We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place EVER!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Inn at Sunset Cliffs to your Saves list
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107 (Ocean Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #34 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best place EVER!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I have been staying there for 5 yrs. We were married there 4 yrs ago in August. We love it. this year we were there for almost 5 wks and it was just like being home. Gavin and staff are like family and were fabulous. Clean rooms and excellent service everyday! But nothing is better than the view right outside your door and beautiful gardens in the courtyard. Love waking up to the sounds of the waves each morning. We always bring bikes because everything is in biking distance and rarely use our car to go anywhere. Can't wait for next summer, each year is more amazing! LOVE IT!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatSunsetCliffs, Manager at The Inn at Sunset Cliffs, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others! We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. Awesome guest like this make our property wonderful. Make your self at home and enjoy what the property gives us. Thank you for treating other guest like family as well. Makes a great atmosphere around the hotel for everyone. Until next summer...! Hopefully before then too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    51
    17
    14
    5
See reviews for
86
100
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have been staying at The Cliffs for about five years now. We consider it to be our second home. We loved it so much we got married there two years ago and our whole family comes back now to enjoy the pristine views, spotless rooms, and excellent service. Gavin and his crew really know what they are doing. They always go above and beyond for us and make us feel like family there. Definitely beats a bustling large chain hotel! Just a few steps out of your room and you have one of the most amazing views of the cliffs. Can't wait to go back and would never dream of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatSunsetCliffs, Manager at The Inn at Sunset Cliffs, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. When there are wonderful guest here like yourself, the hotel becomes that much more wonderful. We appreciate what has been said in the reviews and want to personally thank you. We hope to see you in near future. San Diego has a lot of offer everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is our third time at the Inn and love it, and the staff. Hotel grounds are beautifully landscaped, great deck areas to sit and chat, play games, eat, or watch a sunset. Rooms are clean and LOVE the double headed showers big enough for two. Biking/walking distance to tons of restaurants and beach. Other family members also stay here and it's like a family retreat! So much fun.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatSunsetCliffs, Manager at The Inn at Sunset Cliffs, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are happy to hear you would your returning stay. We think it's great that returners come back year after year to relax and celebrate with us. We are in appreciation of your business and hope it continues year after year. Thank you again and hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is in a beautiful location. Easy to get to restaurants in Ocean Beach and other sights in San Diego. While the kids swam we sat and admired the view of the Pacific. The suite was spacious. Only complaint was our room was near the front of the hotel and the street noise was a little loud.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las Vegas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great hotel with the best view in Sand Diego. Drove from las Vegas that morning and had the best arrival. The gentleman at the time in the office let us check in early with was so great. He was so helpful with information and gave us so much time too. He ran circles around us to give us the roll away beds and extra sheets that we needed. You don't wait for anything there. Thank you sunset cliffs for being there. Very clean hotel!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Cozy, beautiful little rooms. Nice showers, comfy beds! Gorgeous gardens, colorful flowers everywhere!! Big beautiful wooden deck with tons of nice wooden chairs, couches, rocking chairs and tables, right on the ocean! Sat outside early one morning and watched the dolphins swim and some big seals on the rocks, just laying in the sun. So relaxing and peaceful. At night after being at the beach all day, on the deck they have a big fire pit. Went and got some wood and a couple bottles of wine (across the street at a little market), had an amazing evening! If you want to, you can go and get some food to grill, they have a gas grill out on the deck, saw some people grilling steaks and shrimp, then ate on the big deck, overlooking the ocean! Inside the little office they have all kinds of coffees and teas, to take out and relax. Our kids got us three days for our 25th wedding anniversary and we will absolutely go back again, and again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
354 reviews 354 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We chose to stay here during our recent trip to San Diego and we are very glad we did!! I wanted to stay on the water with view and access to the ocean and this is the perfect place for both!! We drove to Ocean Beach for local breakfast and dinner and into San Diego for the specific activites we booked. Just fantastic!!! Great place to stay and we will be back!!!

Room Tip: Book a upper room with ocean view...you will be glad you did!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Sunset Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Address: 1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#13 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#38 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Sunset Cliffs located in historical Point Loma, California. We are one of only a few San Diego hotels truly located on the Pacific Ocean, just steps away from Ocean Beach. Originally built in the 1950′s, we have RECENTLY COMPLETED REMODELING the 24 room inn thus creating a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere to accommodate any San Diego visitor. Almost a brand new hotel! No other San Diego hotel offers a view as breathtaking as from our spacious terrace overlooking the Cliffs, Ocean Beach and as far as La Jolla. The Inn at Sunset Cliffs is truly one of the only San Diego beach hotels that is actually a waterfront hotel. Oceanfront suites with the sea breeze just outside your door. Sunset Cliffs creates scenic atmospheres all year long, with million-dollar views everyday. Being a quiet privately owned San Diego hotel, we support our locals and want to help our community. San Diego Beaches are near, being just a few blocks away from us. Experience the great San Diego surfing with an awesome location to scope where to ride for your session just a few steps away from your room. Wake up to the sounds of the waves crashing onto our property. Look out at the Pacific Ocean to see the beauty San Diego has to offer. When you feel like relaxing, our two ocean view terraces allow you to view out over the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. Kick your feet up and let the waves take you away… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn at Sunset Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Sunset Cliffs Hotel San Diego
Hotel At Sunset Cliffs
At Sunset Cliffs Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Sunset Cliffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.