We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Wedding Destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Inn at Sunset Cliffs to your Saves list
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107 (Ocean Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$239 (USD)
Ranked #54 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Amazing Wedding Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I absolutely LOVE this place. We had our wedding here and it was utterly perfect! We got married here on 09/07/13 and I wouldn’t change anything about our fantastic day. Gavin (the hotel manager/events coordinator) was amazing and a pleasure to work with. He made sure the day went off without a hitch and took away any worry that we may have had. This is a great location to get married and have a reception at, everything is close by and the venue is so gorgeous that there really is not too much need for additional decorations. The staff is incredible and made my friends and family feel so welcome. If you are looking for a place to get married in OB, look no further, you couldn’t find anything better than The Inn at Sunset Cliffs.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    54
    17
    17
    6
See reviews for
93
109
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This quaint hotel is filled with fresh flowers growing, crashing waves by the patio, views that cannot be beat, and a staff that is fabulous.
Best kept secret... in a quiet neighborhood. When you enter through the glass doors, it is like a dream world. The outside world becomes a distant memory. You are met with beautiful roses, and the vast ocean in front of you. Whether you are sitting on the lower patio by the wood stove, or up on the main patio on wooden rocking chairs, the air is full of ocean breezes and the sunsets are amazing!
A perfect venue for a wedding. We were 100% satisfied with setting and the staff. It is a dream come true for a wedding. Gavin and his staff were the best !!
A perfect venue for a vacation. How could anyone complain with a setting such as this? The staff (all of them!) will be there to make sure your needs are met. They have great coffee at all times in the lounge area, too.

Room Tip: There is not bad room in this place !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This place is a hidden gem! Great location, friendly staff and breathtaking view! We stayed here for ten days in january and it was amazing! The apartment (two bedrooms one bathroom) was huge and clean with fully equipped kitchen; no worries if there's no restaurant as there are many places nearby where you can have breakfast/lunch/dinner, and Ocean beach rocks! We didn't use the swimming pool as it was too cold, but it seemed gorgeous, and surrounded by a lovely and well cared garden! The lounge facing the ocean is perfect and you can see terrific sunsets! The only lack is that they're not pet friendly, that is a bit annoying for such a great place! I would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are quieter, less crowded and with better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We just got married there and had the most amazing time. The staff was incredible, extremely helpful! Our families had so much fun, and our friends said it was the best wedding ever! The different rooms allow for all your different sized families and friends. Great for people traveling with children (bring your baby monitor out on to the dance floor!) Great location, you can walk to downtown Ocean Beach, and a quick cab/drive to Shelter Island/Liberty Station.The manager is a huge help in planning and in day of coordinating. We could not have asked for anything more!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We just got married at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs and it was soooo AMAZING!! The hotel is awesome, the rooms are awesome, the location is awesome, and most importantly Gavin and his staff are amazing!! Gavin did such a great job with our wedding, he took the time to figure out exactly what we wanted and carried it out perfectly. We received star treatment the whole time, he lead our rehearsal perfectly, and on the day of he took care of everything (timeline, vendors, etc) so all we had to worry about was ourselves. My family and friends are still talking about how perfect everything was, how nice the staff was, and how cool of a location it was. It was such an amazing experience, I recommend everyone get married here! Thank you to Gavin and the staff at the Inn! We had such a wonderful day!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great! You can hear the ocean from every room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We just had our wedding ceremony and reception at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs. It was absolutely BEAUTIFUL--we simply could not have picked a better location. Everyone kept raving about the gorgeous view. And with most guests staying at the Inn, we loved the community of the experience--everyone already knew each other by the time the wedding took place. Gavin and his crew were excellent, as well, ensuring that our event was a success. I highly recommend it to anyone vacationing or planning a special event!!! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This beautiful Inn was the perfect spot for our October Wedding. The staff was amazing, the rooms were beautiful and the location was incredible. I cannot say enough good things about this place. The staff helped us to plan the wedding of our dreams. There is a beautiful lower terrace where we exchanged vows that is about as close as you can get to the ocean with out getting wet. I recommend this Inn to any one planning a romantic, intimate wedding or looking to get away and enjoy the view. AMAZING! AMAZING! AMAZING!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Beach Hotel
#115 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 652 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#3 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,522 reviews
Pantai Inn
#2 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#44 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Sunset Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Address: 1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#36 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn at Sunset Cliffs 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Sunset Cliffs located in historical Point Loma, California. We are one of only a few San Diego hotels truly located on the Pacific Ocean, just steps away from Ocean Beach. Originally built in the 1950′s, we have RECENTLY COMPLETED REMODELING the 24 room inn thus creating a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere to accommodate any San Diego visitor. Almost a brand new hotel! No other San Diego hotel offers a view as breathtaking as from our spacious terrace overlooking the Cliffs, Ocean Beach and as far as La Jolla. The Inn at Sunset Cliffs is truly one of the only San Diego beach hotels that is actually a waterfront hotel. Oceanfront suites with the sea breeze just outside your door. Sunset Cliffs creates scenic atmospheres all year long, with million-dollar views everyday. Being a quiet privately owned San Diego hotel, we support our locals and want to help our community. San Diego Beaches are near, being just a few blocks away from us. Experience the great San Diego surfing with an awesome location to scope where to ride for your session just a few steps away from your room. Wake up to the sounds of the waves crashing onto our property. Look out at the Pacific Ocean to see the beauty San Diego has to offer. When you feel like relaxing, our two ocean view terraces allow you to view out over the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. Kick your feet up and let the waves take you away… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn at Sunset Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Sunset Cliffs Hotel San Diego
Hotel At Sunset Cliffs
At Sunset Cliffs Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Sunset Cliffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.