We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meeting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1047 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Endless Summer - 20% off
Ranked #68 of 268 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
“Meeting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We held a staff meeting at this location due to guest coming in from several locations. The equipment worked flawlessly and the banquet service was excellent (fresh food and drinks at all times). The staff at the Palomar is the best!! They were able to recommend locations for dinner and actually made the reservations for us. I travel often and the experience here was above and beyond! I will recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to this area!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you Tempe F for the great feedback on your meeting. I am really happy you enjoyed our food, drinks and our staff.

We look forward to your return,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    356
    174
    84
    28
    19
See reviews for
89
253
28
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights to attend a franchiser conference hosted by IFX Online and it was one they highly recommended. I was not disappointed. From the moment I was greeted by the bell men to the receptionist at the front desk, everyone treated you with a warm welcome. I had a lovely message from Lizzie and was put up on the 9th. floor even though the rate was for a ground floor room. Nice to be away from the street noise. The room was similar to many of the hotels I stay in in Europe and very nicely appointed and the bed was the perfect comfy dream bed. I will certainly stay here again when I have a need to be downtown San Deigo again. Near everything and just love the feel, the ambiance and the staff.

Room Tip: Hard to say, I was only in the one room over the pool and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We are so happy you had a wonderful stay with us SheryC. Thanks for the great comments on our team and the warmth you felt from them. Please let Lizzie know when you are coming back.

Cheers,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed April '12 but forgot our review

This was a very great stay for me and fiance. Very good location for both restaurants downtown walking to pier areas and transportation. One quirky feature was the bathroom doors sliding frosted glass that do not really close. So, if we were just friends staying it might have been awkward. We also asked them to remove all of the paid items from minibar/fridge and they had no problem with this. Staff was always friendly and helpful.

Loved the restaurant, it was a savior as only place open on arrival, sun after 9pm. Loved the food though and came back again, it will always be a special place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I am a Kimpton lover through and through so there was no disappointment here. Please note that it is on the "bad" side of the gaslamp and there were homeless people outside screaming and peeing. Not a place you go for a midnight walk but if you stay in the hotel it is an oasis. We indulged on the usual free wine happy hour but at this hotel there was hot apple cider (which could be spiked) for my four year old daughter. I would rate the staff at this hotel 5 out of 5! They went above and beyond for us and were kind to my daughter. The room service is probably one of the best room services I have experienced. In the morning there was a little hot chocolate bar where my daughter got to top her drink with sprinkles and mini marshmallows. One of the big bummers is that the hotel has NO ice machines. When you want ice you call the front and someone schleps it to you which I didn't like because each knock could wake my kids or make my dog crazed. Also I felt like I had to tip each time and I get ice multiple times a day at hotels so this adds up. As usual, internet is free for Intouch members. We got a goldfish in our room (free when you ask at front desk) to borrow while we stayed there. There were a couple dangerous things in the room if you travel with small children. One is the door to the bathroom is just a sliding hunk of glass and my daughter got her fingers crammed in it (she had a large bruise running the length of her hand and a cut on the other side) It isn't sliding like a patio door but sits about two inches from the door frame so fingers get easily hurt when it is just touched because the momentum closes it. Also the standing only shower has only a half covered with glass and I experienced a hand knock on the edge of it. These two things you can't really kid proof so that is why I wanted to point them out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a visit to San Diego for our "babymoon" (the last trip together before our first baby arrives). We are typically budget travelers, but we were planning to splurge a little bit for this trip. However, we found an amazing rate for the the Hotel Palomar, so we got the 4-star treatment for a very reasonable price. We loved everything about our stay - the staff was warm and inviting (especially the sweet girl at the check-in desk from our home state of Texas), our room was immaculate, and we also enjoyed the complimentary happy hours each evening at 5:00 (thankfully they included alcohol-free cider!). When I made the reservation, I let them know why we were visiting San Diego, and they upgraded us to a corner room. So lovely!

We knew from other reviews that parking is very expensive, so we drove around the hotel to try and find cheaper overnight lots. We found a small lot near the corner of 8th and Broadway (just 3 blocks from the hotel) for $13 for a 12-24 hour period. It is toward a more sketchy area, but we never had any trouble, and we learned that San Diego is actually a very safe city.

We would defnitely return to the Hotel Palomar, and I would highly recommend it to any of my friends. It was a treat!

Room Tip: The higher the better. A corner room on the lower floors probably isn't worth the price differe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnwood, Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel with spacious rooms, friendly staff, and a great fitness center. However, it is located a block north of where the Gaslamp District ends in what is still a pretty seedy part of town. If the location was better, I'd have given it a higher rating. Wine and beer in the lobby everyday is a nice touch (but they should have some snacks). Also, coffee and hot chocolate in the morning (but no coffee maker in the room). No free wifi in the rooms and you have to pay for Internet in the business center, which us ridiculous nowadays.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I was psyched and all ready to sign up for the Kimpton InTouch Loyalty Program and book a room for 4 nights at the Palomar San Diego. Unfortunately, I called the hotel and a lady informed me that parking is $38 per day. I asked for other options but she offered none. This $38 for parking is 32% on top of the room rate I found on their website! It seems this hotel caters to our nation's top 2% so maybe I'll have to wait. Haha. The rate I found on their website was great but their exorbitant parking fee was definitely a deal breaker.

Since i haven't stayed at this property, the "Poor" rating is for their parking fee.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1047 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#17 Business Hotel in San Diego
#18 Green Hotel in San Diego
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#62 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Move into luxury and sophisticated, art-filled style at Hotel Palomar San Diego. In the center of downtown arts and culture, surrounded by award-winning theaters and nightlife and just steps from San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter, our boutique Kimpton Hotel is a top choice for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Se Hotel San Diego
San Diego Se Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.