We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - reasonable prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin San Diego to your Saves list
The Westin San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #57 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Spalding, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great location - reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Could not fault the location, on the edge of the gaslamp quarter and close to the harbour front with shops a-plenty. and other attractions, such as USS Midway within a few minutes walk. Rooms comfortable. Parking at this hotel is valet parking only. Didn't use any of the hotel amenities. Only here for one night - Halloween! Much local colour and a "Monster Bash" in nearby streets, which were closed to traffic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    85
    27
    10
    2
See reviews for
27
83
21
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was at the hotel for a few days while traveling for business. The hotel comes with all the amenities, great service, and comfort you would expect from a premium hotel with added benefit of good location.

The good
- Great location, downtown San Diego - 5 min walk from gaslamp district
- Big and comfortable rooms
- Good amenities, and great service

The not so great:
- Not much to add here, other than it is a business hotel, so if you are looking for something with a SoCal wine to it, this is not the place for you
- Closest beach is a bit far

When traveling back to San Diego for business would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I love all westins, this is no exception. Clean rooms, good contemporary décor. Fresh feeling. Love the shower and mattress and of course the service with a smile. location is central and good restaurants close by

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Srinala,

I am delighted to hear that our Westin is what you expected! You can always expect great service and clean rooms when you stay at the Westin San Diego. Our hotel holds the latest in modern Westin design, combining natural elements with the modern touch. This creates a renewing and relaxing experience for all our guests throughout their stay. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our signature Heavenly Bed and Drench II Rain shower. Did you know you can even take the experience with you home by purchasing both from our Westin online store? You can find everything from the mattress and the shower to our linens and bath products!

Kind Regards,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was at the hotel for a two day business meeting and the hotel served perfectly. The meeting room was a good size for the small meeting we were in and we had a small reception (about 20 ppl) on the pool deck which was nice. The rooms were business traveler friendly with plenty of outlets and good lighting.

The hotel location was great - right in the middle of downtown and within easy walking distance of the bay, Gaslamp district, and train station.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Rhea S,

We are a great choice for business or leisure travel! This year, we transformed all our meeting spaces and guest rooms to the newest Westin design. Combining natural elements with a modern touch, you can work and play in a renewing environment. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meeting and reception with us As you mentioned, our location is the best with access to all that downtown San Diego has to offer. We are walking distance to Little Italy, the Convention Center, the harbor and the Gaslamp Quarter. We even have discounted tickets to local attractions right at our concierge desk! Thank you for your review and I hope to see you in San Diego again soon!

Kind Regards,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place was great! As a frequent Starwood guest this hotel was top notch. Every staff member I came in contact with from check in to the bell staff to the complimentary shuttle to and from the airport were great. The beds and the shower heads were absolutely amazing. Either within walking distance or a short cab ride away from everything San Diego has to offer. I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Rfrancis,

I am always delighted to hear about a great stay at the Westin San Diego. I am pleased to see that we could exceed your expectations. As a frequent Starwood guest, we know that quality is expected and I am excited that we ranked top notch in your book. Our signature Westin Heavenly Beds and Heavenly Shower guarantees a relaxing and renewing stay and you can even take the experience home with you from our Westin at Home online store. Thank you for your review and we hope that you can visit us in San Diego again soon!

Kind Regards,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is very conveniently placed for visiting all the nearby attractions that San Diego has to offer. The rooms are of a good size and well appointed (beds are incredibly comfortable) and the public areas are light and spacious. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. In particular Juan, the table seater in the breakfast room is a font of knowledge. If you need to know how to find somewhere, seek him out. Also, Kevin on the concierge desk was very accommodating and helpful. I would recommend this hotel as an ideal base from which to enjoy a few days sightseeing in the city.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, 2 days ago
anne_lusher,

The Westin San Diego is nestled between all of downtowns local attractions. It is an easy walk or drive to Little Italy, the Gaslamp Quarter, Balboa Park and the harbor. We even have discounted tickets to the local attractions right here at our concierge desk! I am delighted to hear that Kevin, one of our concierge, was helpful in planning your San Diego vacation. We always appreciate recognition for our associates and I thank you for recognizing both Juan and Kevin. I will be sure to share your comments with them and the rest of our staff

Kind Regards,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was very impressed with this hotel. I arrived at noon and they greeted me nicely and allowed early check in. Being a SPG, she gave me access to happy hour and also gave me 72 hour Internet access (although I was not gold status). Gym facilities we large enough to accommodate all the guest visiting for various conferences. It was not that close to the convention center but it sufficed. FYI: shuttle only goes to airport.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Christie C,

Thank you for your loyalty with SPG! I am delighted that you enjoyed your member benefits at the Westin San Diego. Our SPG reception is one of the ways we like to thank our members for their loyalty and we enjoy getting to know our guests through a hosted reception. You can find all of the signature Westin amenities here at the hotel. Our Westin Workout Fitness Studio holds everything you need for your workout and we even have a Gear Lending program just in case you forgot your workout clothes and shoes. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in San Diego soon!

Remain Well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego

Address: 400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#42 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Hotelprovides a retreat to one of downtown San Diego's landmark hotels. Experience The Westin San Diego's $15 million dollar transformation, introducing the brand's new modern design. The hotel now has a distinctly upscale, contemporary feel, inspired by soothing elements of nature. With a complete revitalization of guestrooms, restaurant, lobby, public areas, San Diego meeting space, two new Legal War Rooms, Tangent and a new Westin Fitness Studio, the newly refurbished urban retreat will transform every aspect of a stay into a revitalizing experience. The Westin San Diego is located a few blocks from the famous Gaslamp Quarter and just minutes from all of San Diego's major attractions: Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Old Town and more. Enjoy Westin San Diego Hotel's panoramic views of the San Diego Bay, Coronado Island and the downtown cityscape from your guestroom. Stay connected with complimentary Internet access in the lobby and complimentary shuttle service to/from the San Diego airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin San Diego Hotel San Diego
San Diego Westin
Wyndham San Diego Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.