We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing San Diego hotel for your dogs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1047 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early + Save 15%
Ranked #75 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing San Diego hotel for your dogs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

*** Kimpton hotels are clearly the industry leader in pet friendly accommodations ***

Palomar San Diego is no exception .. Front desk agents are very friendly and accommodating, concierge has great information on where to dine .. rooms are spacious and comfortable ..

Location is great - in the heart of the Gaslamp and super close to Fiesta Island to let dogs run free.. We always have a favorite spot for monthly getaways to San Diego !!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thanks JaspernRiley for the nice note. Kimpton and the Palomar love dogs! Come back and see us soon. There are a few other great dog parks including the dog beach on Coronado Island!

Ruff Ruff,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    207
    100
    30
    21
See reviews for
100
288
33
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The hotel seemed nice when I checked in at 10 pm- when I awoke to shower and there was no hot water the front desk mentioned they had been having issues for days but neglected to tell me! Next evening they moved me to sister hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Sorry about the hot water situation. We had to make some emergency repairs. I am sorry this ruined your morning. Please let me know if you are returning to the San Diego area.

Sincerely,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I was in San Diego for a four day weekend with my Fiancé in the beginning of December. We spent the first two nights at an Airbnb condo on Mission Beach but, being a Kimpton lover, I wanted to stay in one of the Kimpton San Diego hotels at least one night, as well as experience the city side of San Diego.

I booked during Kimpton's "Big Annual Sale" and secured a $109 rate, so cost was amazing. I ended up booking three different Kimpton stays in Chicago using that promo...

I loved that we called around 11am to see if there was any chance of getting an early check-in for that day and the front desk agent was beyond polite. She made my day when she said sure, to come on by whenever we were ready. We showed up 20 minutes later to check-in and we were up in our room right away.

Unfortunately for my vacation, my fiancé got sick on the last day of our vacation with the flu, but I left him up in the room and walked down to the bay and convention center. A few reviews said the area wasn't great, but I didn't feel uncomfortable walking around by myself. There is also a CVS and 7-11 on either side of the hotel in case you need to stock up on flu medicine...

The beds were comfortable and I liked that you were able to text the valet company your ticket number from your hotel room and your car would be waiting for you by the time you got downstairs.

The hotel was amazing and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there on a future San Diego visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We are so thankful you picked us for your stay with Kimpton. Thanks for the great comments. Come back and see us soon. It sounds like your fiancé needs a do over with us.

Cheers,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadnais Heights, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

All staff at the hotel were great! Every staff person we talked to were very nice, efficient and helpful. The hotel is updated, very clean and well-maintained and the mattresses are so comfortable. The hotel is in a great location (our group wanted to be downtown near the gaslamp district), but it's also easy to get to the other main San Diego attractions from here. I asked if there were any roll-away beds at 10pm one night, and Allison at the front desk had one sent to my room within 10 minutes. Johnson, the asst. manager, gave our group of 8 a bag of snacks for our trip home. The valet staff were great too. I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thanks Heidi 472, I am really happy you were able to meet Allison and Johnson. They are our Rock Stars at the Palomar. Please gather your friends and come back and see us soon.

Sincerely,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

I have had to leave my man in San Diego due to a career choice but i wanted to make our last evening together one to never forget. I had stayed at a Kimpton hotel before and loved it. When I told my reservationist Tori my story she was the sweetest and helped me pick a package that was perfect for us. However when we arrived we had been upgraded to THE most beautiful suite overlooking the heated pool area and with a balcony!!! Lots of free member goodies accompanied our check in (become a member it only takes a few minutes). We headed down to the spa to have a couples message and when we returned there was a lovely well wishing note from Tori and a bottle of champagne and fruit. My heart swelled. We both felt like a million dollars everywhere we went. I cannot imagine being treated better or having a better atmosphere for my last memories with my man.
Thank you from the bottom of my heart Tori and Kimpton.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
What a great story rlipede. I am thankful for the opportunity of making your last night in San Diego with your man memorable. I will be sure to pass on the thanks to Tori. Hope to see you when you come back to San Diego for a visit.

Warm regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We held a staff meeting at this location due to guest coming in from several locations. The equipment worked flawlessly and the banquet service was excellent (fresh food and drinks at all times). The staff at the Palomar is the best!! They were able to recommend locations for dinner and actually made the reservations for us. I travel often and the experience here was above and beyond! I will recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to this area!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you Tempe F for the great feedback on your meeting. I am really happy you enjoyed our food, drinks and our staff.

We look forward to your return,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights to attend a franchiser conference hosted by IFX Online and it was one they highly recommended. I was not disappointed. From the moment I was greeted by the bell men to the receptionist at the front desk, everyone treated you with a warm welcome. I had a lovely message from Lizzie and was put up on the 9th. floor even though the rate was for a ground floor room. Nice to be away from the street noise. The room was similar to many of the hotels I stay in in Europe and very nicely appointed and the bed was the perfect comfy dream bed. I will certainly stay here again when I have a need to be downtown San Deigo again. Near everything and just love the feel, the ambiance and the staff.

Room Tip: Hard to say, I was only in the one room over the pool and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We are so happy you had a wonderful stay with us SheryC. Thanks for the great comments on our team and the warmth you felt from them. Please let Lizzie know when you are coming back.

Cheers,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1047 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Diego
#16 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#16 Green Hotel in San Diego
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#62 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Move into luxury and sophisticated, art-filled style at Hotel Palomar San Diego. In the center of downtown arts and culture, surrounded by award-winning theaters and nightlife and just steps from San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter, our boutique Kimpton Hotel is a top choice for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Se Hotel San Diego
San Diego Se Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.