We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Customer Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Inn at Sunset Cliffs to your Saves list
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107 (Ocean Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
St Albert
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Disappointing Customer Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife left a small article of clothing at the Inn. We e-mailed them right away and they said that they had the article and would mail it to us after charging our card. They never did mail the the article ( no charge on card either) . They have never responded to any of our follow up e-mails both from our e-mail and from their web site. Very unprofessional.

As for the Inn .. Nice location. Nice to walk next to the ocean. Our room was filled to the brim with a double bed.

Parking is at a premium and if you arrive late, you will have to find a spot on the street.

Staff had no suggestions for local restaurants .

Room Tip: There is one handicap parking spot that is far from the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatSunsetCliffs, General Manager at The Inn at Sunset Cliffs, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are sorry to hear you did not receive the item we found in your room after your departure. We are not responsible for any lost items. We shipped via USPS. Your emails were responded to promptly. Please check your junk/spam mail as most of our mail will go there. The item was never charged on your credit card because the charge amount was so small. Actually, our manager paid money out of his own pocket to return your item because the mail office won't charge anything under $5.00 on a credit card. He was trying to be nice. As for the local suggestions, all rooms have our local directory, which suggest only local businesses within our community. We hire staff that live within our community so they can personally suggest locations when asked. Sorry we were not more aggressive with suggestions. All staff are very informative and take pride in making sure you enjoy your meal, adventure, or just a simple cup of coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    56
    17
    17
    7
See reviews for
94
111
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

. . . to this place that feels like home. February 2013 was the 4th time that my wife and I have stayed at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs. And we aren't the only folks that keep coming back. This hotel is located at the edge of Sunset Cliffs park, on the cliffs overlooking the Pacific Ocean. They don't have beach access, but do have a fabulous patio overlooking ocean waves. A variety of room styles are available. We like the 1 BR kitchen suite; with BR, bath, full kitchen and small living room. It's easy to eat in, relax, and enjoy the location. A comfortable walk to the night-life of downtown Ocean Beach and a short drive to Cabrillo tide pools or downtown San Diego. We love this place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife, daughter and I recently spent 2 days at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs. The 2 bedroom room was clean although not luxurious by no means. You are provided with a mini fridge, coffemaker, free wifi and a small wall heater/AC unit (Which was not needed), but the best amenity is the location. The Pacific Ocean waves lap up right outside your window. Its not called Sunset Cliffs for nothing. There's an area with chairs, tables and couches for viewing the ocean and sunsets.

Room Tip: Free parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here about 20 years ago when it was clean but run down but the position on the edge of the cliffs at San Diego is amazing with breath taking views. We returned in September last year and the new owner has done miracles with the internals of the rooms leaving the outside as it was except for decorating it. The staff were very friendly and helpful and because they had to do some emergency work under our room during the day we were not charged for that night and were given the following night at half price. We stayed in the Garvie Suite on the second floor overlooking the sea and we both had a bath watching the sunset. If you have to sell a grandchild and stay here you won't regret it. You can always get another grandchild but you might not get another chance to stay here Grumpy

Room Tip: Go the extra mile and book the Garvie Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stumbled upon this little hotel while searching for a weekend getaway in the San Diego area. Reading through all of the reviews, it seemed too good to be true (especially for the price) but after staying here, I can assure you it's every bit as great as the reviews say.

The location in Ocean Beach was ideal for us, the hotel itself is gorgeous on the outside with roses growing in the courtyard, a lovely little pool & a huge deck overlooking the water.
The room we stayed in was one of the standard rooms, quaint but very nice, well kept, and included some nice personal touches such as a hand written welcome note.

Staff was friendly but rarely seen unless we had a question or needed something. (just the way I like it)

We will definitely stay here again and have even talked about having our wedding at Inn at Sunset Cliffs!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was by far the best beach hotel I have ever stayed at. I have done my fair share of traveling to other countries and have stayed at some of the best beach location hotels and still rate this hotel to be the best of them all. You can't beat the friendly staff and the cute little hotel mascot dog to greet you as you check in. This hotel has impeccable decor, and lavish sunsets that can't be beat. I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times now and can't wait to come back! I have had the opportunity to spend the night in the presidential suite with my love as well as a one bedroom suite. I have had my family stay at this hotel as well and would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit San Diego or a local who just wants a little get away from everyday life. I recently learned that they hold weddings at this hotel and can't imagine why anyone would want to get married anywhere else. The set up of the ceremony right over the water is so romantic and probably the best place anyone could every say their vows to the love of their life. Don't waste your time trying to decide which hotel to stay at in San Diego..... I promise you this hotel will over exceed any of your expectations and just like me you won't be able to wait to come back here to this little gem!!!

Room Tip: treat yourself to the presidential suite I promise you will experience nothing else like it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We are locals to San Diego and decided we wanted to stay at a beachfront hotel for the weekend. This hotel is not luxury - but it is comfortable and clean. You can tell that they have made recent updates and the rooms have everything you need. The bathroom is really nice (although no bathtub, only a shower). They also have a microwave and fridge, which I love so you can bring home leftovers! In the courtyard is a small but clean pool and some nice chairs/tables to view the beach. You can walk down the steps to where you are very close to the beach, close enough that the waves actually splash up onto the deck. It is such a beautiful view with the waves crashing on the rocks. In fact, we were able to open our window at night and see and hear the waves at night - it was very relaxing and just great.

I also like that this hotel is supportive of locals. They have discounts to local restaurants and a spa. It is in close walking distance of some nice places to eat and a great trail where you can walk along the water and cliffs. I know of a lot of people who stay in downtown or at other fancy places when they come to San Diego, but if you truly want to get a true San Diego local experience, this is definitely the place to go!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Beach Hotel
#113 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 656 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#53 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 823 reviews
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#148 of 273 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#3 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,545 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#5 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Sunset Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Address: 1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#35 Family Hotel in San Diego
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Sunset Cliffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Sunset Cliffs located in historical Point Loma, California. We are one of only a few San Diego hotels truly located on the Pacific Ocean, just steps away from Ocean Beach. Originally built in the 1950′s, we have RECENTLY COMPLETED REMODELING the 24 room inn thus creating a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere to accommodate any San Diego visitor. Almost a brand new hotel! No other San Diego hotel offers a view as breathtaking as from our spacious terrace overlooking the Cliffs, Ocean Beach and as far as La Jolla. The Inn at Sunset Cliffs is truly one of the only San Diego beach hotels that is actually a waterfront hotel. Oceanfront suites with the sea breeze just outside your door. Sunset Cliffs creates scenic atmospheres all year long, with million-dollar views everyday. Being a quiet privately owned San Diego hotel, we support our locals and want to help our community. San Diego Beaches are near, being just a few blocks away from us. Experience the great San Diego surfing with an awesome location to scope where to ride for your session just a few steps away from your room. Wake up to the sounds of the waves crashing onto our property. Look out at the Pacific Ocean to see the beauty San Diego has to offer. When you feel like relaxing, our two ocean view terraces allow you to view out over the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. Kick your feet up and let the waves take you away… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your The Inn at Sunset Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Sunset Cliffs Hotel San Diego
Hotel At Sunset Cliffs
At Sunset Cliffs Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Sunset Cliffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.