We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostelling in San Diego” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma to your Saves list
Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   3790 Udall St, San Diego, CA 92107 (Point Loma)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Hostelling in San Diego”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

After a good hostel experience at the Mississippi River Headwaters State Park I decided to try it again. Over the weekend I stayed at the Point Loma Hostel. I was greeted by Danielle who was extremely pleasant and gave me a tour of the facility. Since my stay was over the weekend and during the summer the facility was quite full. My big requirements are a comfortable bed and clean restrooms. I had BOTH!! The hostel is located in a neighborhood and was close to the places I visited..downtown, the harbor area, Cabrillo National Monument, Point Loma Lighthouse, Mission Park and the airport.

I didn't spend much time at the facility because I was extremely busy being a tourist. Unlike the other hostel I visited most of the guests at this one were much younger than me. Everyone did follow the rules about quiet time which was good. All in all it was a good experience and well worth the $33/night.

Room Tip: The facility does not have central air conditioning but has a stand-up fan in each room and mini-fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Front Office Manager at Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you so much for your review. We now have central heating and AC throughout the entire hostel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    38
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
24
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed here on Memorial weekend. The hostel is located in a neighborhood area, so if you're looking for things to do, this may not be the best place. Public transportation was not very convenient (not a good thing when trying to get to the beach). They were working on the women's bathroom, so there was limited shower/bathroom space. The bathroom had one toilet, which didn't smell too great. Otherwise, the rooms were average. The lockers were convenient (bring your own lock). My room faced the courtyard, which did get a bit noisy with the other guests. Breakfast consisted of pancakes, maybe cereal and yogurt. However, the hostel is one street away from a grocery store. The front desk was not often staffed; I felt like I was bothering the staff if I had questions, having to pull them away from other chores like cleaning and laundry. In short, if you're not stuck on the location, I'd recommend their other hostel downtown instead.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We recently stayed here for 4 nights. Overall our stay was very good just a couple of quirks as I have stayed in hostels before, there seemed to lack a bit of atmosphere around the place. This doesn't mean that the stay was not nice as it was just different to what I expected. It is a very quiet hostel which is great for relaxing. It is in a good location as it is just a 20 minute bus ride into the heart of downtown San Diego. They do appear to be trying with the atmosphere as they put together $5 meal nights and other little activities, that you can sign up for. Breakfast is included every morning and you then have full access to the kitchen for the rest of the day. Coffee and tea is there throughout the day which is a great touch. The laundry on premises. There is only 1 toilet upstairs and 1 down stairs for men which gets a bit frustrating also as there was always someone using them. In regards to the female situation they only had 1 shower in the whole hostel and there wasn't any notice for women to be more considerate with time in washroom especially when they advertise to be an energy efficient hostel. The airport is very close by and when the planes start flying over head in the morning it may well wake you up, so its recommended to pick up some ear plugs that are complimentary in the living area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed here with our two kids (3 and 6). The staff were very helpful, the common areas were very clean and the outside courtyard was very pretty with fairy lights and lots of plants and a hammock and ping pong table. Our room was small but cozy and clean with double bunk beds. Everything worked well and you can't argue with free pancakes for breakfast! Only thing to remember is to bring some earplugs as it's very, very noisy in the flight path, as well as doors opening/closing with people coming and going. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thanks so much for your review!
We have added fee ear plugs for you to use and have extended our hours to midnight.
We hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I loved staying at this hostel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The family-like atmosphere made it a home away from home. My only problem was finding parking, and that can't really be helped. Nights were quiet and the my room was comfortable and cozy. I will definitely stay here again, and am looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Aircraft noise stops at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
We are looking forward to you staying with us again. Thanks so much for your review!
Staff do our best to make every guest's stay the best it can be. We are glad you had a great time.

Cheers,
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Spent 4 nights at H.I. The location makes this hostel worth it. The property needs some updating but it works. It's close to many downtown restaurants and bars. It can get loud, late at night with guests coming late. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast is simple and good as well.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thanks so much for your review! I believe this review is for our Downtown location, I will make sure to pass it on to them.

Cheers,
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painesville, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The staff was thorough in explaining how things work and what was expected. The rooms and bunks were very adequate. Meals were fun and very good. Location made it easy to get to local restaurants, library bars and downtown.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed our meals. We hope to see you again next time you are in town.

Cheers,
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma

Address: 3790 Udall St, San Diego, CA 92107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Point Loma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 54 Specialty Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma 1.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Point Loma Hostel is located two miles from San Diego's famous Ocean Beach in the relaxed neighborhood of Point Loma. Ocean Beach and its accompanying nightlife, cafes, restaurants, shops and weekly Farmer's Market are just a short 5 min drive/bus ride or 20 min walk away. Nearby, Sea World and Mission Bay are just a 5 minute drive or 20 minute bus ride away. Balboa Park, with its museums and the world famous San Diego Zoo, and Downtown San Diego are 15 or 30 minutes away by car and bus respectively. The hostel features a laid-back atmosphere with a beautiful, sunny courtyard complete with table tennis, gas BBQ, and plenty of spots to relax. There is also a large, open newly renovated kitchen that's perfect for cooking and sharing your favorite meals and a comfy, spacious lounge with a big screen TV and DVD player. Affordable internet access is available as well as FREE WIFI. Weekly dinners, barbecues, and movie nights are conducted by helpful hostel staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.