normally confident in booking rooms based on what I have read on here and have not been disappointed until now. I can't believe nor understand the reviews about this place.

We checked in Friday afternoon and got room 106, about as far away from the ocean as you can get at this place. We walk inside the room and discover that the room size is about as big as my master bedroom. There is literally no where to put your luggage except in the closet which is about 2 feet from the bed. The bed itself is a mattress on a wooden frame, was noisy when you sat on it and had no box spring which means no support and I sure felt that when I woke up in the morning. It appears that there has been some renovations in the bathroom with a walk in shower with two shower heads and newer tiling. At the same time, the light fixture in the bedroom had a base that was covered in rust and the paint on the ceiling and one corner of the bathroom leading up to the ceiling, was peeling and not just a little, it was noticeable. There was no view of the ocean and you can't hear the ocean from your room although I would imagine that you can hear it when booking a 300 dollar room at the end of the building. No thanks. Besides, it was much more fun laying in bed at 1am listening to people above us walk back and forth and the odd yelling between the group to grab someones attention. At least we could watch TV, which is about the size of my computer monitor at home.
We walked outside to see the magnificent view of the ocean and it was a beautiful view. The bottom terrace was roped off. I thought it may have been because I noticed some severe deterioration of the right side of the terrace that sagged enough that there were holes on the floor. We were told later it was because the wind was strong. It was opened up after we spoke to the front desk.
The pool seemed nice. It is noted in your room to leave your towels there because there are towels available at the pool. There was a family swimming at the time and there were no towels in the towel rack. We later saw an employee bring out 5 towels which was enough for the family. Not sure what would have happened for towels if other people came out to swim. Most places keep their towel racks full when the pool is open.

We had seen enough and were not impressed. We notified the front desk that we would be checking out in the morning (you can't cancel your first night). The manager was there and asked if there was a problem and my better half explained that we were disappointed with the room and that it looked like nothing they had in the pictures they have on their web site. It is important to note that the manager did offer to upgrade us but we declined. The lack of detail with the pool, the apparent weak structure of the lower terrace and the renovated rooms with rust and peeling paint in the bathrooms and the uncomfortable bed put a bad taste in our mouth.
Closest restaurants are about 5 blocks away. We walked it because we were concerned about losing our parking space as there isn't enough parking to accommodate everyone.

I will never stay at this hotel again. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. Some people on here have said there is exceptional value for money. I find that kind of funny because if you think paying almost 300 a night in order not to have to move sideways to pass someone in your room is value for money, then you either haven't traveled much or common sense isn't one of your assets. Honestly, you can stay on the bay side facing a great view of the city for the same money with many good restaurants nearby and is about 10 minutes away from this place. You could always drive to sunset cliffs and park a block away from this hotel, walk onto the cliffs, sit down and do your navel gazing or surf watching from there.

Room Tip: If you're willing to pay big bucks for a motel style room with space, go for it. Poolside queens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatSunsetCliffs, Manager at The Inn at Sunset Cliffs, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your opinion matters. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience with us. This is something we do not like to have and are not use to. The hotel is designed after Santorini, Greece. The Poolside queen is our most economical room, we have many other suites on site to choose from that are much larger. The manger did offer you the free upgrade but your decline did not allow you to experience anything else. The ocean views have quite the wave sounds. Our pool is very well maintained and the pool towels will be brought to attention. We will be updating the room as we have done to many others. Thank you for bringing attention to the items you have mentioned. The lower terrace is closed due to safety from the "waves" not the wind. Waves crash over onto our property daily. We must watch to tide and close the lower terrace for safety as one wave could totally wipe you out. We cannot predict the ocean but in the summer the lower terrace is open everyday. All photos provided are by our previous guest. We want them to speak for themselves. and not over sell. Thank you and hope you have future safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Sunset Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Address: 1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#36 Family Hotel in San Diego
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Sunset Cliffs located in historical Point Loma, California. We are one of only a few San Diego hotels truly located on the Pacific Ocean, just steps away from Ocean Beach. Originally built in the 1950′s, we have RECENTLY COMPLETED REMODELING the 24 room inn thus creating a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere to accommodate any San Diego visitor. Almost a brand new hotel! No other San Diego hotel offers a view as breathtaking as from our spacious terrace overlooking the Cliffs, Ocean Beach and as far as La Jolla. The Inn at Sunset Cliffs is truly one of the only San Diego beach hotels that is actually a waterfront hotel. Oceanfront suites with the sea breeze just outside your door. Sunset Cliffs creates scenic atmospheres all year long, with million-dollar views everyday. Being a quiet privately owned San Diego hotel, we support our locals and want to help our community. San Diego Beaches are near, being just a few blocks away from us. Experience the great San Diego surfing with an awesome location to scope where to ride for your session just a few steps away from your room. Wake up to the sounds of the waves crashing onto our property. Look out at the Pacific Ocean to see the beauty San Diego has to offer. When you feel like relaxing, our two ocean view terraces allow you to view out over the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. Kick your feet up and let the waves take you away… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Sunset Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Sunset Cliffs Hotel San Diego
Hotel At Sunset Cliffs
At Sunset Cliffs Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Sunset Cliffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.