We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chargers Game Road trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7450 Hazard Center Drive, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #81 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Visalia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Chargers Game Road trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My son and I have been making yearly trips down to San Diego for a Chargers game. We have stayed in other hotels at different locations. This was the first time at this hotel near Mission Valley. The stay was great. The hotel was very clean and the staff friendly. We stayed at another Dbl Tree last year, but decided to try this one due to location. The hotel was a short walk to the Trolley station which we used on game day. What a way to see San Diego. Quick ride to Old Town for breakfast and then a trip later that afternoon to the game. Will definitely be staying here next year. Again Hotel was great, food good and safe atmosphere. Numerous dinning locations within walking distance of hotel. Thanks Dbl Tree for nice accommodations.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    162
    64
    28
    10
See reviews for
118
81
20
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
YVR
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for 5 days in August 2013 as part of our two week trip to California.
It was perfect!

We were able to quickly and easily (really...it seemed like 2 minutes to every where) to get here from the airport and later in the week, to Balboa Park, Midway Museum, SeaWorld water park, Seaworld, and finally to the Amway station to leave on the train.

Lots of opportunity for walking distance eating out near by, but great deals on pool food at the hotel as well. Some days a pizza and a pitcher of pop at the pool is what you need for lunch.

My 11 year old took full advantage of the "ask for a warm cookie when everyou want" opportunity. At the most there were 6 of us in the pool at any one time.

We had the breakfast buffet included in our room pricing (a great deal...really) and ate their each day. Service was friendly, fast and accurate. Omelettes were great.

For those essential family needs; there was a coin washer/dryer in the hotel, and a Target near by to stock up on other must haves.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This beautiful hotel is located across the street from the trolly which can take you to a Chargers game, seaport village, Old Town, the Gaslamp and more without ever having to drive. What a treat! There is also a sports bar next door, a movie theatre, restraunts, and even a Starbucks inside to go with those awesome warm cookies they give you at check-in. Once we get here we are set with everything we need to have a great time without ever starting up the car! Stay here and you will be back, over and oevr!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great location in San Diego. You walk outside and the Trolley line is right there. You do not need to worry about travel directions. The rooms are modern and clean. Make sure to pull the patio door shut tight to keep the room quiet. The cookie are great and always ready to a quick snack. The Café Starbux is great for a quick morning snack before heading off for the day on the town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My mom and I stayed here on New Year's Eve so we could walk to InCahoots to celebrate. We used the Valet which was $20. Self parking is $18. I chose to stay on a high floor, which was next to the stairwell. check in was easy and quick. The guest receive warm chocolate chip/walnut cookies upon check in. We had dinner at the bar and and breakfast at the restaurant. Breakfast was not included in the stay. Both places average $$. The location of the room on the 9th floor was very quiet. The rooms were clean. The volume on the remote didn't work which was okay because we spent the evening out. The rooms were clean and comfy. clean rooms. great staff. I was able to call down to the front desk and have valet bring my car around. My car was ready when I checked out. The hotel is close to the trolley station and within walking distance of many restaurants. I plan on staying here in the future.

Room Tip: I chose to stay on a high floor. view of freeway. near stairwell so very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We don’t typically review hotels, but we wanted to this time because of the great experience we had staying here. From check-in to check-out, everyone was friendly, everywhere was very clean, and our room was extremely comfortable. We honestly couldn’t find anything wrong with our entire stay. Its located near everything you might need. And to top it off, it was one of the lower priced hotels. We will definitely stay in this hotel again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Double Tree is one of the best hotels in the Mission Valley Area of San Diego. It is conveniently located in the heart of this area and there is an Amtrak train station just across the street. The facilities are superb and the service is great. Great value for your money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley

Address: 7450 Hazard Center Drive, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in San Diego
#56 Business Hotel in San Diego
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#65 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley is the premier hotel in Mission Valley and is centrally located between Hotel Circle and Qualcomm Stadium, home of the San Diego Chargers. Boasting beautiful newly renovated guestrooms with a California casual design paying homage to the nearby world famous beaches. The renovation included new beds and mattresses, new carpet and vinyl wall coverings, a unified and highly functional desk, dresser & hospitality unit, new chairs and drapery, new lighting and colorful art from a local photographer, 37” flat screen TV’s, and new exterior double pane windows and balcony doors to soundproof any highway noise. Each oversized guest room is amply appointed for the business or leisure traveler.Relax by our sparkling outdoor pool and whirlpool surrounded by tropical palms. Also enjoy our indoor lap pool and sauna and 24-hour Precor Fitness Center with cardio and resistance training. Tennis courts are also available. Start your day off right with a delicious breakfast in Fountain Café featuring a Mediterranean-influenced atmosphere. Also dine in Windows Lounge overlooking the pool patio where you can grab lunch, dinner or just a cocktail while catching your favorite game on one of our many flat screen TV’s. Our hotel is also perfect for your next meeting or private function, with 17,889 square feet of banquet space. Our friendly, accommodating team looks forward to welcoming you with our signature, warm DoubleTree by Hilton Chocolate Chip Walnut Cookie at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel San Diego
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree
Doubletree Mission Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.