We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fairly clean but bad wifi and no AC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Bay Motel

Mission Bay Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Bay Motel
Save
You added Mission Bay Motel to your Saves list
4221 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #216 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, fairly clean but bad wifi and no AC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Mission Bay Motel for two nights in July.
The motel's location is really great with an easy walking distance to Pacific Beach - so with alone it's a pretty good value investment to stay here. We had a two-queen-bed-room with was fairly clean even though it did smell a little old in there.

To me the biggest minuses was, first, the wifi with wasn't really good enough. It was really slow in the room and not even especially good when located right me put to the lobby.
Secondly, the room had no AC which ended up being a bigger problem at night than I expected. The room got to a sauna-like temperature and the fan didn't stand a chance of doing anything about it.
The sweat was literally running from in pearls when in there which made the nights a little rough.

I would maybe want to stay here again in the winter or if they get AC - cause again; great location.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
6
11
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Their website says they offer clean and economical rooms close to the beach, which is completely accurate. The 50-room motel is conveniently located on Mission Boulevard within easy walking distance of over a dozen restaurants, a block from a supermarket, and one short block from the Pacific shore, where there is a fine sandy beach with lots of lifeguard stations, as well as the "boardwalk" with many shops and restaurants. Additionally, the management of the motel is very helpful and accommodating. A bonus is free parking. Even though there are not enough parking spaces for every room, when we brought our church youth group back from Sea World around 10 pm on Saturday night, and all spaces were filled, they went out of their way to help us find parking for our two vans as well as being accommodating in other ways.

Room Tip: Since the motel is on a busy street, second story rooms may be a bit quieter than street-level. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this review from my room at the motel. We are in the middle of a three night stay. Having read other reviews, I am surprised, I have not had any issues with noise at all. We are staying for the weekend and haven't heard any party noise at all on either Friday or Saturday nights. Beds are fine and bathroom is acceptable. Could do with some hooks for towels though. All in a good place to stay on a budget, very close to the beach, restaurants and other amenities in the area. Not bad at all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorCal
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Good place to stay if you will be on the beach most of the time. Beds were OK. Sparse furnishings. The fan saved us as there is no air conditioning. Will not be going back on July 3-4th --people were screaming all night from the local bars. Police sirens were going off 24/7 too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

make sure you keep your windows shut and locked, woke up to a bum sleeping in our room next to our bed, came in the by taking off the screen (which we had window open because it was hot and no ac). I wasnt able to get my hands on him before he got back out the window like a dam kangaroo- coulda killed us in all reality, was scary, i chased him but to no avail in my boxers- the front desk could give a **- and if i didnt know better, they were so non-reactionary when we told them, i'd think they were used to it- security sucks- security is non existant- watch your car based on the other reviews, but also watch your window- beds were ok and room was in decent to good condition- good price for the location, but thats the only reason to stay here

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Every year for the last ten years I take my family to PB we always stay at the mission bay motel it's a great value and rooms are always very clean there is no ac but it has never been a problem , as it is a stones throw from the beach ,I will continue to stay here for years to come as long as rates stay competive.....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

The Pacific/Mission Beach area in San Diego is a popular destination among young people from around the world looking for fun 24h/7d a week, and that's basically what you'll find there. You chose to stay here because of the beach, surf, bars, restaurants, right? No? Ok, so you need to reconsider your options... But don't get me wrong: overall it's a nice place to stay a few nights and enjoy the beach/surf/skateboard atmosphere of the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mission Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Bay Motel

Address: 4221 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Mission Bay Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Bay Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.