We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable facility, wonderful buffet breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7450 Hazard Center Drive, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #81 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Enjoyable facility, wonderful buffet breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Here for 5-night stay during NCAA tourney with five friends. Very accommodating staff. The bests: LOCATION -- $12 Super Shuttle from airport, about 15 minutes; located on hotel row quite near trolley station and nearby; BREAKFAST BUFFET from 6-10 daily; the warm CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIE and bottle of water at checkin. kind of like going to grandma's. The OKs: POOL AREA is nice, but it closes at ten. Would be nice to have a late night drink sitting around a very attractive fire pit before calling it a night. The quirks: NO RESTAURANT on site. Their Panini Grill is small for a hotel of this size and status; complementary WI-FI very reliable in common areas but intermittent, at best, in our 6th floor room; and the hotel's parking garage has VERY NARROW turns (make alt. arrangements if you have any trailer) and the stalls are a challenge to even the most experienced driver...an accident waiting to happen for others. There's no reasonable parking alternative that the six if us could come up with. None of us asked, but our three rooms had NO MICROWAVE oven. That said, I imagine this accommodating staff would find one for us somewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms adjacent to the walk ramp from the lobby / pool area to the garage area subject to peepers. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    162
    64
    28
    10
See reviews for
118
81
20
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in Hampton Inns in the backwoods of Eastern Kentucky all the way to Crown Plazas in Singapore. There is a level of quality that is expected at a hotel like the DoubleTree and I don't feel that this location lives up to the standard. The staff is nice and the location is fine, but the quality of the room just isn't good. The pillows have to be ten years old. I've never experience a more uncomfortable pillow anywhere in my life. The air conditioner is not accurate. It's set on 60 and I can guarantee it's not 60 in my room. I'm not saying I want or need it to be 60 (I'm a cold natured person) but it's probably 72 in my room. On to the bathroom - the sink plug and the tub plug were both broken. To make my shower water drain I had to for the lever into a very unnatural position. This hotel is simply outdate and needs a revamp. The elevator buttons don't even all match. Oh, also, the ice machines are at the end of the hallway...so when you are in another hallway at the end, it's quite the haul to get there. (Please note I'm a 28 year old triathlete, it's not the walk that bothers me, it's the layout). Lastly, the television. I am astonished at the fact that their satellite goes out!! It's in the middle of March Madness and on two occasions my TV has frozen and once the signal went out completely. Absolutrly unacceptable.

I'll reiterate that the staff is nice and the location is fine...but the amenities are not acceptable for the price that's paid to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We’re very sorry we didn't provide you with the high quality amenities you deserve and expect when staying with us. We're working with our maintenance team to address the broken facilities in your guest room and guest bathroom and will keep your suggestions in mind as we make any feasible updates. We hope you’ll consider giving us a second chance if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I spent two nights at this hotel as part of a conference. The hotel was well run, clean, and had helpful, friendly staff. The cab ride to the airport was quick and about $35. There were plenty of shops and restaurants nearby and there was the tram was right across the street.

That said, I was surprised a few times. I upgraded to a balcony, except that it wasn't really a balcony. It was one of those half balconies where you can step out, but cannot sit and relax and enjoy the balcony. And balconies overlooking the pool also overlook the freeway. The traffic noise made it I unfeasible to keep the sliding glass doors open.....the whole reason for a balcony. I wish that had been clear before upgrading.

I also found it strange that there was not a restaurant to eat dinner. You had to eat in the lounge. If there were no tables open, and there weren't many, you had to eat dinner from a couch. Odd.

These were little quirks that may or may not impact you. The only thing that really did not sit well was the lack of Wi-fi. It was only available for free in the public areas or if you were a Honors member. I am. But not an important enough one, apparently. I don't have a high enough status to get the free internet service in my room. So all the information saying if you are an Honors member you get internet access was not exactly true. In the end I ended up paying $12 for every 24 hours of service. I find it odd that a hotel with major conference facilities doesn't give you free internet in your room. I thought most hotels of this caliber offered that these days. Guess I was wrong.

Ultimately, I won't go back. Too many other hotels in the area that don't have these issues at this price.

Room Tip: Don't get a balcony room overlooking the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. The comfort of our guests is of utmost importance to us. We do offer packages that offer internet with your room. We hope the next time you are in the area you would consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosarito, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

i loved this place, the room, the emplyee's, service etc, i definitely recomend this hotel.clean rooms, service, location, faster check in and ckeck out..quality, nice and comfortable conference room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your great review! We will share your feedback with our staff. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I was at the Mission Valley Double Tree three nights for a conference and enjoyed my visit very much. All of the support staff from desk to cleaning to room service was polite and pro-active to make sure I had what I needed. Easy to get to the downtown area by trolley, about $20 (with tip) cab ride to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your stay. We are happy you enjoyed our central location in San Diego. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My three night stay was complete with a great conference and a great room. In room meal service was prompt, hot and delicious each time. Staff was very friendly and there was no wait for check in or check out. The conference rooms were nice, good sized, excellent sound and comfortable! I would definitely come back if I were in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for the fabulous review! We are thrilled you stayed with us for your conference and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Spacious and clean rooms, very helpful Concierge (don't even try to ask the front desk- they are polite but don't know the answers to your question about the city).
The swimming pools (one outdoor and one indoor, both are heated) are big enough and clean. The location is a little bit out of the center' but you can take a tramway or bus to any place in the city. Therefore it is ideal for conferences or business meetings' but also perfect as a basis for touring the city. Not cheap, but you get a goode value for your money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed our amenities and our central location in San Diego. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley

Address: 7450 Hazard Center Drive, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in San Diego
#56 Business Hotel in San Diego
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#65 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley is the premier hotel in Mission Valley and is centrally located between Hotel Circle and Qualcomm Stadium, home of the San Diego Chargers. Boasting beautiful newly renovated guestrooms with a California casual design paying homage to the nearby world famous beaches. The renovation included new beds and mattresses, new carpet and vinyl wall coverings, a unified and highly functional desk, dresser & hospitality unit, new chairs and drapery, new lighting and colorful art from a local photographer, 37” flat screen TV’s, and new exterior double pane windows and balcony doors to soundproof any highway noise. Each oversized guest room is amply appointed for the business or leisure traveler.Relax by our sparkling outdoor pool and whirlpool surrounded by tropical palms. Also enjoy our indoor lap pool and sauna and 24-hour Precor Fitness Center with cardio and resistance training. Tennis courts are also available. Start your day off right with a delicious breakfast in Fountain Café featuring a Mediterranean-influenced atmosphere. Also dine in Windows Lounge overlooking the pool patio where you can grab lunch, dinner or just a cocktail while catching your favorite game on one of our many flat screen TV’s. Our hotel is also perfect for your next meeting or private function, with 17,889 square feet of banquet space. Our friendly, accommodating team looks forward to welcoming you with our signature, warm DoubleTree by Hilton Chocolate Chip Walnut Cookie at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel San Diego
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree
Doubletree Mission Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.