We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor customer service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pho T Cali

Pho T Cali
7351 Clairemont Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92111
(858) 565-6997
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,360 of 3,725 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“poor customer service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stopped by with my mother for lunch.
It was during lunch so the place was busy. We ordered an apetizer of spring rolls to share but the server, a man who seemed grouchy, gave us only one small saucer of dipping sauce. I asked him for one more. He walked away mumbling his unhappiness within my ear shot. Then came back with another dipping sauce but he literally threw it at us, on the table. My mother and I felt mistreated. The server seemed careless.
I will not go back.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“It is worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I've had a hankering for Vietnamese food for a while so after doing some research I decided to drag my wife to Pho T Cali on election night for dinner. We were really favorably pleased with the restaurant. Its a little far down to Claremont Mesa but worth the trip after the traffic on the 805 dies down.
The restaurant isn't some sleezy place. It is very modern and extremely spacious and clean. We started with a spring roll that was right down the middle. The portion is very large and definitely two people can share it
We tried two dishes - the vermicilli rice noodles with chicken and the grilled and shredded pork broken rice plate. Both were beautifully presented and came with the right sauces. We figured out after the meal that shredded pork is really shredded pork skin so we'd definitely skip that next time. Most of the people around us had Pho for dinner and it looked steamy good!
For $20 for two (plus tip) how can you go wrong?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Vietnamese place just across the street from 99 Ranch Asian market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were going to the Asian market on empty stomachs. I do not like shopping hungry, so in searching for places we found Pho T Cali in a nice nearby mall. The decor and ambiance is calming with bamboo motifs and a giant mural of Viet-Nam. We were in at about 4 pm. There were 6 tables with customers. The pleasant staff rushed to our service with the specials and regular menu. A great selection of dishes at a reasonable price. I will definitely return!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
“Diamond in the RUFF!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Best value and service in town. My personal favorite is the combination Pho Soup extra large, great flavor and come quick!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel in Sorrento Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Pho was amazing and the shrimp and crispy sugar cane fresh rolls outstanding.
Friendly staff and clean

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho T Cali also viewed

 

Been to Pho T Cali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho T Cali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.