We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Surfer Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Surfer Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   711 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2005

After researching a lot of hotels in San Diego, we finally picked the Surfer Beach Hotel for many reasons. First, it was right on the beach, being from Ohio, we do not see the beach much so since we were staying in San Diego, why not stay on the beach. Second, the price, this was well worth the price and I would have even paid more for what we had. The room was clean and very comfortable and looked right over the beach. The sunset we had was amazing. Last, but not least, the convenient location. We went just about everywhere in San Diego in less than 30 minutes (depending on traffic). We would definitely stay here again and will request it to all of our friends. It was the nicest hotel we have stayed in for the money.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    119
    68
    39
    45
See reviews for
96
103
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2005

Stayed at the Surfer November 2004 and couldn't pick a more perfect time to be there. Had a room on the fourth floor, beach was literally a stone's throw away. Staff was very friendly. Beach was practically deserted due to the time of year yet the weather was great. I would highly suggest visiting in late October and early November as the rates are much lower and the beach is yours. Rooms were clean and nicely decorated. There are quite a few restaurants within walking distance. I always travel by bus when vacationing and was happy to find a bus stop practically at the doorstep. The bus will take you to the Old Town transit where you can catch a bus practically anywhere in San Diego. I am a female solo traveler and would highly recommend this hotel and location for the optimum San Diego expeience. I felt pretty safe and more than a little spoiled by the view of the ocean from my room. Most of the rooms at the Surfer offer a spectacular view. I know the summer rates there are off the charts, but I had no complaints about my November experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2005

Our last stay was February 2005, and is an update from our previous review dated March 26, 2004.
We again had a room on the 4th. floor with excellent unhindered views.
Since our last visit the 4th. floor rooms had been renovated, it has a nice modern look with some quirks though;
- 2 televsions in one room, who needs this ?
- frig, coffeee-maker and microwave, but no table and chairs to sit on !
- no built-in hairdryer .

The 4th. floor was not that busy during our stay, but I can imagine that
not having dividers on the balconey betweens the rooms would be a problem.

Having said this, it is still an excellent location, clean and has a very friendly reception, at least the day-time staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2005

Stayed here in august 2004 while touring west coast. Nice location. Was listed as a motel in the lonely planet guide, had been "upgraded" to hotel standards when we booked it - NOT! On arrival the staff were very laid back - so laid back the receptionist was having a cigarette outside! We were told our room had a sea view, however I think the customers at the World Famous restaurant had a better view of us. The room itself was fine, the bedlinen was v nice. there was no a/c just a fan. I had to ask for a hairdryer at reception as there was none in the room. I was asked to bring it back in case other guests needed to use it! We stayed during peak season and at $175 per night we found it to be seriously overpriced - I'd still class it as motel standard accommodation. A "hotel" only in name.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2005

We stayed at the Surfer recently and were not impressed. My husband and I are pretty laid back people so we're not that hard to please. We chose this hotel because of the reviews on this site. Initially we had a room on the fourth floor with a nice view. One big problem is with the balconies...there is no divider between the rooms so it's like one big open deck with no privacy. We had many people walking past our sliding door because they wanted to see the view at the end. If you want any light in the room in the daytime you need to have the curtain open, so people were able to peer in as they walked by. Also, there is no air conditioning so it gets fairly hot in the rooms. At night we would open our door to get some air in and leave the screen door closed. Well one night around midnight we were watching tv in bed and I heard our screen door open (it had no lock) as a big hairy arm reached into our room to push the curtain aside. I screamed and my husband jumped up to see who was coming into our room. A man was walking along the balconies and must have "misplaced" his room and muttered "oops, wrong room". Nice consolation for having my heart jump out of my chest! The rooms themselves are quite nice and the beds are comfortable. Although we had a king suite, it isn't all that large, and the bathrooms have absolutely no counter space. There were hairs on almost all our towels, but everything else seemed clean enough....that is until we noticed some kind of bedbugs in our room. We asked to be moved immediately, so with no apology and rude staff, we ended up with a room on the second floor (with barely any view) because the hotel was busy. The next morning we were awoken at 7am sharp with the sound of jackhammers underneath us. They were renovating the first floor...this went on every morning for the rest of our trip. All we were looking for was an apology, but the staff was ignorant and nobody addressed any of our concerns. Needless to say, we won't be staying there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfer Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfer Beach Hotel

Address: 711 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfer Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in Pacific Beach has stunning views of the pacific ocean and breathtaking sunsets. Rooms offer refrigerators, free Wi-Fi,42 inch plasma televisions, and are located a few shorts steps away from the sand and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Surfer Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfer Beach San Diego
Hotel Surfer Beach
Surfer Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfer Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.