We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST Hostel In The WORLD!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Bungalow Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach Bungalow Hostel
Save
You added Beach Bungalow Hostel to your Saves list
707 Reed Ave, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Banana Bungalow San Diego) (Pacific Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The BEST Hostel In The WORLD!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

I definitely recommend this hostel! I have travelled a lot during the past few years and so have stayed in many hostels, and I must say that Banana Bungalow San Diego is by FAR the BEST hostel I have ever stayed at!! It was so fantastic that I actually extended my stay and was there for an entire month!! The hostel is located right on the boardwalk in Pacific Beach, and there is a large deck out the back where people can drink and eat while over looking the beach. The location was absolutely perfect!!

PB has a great nightlife, and the hostel was situated within walking distance to many bars, clubs, restaurants, shops, and gyms. All the staff were super friendly and helpful- I must also mention that the ‘events manager’ Kevin was brilliant! Every night there was something organised, whether it was a party on the deck (he is also a DJ), or a night out downtown!! This was a great way for me to meet new people from all over the world, especially since I was travelling alone.

The rooms itself were neat and comfortable, and more importantly the bathrooms were always so clean! On top of all this, the price per night was very affordable- and free wireless! I really have nothing negative to say about Banana Bungalow San Diego. I ABSOLUTELY LOVED my stay there!! Thanks for the great experience- I will be back!!!

From Madeleine. (Melbourne, Australia).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    36
    21
    18
    21
See reviews for
Families
0
7
52
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

The staff are awesome and made us feel at home right from the start. The location is better than any of us have ever come across - right on the beach. Weather not too great the first day or two (but it was January) but there are so many things going on that it wasn't too much of a problem. When the sun came out for the last few days: EPIC! It's truly a beach hut hostel so you can excuse the odd bit of sand here and there. The meals are really good and at night everyone is partying and there is a DJ some nights too. Defanately a young person's place and would stay again for sure

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

This is a great location. It's fun and I recommend it for travelers who want to meet people and drink. I didn't do many touristy things around there so I don't know if it's a good location in that respect. But it's on the beach, cheap and awesome.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

Ok so I am back packing around USA and Mexico and you know a hostel right on the beach in San Diego sweet the reviews are mostly good. We saw the hostel from a block away mainly because it bright yellow but also on how run down it is. Then once we got in and saw a poster saying free Internet to those
who right good reviews... We new were in trouble so we were lead up
these stairs falling apart into our
room which looked like everyone
lived there crap spread across the
room and dirty. We stayed in banana bungalows in Hollywood and it left San Diego for dead. Great spot right on the beach. But this hostel needs some TLC and an upgrade

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Very friendly. Everyone here is young and into having a fun time. The back deck is amazing, and overlooks the ocean. Location could not be better. 22 dollars per night including tax and you get free wi fi and free parking. They always have something going on to keep the atmosphere fun and ingaging. You sleep on a bunk bed, but thats part of the hostel experience. It is also filled with international travelers that are cool as cool gets. Close to bars and plenty of places to eat. Will come back, actually I never wanna leave.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

A very fun place to stay!! The staff are friendly and helpful, and fun to have around. Rooms are pretty basic, and the bathrooms are a bit small, but generally clean, and with good showers. It is a bit of a party hostel with tunes playing all day, but very relaxing during the sunlight hours with the back deck to relax on till sunset, then it turns into the perfect place to start your night out. Good cheap food too and organised activities too!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Have recently got back from a 5 day stay here, i was very impressed with the hostel's location as you cant get any closer to the beach. There're some good bars/pubs @ clubs within walking distance aswel as shops and resturants all literally within a 2 min walk.

Loads of places to rent surfboards/boogie boards/wetsuits/rollerblades/bikes you get the message! All for very good prices. The atmosphere was fantastic, everyone is so chilled out.

You can get the bus for $2 (one way) which will take you downtown to Mission Bay, theres a great shopping mall there called Westfield Horton Plaza, loads of souvenir shops, food, cinema etc etc.

Entertainment provided by the hostel was very very good, there were themed parties, day trips, competitions so many different things being organised the best i saw while in the states.


The rooms consist of bunkbeds and are keep clean, but obviously you cant escape the sand, its everywhere in your bed, you name it! Can be annoying at times but hey ho. The beds where very comfortable, but i think the bunks must of been very old and unstable as mine swayed and creaked everytime i climbed up onto it or moved during the night (some dont have ladders, you just kind of throw yourself up onto them lol) Sheets were nice and clean.

The only down side about the rooms are the lockers, out of about 8 lockers (i was in a 12 bed dorm) only 1 worked. The rest looked like they had been broken into. You couldnt just bring along your own padlock, it was one where you had to insert 25 cent everytime to open it and close it..which i thought was annoying. I just kept my valuables in my backpack which i wasnt very happy about but anyway...


What i will say is that if you're going in a group and you all book together, dont just assume they will cotton on and put you all in the same room like you'd expect them to I would email them to make sure, and put it on the reservation note. There was three of us, all booked at the same time even requested to be in the same room and they put two of us together and our friend in another dorm. When we asked if she could be moved into our room seeing as there was a free bed and she would be leaving the next day, the man was very rude and argumentative and showed no interest in listening to us.

Overall it was good, with only a few minor negatives. I would recomment this hostel for party lovers who dont mind drunk people waking them up during the night, or trying to climb into your bed lol. If you like quiet, peacful nights this is not the place for you!! The rudeness of the staff was a bit irritating but not enough to make you want to not stay there again, hopefully they'll read this and take notes!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Bungalow Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Bungalow Hostel

Address: 707 Reed Ave, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Banana Bungalow San Diego)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 54 Specialty Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay and play at San Diego's most popular backpacker's beach hostel! Beach Bungalow is close to San Diego's finest attractions, a renowned marine preserve at La Jolla Cove, and walking-distance from 150+ bars, clubs, restaurants, and shopping catering to students and surfers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow San Diego Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Bungalow Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.