We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1047 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Endless Summer - 20% off
Ranked #68 of 268 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Godalming
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Centrally located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Ideal position, close to just about everything. Buses, trolleys, restaurants, room good size, quiet, even the air-con.Reception area cool, dark timbers, welcoming and they leave you alone. Drinks 5-6 each evening. Concierge most helpful, booked our return flight boarding passes no problem.So central, take the trolley tour to lovely Coronado, not cheap but you get to go over that fantastic bridge. But the best trip of all is Balboa Park. No 7 bus on Market, stops outside superb park with its Spanish architecture and great Prado restaurant. if you are lucky you will see a humming bird, if not enjoy your lunch. Zoo great but Sea World too crowded for us.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks Peter L. You could be a tour guide for some of the best things to do while in San Diego. I am glad you had a great stay and loved the location. Make sure you try Saltbox on your next visit. The food and drinks are awesome.

Cheers,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    356
    174
    84
    28
    19
See reviews for
89
253
28
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed for night with my fiance'..at the this hotel. We booked the Coronado Flat penthouse which is one of the best they have. Has two balconies and a nice size living room with a kitchen and separate dining room. It had awesome views of downtown San Diego, the Coronado Bridge, PETCO Park.. etc.

This suite is definitely a must, when staying at this hotel.

A huge plus is that it is IN the Gaslamp, so as soon as you walk out of the hotel, everything is within walking distance (perfect for those nights where you get drunk downtown and don't need to drive or take a cab). The pool area is pretty nice as well.

Only thing I would suggest is to have these rooms cleaned and scrubbed with a little more attention. The furniture is a bit outdated and could use a new look.

Otherwise, this would be perfect to host a small party. It was definitely romantic at night. Views are awesome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed 4 nights with my Mum. Its a great hotel, centrally located. Close to the trolley and walking distance to many of the downtown attractions. The rooms are a great size and the timber floors are a nice touch. We were on a high floor and the street noise was pretty much non-existent. The pool and bar is great. Was a nice touch after 5 weeks of travel.

The only comment I can make is in regards to the bathroom. Its quirky...but not sure that the frosted glass door works. Travelling with your Mum, you really don't want to see things. The door barely covers the opening, if its a bit too far one way you have a view on the toilet, the other way its the shower. It may be fine with solo travellers or couples, but family or friends travelling it does not really work. It was the first hotel I have stayed in where they seem to ration the toiletries...some days we ran out of toilet paper and the shampoo and conditioner wasn't replaced after the first 2 days. Other than these points...a good hotel close to the gas lamp district. Would stay again if I wasn't sharing a room with family or friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks for staying with us Pete. I'm sorry the bathroom door wasn't private enough for your stay with your mum. If you're coming back solo let us know. Otherwise, if you're traveling with your mum again. Try the Hotel Solamar down the street. They are our Kimpton sister property and their bathrooms offer a bit more privacy.

Warm regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I’ve stayed at this property two times so far since they opened a few years ago and love everything about this place. Service, location, aesthetics, food, gym, pool, vibe…all important things I look for when staying at a hotel and the Palomar certainly ticks all the boxes. The front desk staff was very warm and welcoming after a long day of travel and a late check-in. Complimentary wine hour is also offered daily which is a nice touch! The restaurant is fabulous as well...food and cocktails were amazing. This place is highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Wow! Thanks for the great review Christine. You got to enjoy all of the best of the Palomar and Saltbox. We can't wait to see you down in San Diego again soon.

Sincerely,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stay at the Palomar if you want a great story to tell friends when you get home. You've read about the cool entrance, stylish rooms, pool bar, and hip dining room, but I was mostly impressed with everyone on the staff. The door staff was efficient, Nick at the front desk was very thorough and the ladies at check out had the biggest smiles. The room attendant on my floor even said Hello! The location, next door to the House of Blues and literally steps from all that the Gas Lamp offers, is perfect.

Thank for reminding my why I choose to stay in "boutique-type" hotels rather than big branded boxes. I'll be back soon with friends in tow!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us CasualHero. I'm really happy you got to meet Nick and the rest of our team. We look forward to your return. Make sure you try Saltbox next visit. The food, drinks and service are amazing.

Cheers,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Springs, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at the Palomar recently for 4 nights for a work convention. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean and modern. The location was great in terms of being close to restaurants/bars, the convention center, baseball stadium, and Balboa park. We really didn't need a car after we realized that almost everything we wanted to see was walking distance. The rooms are definitely small but we really didn't need anything large for a combination of work and site seeing. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
I am so happy we were your home away from home during your work convention. Thanks for the great comments on our hotel and the location. We hope to see you again soon for some rest and relaxation.

Sincerely,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was my 2nd time staying at the Palomar San Diego and it was even better the 2nd time around. First and foremost, the location is SUPERB! You never have to drive anywhere, you can leave your hotel and walk to hundreds of restaurants, shops, malls, and bars.

Also, the decor in the hotel lobby and rooms is modern, hip, and sleek. They are pet friendly and have complimentary cocktail hour in the lobby. They have a pool on the roof top with great music and plenty of lounge chairs to relax. Even though the the hotel is located right in the middle of the hustle and bustle, when you are in your room with the windows shut, its very peaceful and quiet. I love the Palomar, its a perfect retreat right in the middle of the crazy gas lamp district.

Do not hesitate to book at the Palmor, and make sure to ask for Johnson! He is honestly the reason we keep coming back. He is professional, prompt to return emails/voicemails, and goes above and beyond to make sure his guests are well taken care of. The entire staff at the Palomar was fantastic, but Johnson stood out and really went above and beyond to make sure that our stay was flawless. Thank you for the great retreat, we will be back soon to visit, I am looking forward to it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks Jennifer for spending another July 4th with us. You really got to Live Like a Local while you were with us. Thanks for the great comments about the hotel, pool, wine hour, etc. Next visit book a couples' massage at Sé Spa. You will love it.

Sincerely,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1047 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#17 Business Hotel in San Diego
#18 Green Hotel in San Diego
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#62 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Move into luxury and sophisticated, art-filled style at Hotel Palomar San Diego. In the center of downtown arts and culture, surrounded by award-winning theaters and nightlife and just steps from San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter, our boutique Kimpton Hotel is a top choice for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Se Hotel San Diego
San Diego Se Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.