We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notice boutique hotel in an amazing location!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1047 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Bird Special 20%off
Ranked #62 of 270 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Top notice boutique hotel in an amazing location!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was my 2nd time staying at the Palomar San Diego and it was even better the 2nd time around. First and foremost, the location is SUPERB! You never have to drive anywhere, you can leave your hotel and walk to hundreds of restaurants, shops, malls, and bars.

Also, the decor in the hotel lobby and rooms is modern, hip, and sleek. They are pet friendly and have complimentary cocktail hour in the lobby. They have a pool on the roof top with great music and plenty of lounge chairs to relax. Even though the the hotel is located right in the middle of the hustle and bustle, when you are in your room with the windows shut, its very peaceful and quiet. I love the Palomar, its a perfect retreat right in the middle of the crazy gas lamp district.

Do not hesitate to book at the Palmor, and make sure to ask for Johnson! He is honestly the reason we keep coming back. He is professional, prompt to return emails/voicemails, and goes above and beyond to make sure his guests are well taken care of. The entire staff at the Palomar was fantastic, but Johnson stood out and really went above and beyond to make sure that our stay was flawless. Thank you for the great retreat, we will be back soon to visit, I am looking forward to it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks Jennifer for spending another July 4th with us. You really got to Live Like a Local while you were with us. Thanks for the great comments about the hotel, pool, wine hour, etc. Next visit book a couples' massage at Sé Spa. You will love it.

Sincerely,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    333
    162
    81
    26
    16
See reviews for
83
236
27
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel was so great! Very modern and hip hotel but also still have a So Cal beach feel. The gigantic front door is a very cool grand entrance which leads you right to the front desk.

Service was phenomenal! From the valet (Jenny) to the front desk (Johnson) and everyone in between I never felt that I wasn't being taken care of as a valued guest. Truly felt like a VIP. In addition the value was unbeatable. The pool lounge area was really cool and relaxing.

On a map this location may seem far from Petco but it really is not. Very easy walk to and from and you get to pass all the restaurants and bars on the way there and back.

You can definitely tell Kimpton values its guests from the minute you arrive til the minute you leave. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the downtown SD Gaslamp District!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks chandlos23 for the great review. Johnson and Jenny are our SoCal Rock Stars. We look forward to your return. Check out SummerSalt our perfect pool bar. You will love the food and drinks.

Cheers,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was my first stay in a Kimpton Hotel and it was truly wonderful. The hotel itself was incredibly lovely and our welcome was excellent. Rooms were clean and well appointed, everything was very chic (love the bathrobes) and the bed was very comfortable. The location was good - close to nice bars and restaurants, I also had a wander up to Balboa park while staying here (it's quite a bit further but the walk was expected and enjoyed). Wine hour is just fabulous here; on our first evening we sadly missed it but the receptionist kindly gave us a couple of vouchers for the bar, although it is really lovely to be given the chance to socialise with other guests comfortably in a hotel setting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are honored to be your first Kimpton stay. Thanks for the great comments. Make sure you check out the Palomar Chicago and Sable Kitchen and Bar in your neigborhood. We want you to keep feeling the love.

Thanks,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I bought a package for 6 massages (Girls Day Out it was called) in their spa. We also decided to reserve a couple of suites to celebrate my birthday at the same time. From the moment we walked in, we were treated like royalty. All of us were more than satisfied with the services we received in the spa and the ammenities there were perfect. When we went to check in they offered to upgrade our rooms without us even asking. They even had champagne and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us in our room because I had told them in advance it was a special occasion.The room was absolutely fabulous, very spacious, with the high-end appliances, feather down comforters & pillows, and an amazing view. Anytime we called down to the front desk for anything, they'd arrive immediately at our room happy to accommodate us. The staff was always polite and friendly. This hotel is was everything we expected and more. Thank you Hotel Palomar for making it our most memorable Girls Day Out ever! We will be coming back for sure!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
It is so nice to know we rocked your girl's weekend and your birthday Maria. Sé Spa and the Palomar are an amazing place to spend a girl's weekend. Please come back and see us soon. Make sure you try Saltbox next visit. The food and drinks are amazing.

Cheers,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Texas, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

From the minute you arrive you are greeted by people (Gilbert and others) who will remember your name from your previous visit; which was especially impressive since I hadn’t been there in over a year. The enormous luxurious warehouse-style door was just the beginning of an enchanted 40th anniversary weekend. We were greeted by Johnson Menezes (Assistant Front Office Manager) and Michael Chacon (Concierge) with a warm welcome from him and everyone with the staff. I was very impressed that the staff was the same as it was from the last time I visited. Awaiting our arrival at our room were freshly baked goods and champagne. Low turnover in staff is a sign of a well run organization, no matter what the business nature.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who begs to be completely satisfied....It will happen.

Room Tip: We prefer a higher floor with a corner room, and go ahead and pay for a suite....its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much Howard for your comments. Gilbert, Johnson and Michael are amazing. They truly love taking care of our guests. We expect to see you next year again Howard. I'm really happy we were able to celebrate your 40th anniversary with you and your wife.

Warm regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We only stayed one night and flew out the next morning at 4AM so didn't get to enjoy all it had to offer. Very pretty hotel, nicely laid out. The $40 valet service was a bit pricey but comparable for other downtown hotel parking. The king room was a bit small but was very clean and nice. Wish the TV was in front of the bed instead of on the side wall. The bathroom slide door was difficult with kids in the room. When someone was in the restroom the door had to be slid on one side and people go to the other side of the room. There was a gap where you could see in it. Very sleek looking though and nice for adults.

Room Tip: Ask about a room with TV at the end of the footboard side of the room so you don't have to lay s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thanks bbarthels for the great review. I'm glad you loved our nice, clean hotel. It sounds like it was a quick trip. Hope you can come back and enjoy Saltbox or Sé Spa on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Palomar is located in the Gaslamp district of San Diego, a $15-20 taxi ride from the airport. It's near a lot of bars and restaurants, but there are quite a few homeless people in the area. We had the best burger and brownie shake at Burger Lounge at 528 5th Avenue, a 10 minute walk from the hotel.
Our room (1506) was simply HUGE. Massive lounge, 2 toilets, a big bathroom with a shower and a bathtub and a big bedroom with a balcony. The gym is well equipped for a hotel. The hotel has 2 bikes, free to use for guests, but they are given on a first come first served basis. We rode the bikes to 5th Avenue port and took the boat to Coronado Island, a real highlight of San Diego, with beautiful beaches and restaurants. If you have a car, you should visit La Jolla, a seaside district of San Diego.
The hotel staff are friendly and courteous. If we visit San Diego in the future, we'll definitely stay at Palomar again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
You really got to get out and Live Like a Local EKGK. I'm glad you loved our big door. We call it the big easy. Next time try Saltbox and their hamberguesa. It's one of the best burgers in town.

Cheers,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel

Also Known As:
Se Hotel San Diego
San Diego Se Hotel
Address: 1047 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in San Diego
#18 Green Hotel in San Diego
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#62 Top resorts Hotel in San Diego
#62 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Move into luxury and sophisticated, art-filled style at Hotel Palomar San Diego. In the center of downtown arts and culture, surrounded by award-winning theaters and nightlife and just steps from San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter, our boutique Kimpton Hotel is a top choice for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Amex, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelsClick, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.