We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Kimpton Standards” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1047 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sip of Summer
Ranked #88 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Not up to Kimpton Standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Service wonderful, room not so much. We had just left a stay at the Kimpton Canary Hotel in Santa Barbara which was wonderful. Service impeccable, and the rooms impeccable. I had high expectations upon check in at the Palomar San Diego. However, once we reached our room my expectations started to unravel. First, two drawers of the desk were broken and we were unable to close. Second, one of the lamps was not working, another it appeared that the lamp shade had been in a bar fight. The hand towel in the bathroom had stains all over - some black stains, and some crusty stuff on it as well. Third, the air conditioning sounded like running water. To be fair when I asked about this it was taken care very quickly and sound was gone upon returning to our room. Again, like I said service at the Kimpton Hotels is always great. Just very disappointed with the quality of the room. Everything seemed weathered and dusty. Lots of dust. I guess the high expectations set by the Canary Kimpton were hard to live up to! We were just disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Julie,

I'm sorry we ruined your stay at the Hotel Palomar. I am very sorry for the condition of the room when you first checked in. I would like to discuss your stay with you. I can be contacted directly at the hotel.

Warm regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    222
    106
    37
    23
See reviews for
105
308
36
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I much prefer to stay in boutique type hotels vs the predictable "big box" types. And none of the Kimptons I have stayed in have ever disappointed! I love the experience of staying at Kimptons that I have not been to because they are all (fabulously!) different. From the magnificant front door of the San Diego Palomar (which made me want to keep walking in and out!) to the welcoming couch-comfy, perfectly lit lobby and welcome desk, it is one of the most pleasing places I've stayed. The outdoor pool/lounge/bar area could not have been nicer. And the staff...you haven't experienced true hospitality until you have stayed at a Kimpton Hotel. (How do they find all these "nice" people?)

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary so upgraded to one of their "flats" (a condo-type unit) and we felt like we were living in a picture from a magazine! We didn't want to leave.

I recently reserved 2 rooms at one of the four Kimptons in Chicago and am looking more forward to the hotel experience than anything!

(Although they didn't bother us at all my only reason for the 4 rather than 5 star rating is that there were a lot of "street people" types hanging around the area outside of the hotel.)

Room Tip: I have read that the high level floors overlooking the pool have great views. We had a "flat&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
I am so glad you had another great stay with Kimpton Hotels. Thanks for the great comments on the Palomar, our lobby, our front door and your room.

We look forward to your return soon.
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Although I hadn't stayed at this specific Palomar hotel, the properties are usually excellent and this one was no exception. From beginning to end the service was of the high quality I have come to expect from the Kimpton properties. Especially for a woman traveling on her own there is no other group that makes such an effort to be so caring of their guests. I only stay in these properties if one is available and have yet to have anything but an excellent experience. Food is very good, rooms are clean and service is top of the line and all the staff is genuinely nice! What more could you possibly want. Oh, and it doesn't cost two arms and two legs either! I will return to this Palomar in San Diego on my next trip that way in the Spring. I'm pretty sure they will welcome me back as an old friend too.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and quiet space. If you are staying for an extended time one of the suites is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
I am so glad you had another great stay with Kimpton! We all appreciate your comments about our great Hotel Palomar. We look forward to welcoming you back as an old friend in the spring.

Sincerely,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Great location you can walk to everything. Rooms are stylish and modern. Room service was quick and not to over priced. Construction on the street made valet a Lil confusing when you pull out front double parked and nobody comes out to car.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was my first trip to San Diego and the owner of my company reserved our rooms for two nights at the Palomar 4 or 5 days before arrival for an impromptu meeting. We arrived and were greated by personalable Bell staff who were happy to be there, Reception staff were also very pleasant. We checked in and were informed that we had been upgraded complimentary. My collegue and I were pleasently surprized. The rooms were fantastic, spaceous, clean and well equiped. Haousekeeping did a great job. I had left a shirt and jeans on a hook in the bathroom. Instead of leaving them there Housekeeping folded them and placed them on the end of my bed, a very nice touch. I enjoy Kimption hotels and will definatley return to Palomar or Salomar San Diego.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I moved to the Palomar in downtown San Diego for several days after a pleasant stay on Coronado island for a wedding. The Palomar's location just north of the Gaslamp district was perfect for us; it was near the bustle of San Diego's nightlife for an easy stroll to all the attractions, yet off the grid so that we did not feel assaulted by revelers the moment we walked out of the lobby. The staff, who are all in their twenties and early thirties, are courteous, friendly, efficient, and professional. We did have a few problems with our room -- a cooling/heating system which was loud with dripping sounds and a curtain off its rails. A simple call to the front desk and each problem was fixed in a matter of minutes by their maintenance staff. That kind of speedy, competent service is no longer the norm in the US. Thank you Palomar for treating your customers with respect and serving our needs.

The king sized bed was wonderfully comfortable and the ceilings were fantastically high which helped compensate for the room's minimal square footage. The bathroom's giant mirror helped extend the sense of space. The rain shower was relaxing and never did the water temperature fluxuate. If you have kids who need a bath tub, this room wouldn't work for you. There are most likely rooms which could work for families, but to be honest, I did not see one single child at the hotel during our stay. I only saw vacationing friends, couples, and business types.

The gym was small but had all the best equipment one could expect, including free weights, weight machines, treadmills, ellipticals, weighted medicine balls, and a yoga ball. The rooftop pool and lounge was perfect: sun loungers, covered couches which offered some privacy, space heaters for cool nights, and a bar stocked with the best beverages mixed to perfection. The only service we failed to fit in was the spa. Next time, definitely.

We had some friends join us for dinner at the Salt Box restaurant on the mezzanine level. It gets 4.5 stars on Yelp, and deservedly so. Most ingredients are locally sourced and fresh, fresh, fresh. You could fill up on the gourmet appetizers, or supplement with medium and traditional sized entrees. The chef pays a phenomenal attention to detail and flavor combinations. Kale never tasted so good.

Be aware that if you have a car, your single parking option is valet at $38 per day, though there is a parking garage across the street which may get you a slightly better daily rate. Also, breakfast at the Salt Box, though worth it, is not included in the room price.

Kimpton hotels will be our first choice when traveling anywhere in the US.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool / rooftop lounge can help decide if you want to join the fun or not. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you Zaytian for your very nice review. I am so happy you enjoyed the Palomar, our service and Saltbox Dining & Drinking too! Chef Simon and the Saltbox team have created a really special dining experience. I am so happy you were able to enjoy!

We look forward to your next trip to San Diego,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Excellent hotel and very friendly staff. We had the suite and it was very comfortable. The pool bar was a nice touch. It is in the heart of the Gas Lamp district....right where you want to be. I would stay here again and not hesitate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
I am very happy you had a great stay in one of our suites. Thank you for the comments on our location and pool deck. We still have great weather ahead. Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1047 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#17 Business Hotel in San Diego
#21 Green Hotel in San Diego
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#63 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Move into luxury and sophisticated, art-filled style at Hotel Palomar San Diego. In the center of downtown arts and culture, surrounded by award-winning theaters and nightlife and just steps from San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter, our boutique Kimpton Hotel is a top choice for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Se Hotel San Diego
San Diego Se Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.