We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE PLACE GREAT VIEW” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Sunset Cliffs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107 (Ocean Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 269 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Anaheim Hills, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“NICE PLACE GREAT VIEW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed there Friday and Sat nite (4/19-4/20).In the end unit bottom floor (114 I think). 3 windows overlooking ocean!!! Great views small pool,chirs and tables on two decks,BBQ,upper deck where most of the chirs and tables were, lower deck a few chairs benches and a fire pit!. The rooms were clean and nice, TV mounted on wall, bathrobes, microwave, small frig and the requisite soap, conditioner etc. Bathrooms a little small no fan , but no biggie, we had a great stay!!! 10 minutesto Seaworld and SD Zoo, great location.

Room Tip: 114 is bottom corner room with view 214 is top with obviously better view but they do not do 2 nite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    48
    14
    13
    5
See reviews for
79
92
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, TN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here for a week last year. Our travel service really messed up our reservations but the staff at the inn went to work making sure we had a room for the entire week. After 3 days we had to move to another room, but we didn't mind. They went the extra mile to work us in & correct the problem. We had a great view from both rooms. It's a convenient location & is in a great neighborhood. The complimentary bottle of wine & a great relaxing view mixed with the sound of the ocean after a long tiring flight...Aaaahh, Paradise...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albert
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife left a small article of clothing at the Inn. We e-mailed them right away and they said that they had the article and would mail it to us after charging our card. They never did mail the the article ( no charge on card either) . They have never responded to any of our follow up e-mails both from our e-mail and from their web site. Very unprofessional.

As for the Inn .. Nice location. Nice to walk next to the ocean. Our room was filled to the brim with a double bed.

Parking is at a premium and if you arrive late, you will have to find a spot on the street.

Staff had no suggestions for local restaurants .

Room Tip: There is one handicap parking spot that is far from the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatSunsetCliffs, General Manager at The Inn at Sunset Cliffs, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are sorry to hear you did not receive the item we found in your room after your departure. We are not responsible for any lost items. We shipped via USPS. Your emails were responded to promptly. Please check your junk/spam mail as most of our mail will go there. The item was never charged on your credit card because the charge amount was so small. Actually, our manager paid money out of his own pocket to return your item because the mail office won't charge anything under $5.00 on a credit card. He was trying to be nice. As for the local suggestions, all rooms have our local directory, which suggest only local businesses within our community. We hire staff that live within our community so they can personally suggest locations when asked. Sorry we were not more aggressive with suggestions. All staff are very informative and take pride in making sure you enjoy your meal, adventure, or just a simple cup of coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

. . . to this place that feels like home. February 2013 was the 4th time that my wife and I have stayed at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs. And we aren't the only folks that keep coming back. This hotel is located at the edge of Sunset Cliffs park, on the cliffs overlooking the Pacific Ocean. They don't have beach access, but do have a fabulous patio overlooking ocean waves. A variety of room styles are available. We like the 1 BR kitchen suite; with BR, bath, full kitchen and small living room. It's easy to eat in, relax, and enjoy the location. A comfortable walk to the night-life of downtown Ocean Beach and a short drive to Cabrillo tide pools or downtown San Diego. We love this place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife, daughter and I recently spent 2 days at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs. The 2 bedroom room was clean although not luxurious by no means. You are provided with a mini fridge, coffemaker, free wifi and a small wall heater/AC unit (Which was not needed), but the best amenity is the location. The Pacific Ocean waves lap up right outside your window. Its not called Sunset Cliffs for nothing. There's an area with chairs, tables and couches for viewing the ocean and sunsets.

Room Tip: Free parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here about 20 years ago when it was clean but run down but the position on the edge of the cliffs at San Diego is amazing with breath taking views. We returned in September last year and the new owner has done miracles with the internals of the rooms leaving the outside as it was except for decorating it. The staff were very friendly and helpful and because they had to do some emergency work under our room during the day we were not charged for that night and were given the following night at half price. We stayed in the Garvie Suite on the second floor overlooking the sea and we both had a bath watching the sunset. If you have to sell a grandchild and stay here you won't regret it. You can always get another grandchild but you might not get another chance to stay here Grumpy

Room Tip: Go the extra mile and book the Garvie Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stumbled upon this little hotel while searching for a weekend getaway in the San Diego area. Reading through all of the reviews, it seemed too good to be true (especially for the price) but after staying here, I can assure you it's every bit as great as the reviews say.

The location in Ocean Beach was ideal for us, the hotel itself is gorgeous on the outside with roses growing in the courtyard, a lovely little pool & a huge deck overlooking the water.
The room we stayed in was one of the standard rooms, quaint but very nice, well kept, and included some nice personal touches such as a hand written welcome note.

Staff was friendly but rarely seen unless we had a question or needed something. (just the way I like it)

We will definitely stay here again and have even talked about having our wedding at Inn at Sunset Cliffs!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Sunset Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Address: 1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Diego
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#36 Family Hotel in San Diego
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Sunset Cliffs located in historical Point Loma, California. We are one of only a few San Diego hotels truly located on the Pacific Ocean, just steps away from Ocean Beach. Originally built in the 1950′s, we have RECENTLY COMPLETED REMODELING the 24 room inn thus creating a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere to accommodate any San Diego visitor. Almost a brand new hotel! No other San Diego hotel offers a view as breathtaking as from our spacious terrace overlooking the Cliffs, Ocean Beach and as far as La Jolla. The Inn at Sunset Cliffs is truly one of the only San Diego beach hotels that is actually a waterfront hotel. Oceanfront suites with the sea breeze just outside your door. Sunset Cliffs creates scenic atmospheres all year long, with million-dollar views everyday. Being a quiet privately owned San Diego hotel, we support our locals and want to help our community. San Diego Beaches are near, being just a few blocks away from us. Experience the great San Diego surfing with an awesome location to scope where to ride for your session just a few steps away from your room. Wake up to the sounds of the waves crashing onto our property. Look out at the Pacific Ocean to see the beauty San Diego has to offer. When you feel like relaxing, our two ocean view terraces allow you to view out over the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. Kick your feet up and let the waves take you away… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Sunset Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Sunset Cliffs Hotel San Diego
Hotel At Sunset Cliffs
At Sunset Cliffs Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Sunset Cliffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.