We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never stay anywhere else again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Inn at Sunset Cliffs to your Saves list
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107 (Ocean Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #34 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Marysville, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Will never stay anywhere else again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is by far the best little gem in San Diego. I will never stay anywhere else but here. The grounds are just beautiful with all of the flowers & the views you can not beat. I have never been so relaxed in my entire life. I love how small and quite it is and everyone is super friendly. I loved being able to wake up and go have my coffee outside on the patio and stare at the ocean. We were even lucky enough to see dolphins & sea lions playing off in the distance. The staff was super friendly as well, upon check in they told us where all the resturants and shopping were and I was having a problem with the guest computer one day and they let me use their office computer. We were lucky to have stayed the 4th of July and had a perfect view of the Big Bay Boom. Best hotel ever! Can't wait to come back next year!

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow - that was about the only downfall. Try to get the rooms closest to the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    51
    17
    14
    5
See reviews for
86
100
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I was in San Diego for a good 3 weeks from Mexico City. This was one of the hotels I stayed at. Never again will I stay at this hotel AGAIN. The service was poor, rooms were dirty and they had an interesting smell. The only good thing about this hotel is its by a beach. BUT overall its a pretty crummy hotel.. Sadly...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here after a conference in San Diego. The Inn has a beautiful location along the cliffs. It is in a residential neighborhood at the intersection of Sunset Cliffs Blvd and Point Loma Ave. Its at the north end Sunset Cliffs trail which leads along the cliff edge 1.5 miles to the Sunset Cliffs Natural Park. Along the cliffs you'll spot pelicans, gulls, cormorants, and lots of surfers. Further south is Point Loma itself. Don't miss the Cabrillo National Monument, but we forewarned it has limited hours.

The hotel itself is a beautifully renovated throwback to the 1950's. The courtyard rooms are small but very clean and tidy. The bathroom was clean and well laid out. There are tables and chair arranged on the cliff side of the property, the perfect place to have take-out while watching the sunset. There is adequate parking on the Point Loma Ave side of the property. Check in and check out were efficient. They have coffee and tourist brochures next to the small lobby.

All in all, an excellent value for a waterfront property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last week and had a great stay. The location is amazing right on the ocean. We stayed in the Poolside Queen room. The room was good for two people and had a good size fridge. The staff were friendly and had a nice bottle of wine in our room with a rose as we were celebrating our honeymoon. The coffee was delicious and the Point Loma Beach Cafe next door had great breakfast burritos and smoothies. We enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We recently had an opportunity to spend a couple of days in the San Diego area and my wife found and booked this Inn. It was an absolutely great place to stay. The view of the Ocean is the best. Chairs with tables set along the back of the Inn, overlooking the Pacific, where you could watch Pelicans fly overhead and the porpoise/dolphins play in the water. The hosts were very accommodating and gracious. The hotel is very kept up very well and the flowers on the grounds are beautiful. We went for a walk along the coastline that began almost right next door to the Inn. Close to a number of fun local restaurants. Nothing better than falling asleep to the sound of the ocean. Truly a very nice Inn that we plan on visiting again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Was in San Diego for the Ocean Beach Street Fair, and found this within easy walking distance. Great location, and clean. Only a limited amount of rooms which makes it not crowded at all. Very nice to sit on the patio each morning and enjoy a cup of coffee looking over the ocean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

If you are looking for a small hotel with breathtaking views, without the hustle and bustle of downtown this is it. Nicely renovated, clean, gorgeous flowers, nice staff and great outdoor places where you will be mesmerized by the crashing of the waves and enjoy the sunset. From room 214 you can take in the views right from your bed - it doesn't get any better!
While staying at the Inn make sure to visit Cabrillo Park with an awesome view over San Diego.

Room Tip: Room 214 right is right upfront with a private view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Sunset Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Address: 1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#13 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#38 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Sunset Cliffs located in historical Point Loma, California. We are one of only a few San Diego hotels truly located on the Pacific Ocean, just steps away from Ocean Beach. Originally built in the 1950′s, we have RECENTLY COMPLETED REMODELING the 24 room inn thus creating a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere to accommodate any San Diego visitor. Almost a brand new hotel! No other San Diego hotel offers a view as breathtaking as from our spacious terrace overlooking the Cliffs, Ocean Beach and as far as La Jolla. The Inn at Sunset Cliffs is truly one of the only San Diego beach hotels that is actually a waterfront hotel. Oceanfront suites with the sea breeze just outside your door. Sunset Cliffs creates scenic atmospheres all year long, with million-dollar views everyday. Being a quiet privately owned San Diego hotel, we support our locals and want to help our community. San Diego Beaches are near, being just a few blocks away from us. Experience the great San Diego surfing with an awesome location to scope where to ride for your session just a few steps away from your room. Wake up to the sounds of the waves crashing onto our property. Look out at the Pacific Ocean to see the beauty San Diego has to offer. When you feel like relaxing, our two ocean view terraces allow you to view out over the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. Kick your feet up and let the waves take you away… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn at Sunset Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Sunset Cliffs Hotel San Diego
Hotel At Sunset Cliffs
At Sunset Cliffs Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Sunset Cliffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.