We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Sunset Cliffs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107 (Ocean Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Columbus Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Was in San Diego for the Ocean Beach Street Fair, and found this within easy walking distance. Great location, and clean. Only a limited amount of rooms which makes it not crowded at all. Very nice to sit on the patio each morning and enjoy a cup of coffee looking over the ocean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    45
    14
    13
    4
See reviews for
77
90
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

If you are looking for a small hotel with breathtaking views, without the hustle and bustle of downtown this is it. Nicely renovated, clean, gorgeous flowers, nice staff and great outdoor places where you will be mesmerized by the crashing of the waves and enjoy the sunset. From room 214 you can take in the views right from your bed - it doesn't get any better!
While staying at the Inn make sure to visit Cabrillo Park with an awesome view over San Diego.

Room Tip: Room 214 right is right upfront with a private view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Ahhh...just what we needed -- a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing vacation overlooking the Pacific Ocean. If you are looking for a breathtaking and endless view, peaceful atmosphere, gorgeous gardens and comfortable rooms, then this is where you want to be. My husband has been coming here since he was a little boy and is still captivated by the place, and now I am equally enamored. There is nothing finer then waking to a cool morning and walking the cliffs, getting opportunities to see dolphin, watching the sunset and falling asleep to the sounds of the ocean - only to have these special moments repeated the next day. We didn't want to leave and spent each evening bringing dinner in so we could dine on the oceanfront patio. The staff gave us great tips to get food from Ortega's (Mexican) and Pepe's (Italian) - and both were excellent! We met a lot of friendly folks at the Inn who were equally enjoying their time. I can't wait until we get to return again - I hope it is soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ukiah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was raised up the hill from "The Inn" and must have walked by it a 100 times on my way to the beach. I was recently at a funeral for a friend and the staff was so comforting. They took care of the taxi service where i needed to go; and also suggessted a nice dining area within walking distance. Such a peaceful and relaxing place to stay. KUDOS to the STAFF!!!!!

Room Tip: Listening to the waves as you go to sleep is the best
See more room tips
Green Features: Very clean and green could not be a better place to stay in all of san Diego they recycle everything
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs during memorial weekend. The trip was absolutely amazing. The view from my room was goregous. They even had an area with chairs, rocking chairs, and tables that overlook the pier... with a view you would fall in love with.

I had spoken with a young gentleman at the front who gave me a few great restaurants to try out.. there was a little wine and dine restaurant that was absolutely gorgeous.

Also, the young gentleman told us that the owner comes and is the one to check on his garden of flowers... Which is so beautiful!!!

Room Tip: I have stayed here twice now.. There is a corner room with a great room! They also have a few rooms...
See more room tips
Green Features: They have signs in their bathrooms stating, to be environemental friendly, keep towels off the floor if you plan to use the same towel... A few other things throughout.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I recently stayed at this inn in May for a week. I was in town on vacation and to get married. It was an amazing stay and the all of the workers are very nice. The views are amazing from the deck. I also like how quiet it is and the relaxed atmosphere. I would recommend this Inn to anyone looking for a quiet getaway. The location is also perfect and driving distances to local attractions never takes too long. I look forward to staying at this inn again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Unbelievable view especially for the price... I have been to San Diego the past five years and this definitely is a hidden gem overlooking the ocean. Laid back staff but helpful when needed and the rooms were clean with an ocean theme inside them. I will be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Sunset Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Address: 1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#36 Family Hotel in San Diego
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Sunset Cliffs located in historical Point Loma, California. We are one of only a few San Diego hotels truly located on the Pacific Ocean, just steps away from Ocean Beach. Originally built in the 1950′s, we have RECENTLY COMPLETED REMODELING the 24 room inn thus creating a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere to accommodate any San Diego visitor. Almost a brand new hotel! No other San Diego hotel offers a view as breathtaking as from our spacious terrace overlooking the Cliffs, Ocean Beach and as far as La Jolla. The Inn at Sunset Cliffs is truly one of the only San Diego beach hotels that is actually a waterfront hotel. Oceanfront suites with the sea breeze just outside your door. Sunset Cliffs creates scenic atmospheres all year long, with million-dollar views everyday. Being a quiet privately owned San Diego hotel, we support our locals and want to help our community. San Diego Beaches are near, being just a few blocks away from us. Experience the great San Diego surfing with an awesome location to scope where to ride for your session just a few steps away from your room. Wake up to the sounds of the waves crashing onto our property. Look out at the Pacific Ocean to see the beauty San Diego has to offer. When you feel like relaxing, our two ocean view terraces allow you to view out over the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. Kick your feet up and let the waves take you away… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Sunset Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Sunset Cliffs Hotel San Diego
Hotel At Sunset Cliffs
At Sunset Cliffs Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Sunset Cliffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.